BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Maine

Average Rating 3.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Well written and true to life

I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel...
I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel did not catch that. The only thing constant and unchanging was the cottage. It was the cottage that brought forth the four women characters' personalities and baggage.

It as a shame that the characters could not recognize that life is too short and they should forgive each other. But that is exactly what true life is like. Real people go to their grave estranged from their blood relatives. People avoid what makes them feel uncomfortable or what is unpleasant. So Sullivan's characters were portrayed so realistically. Bravo for being so true to life and on target!

As for the ending that all other reviewers complained about. Where can a story go with such unforgiving characters. There is no ending, everyone continues on with their own life, hoping that the next time they have to interact won't be too soon in coming. And that is exactly what we all do, "life goes on." All the characters are just trying to do the best they could for the way they are. The ending could also be Alice's way of leaving this world. Maybe the voice she hears is her God's telling her "Alice? Alice. It's time."

Don't be swayed into not reading this story. It makes our own dysfunctional families look good, and makes us think that we can be better in redeeming ourselves in our own situations--always a favorable reason to read a good book. Enjoy!

posted by fi2Bme on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing end

I thought the author developed strong female characters with a lot of baggage. Unlike "Commencement" where the ending seemed rushed, "Maine" simply had no ending. I was so disappointed with a lack of closure, I am left assuming the author will continue with these charac...
I thought the author developed strong female characters with a lot of baggage. Unlike "Commencement" where the ending seemed rushed, "Maine" simply had no ending. I was so disappointed with a lack of closure, I am left assuming the author will continue with these characters in a sequel-otherwise I am to wonder, what was the point?

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good reading experience

    In 1945, former Navy officer Daniel Kelleher won a bet with a former shipmate Ned. To pay his debt Ned gives Daniel land in Cape Neddick on coastal Maine. Daniel and his pregnant wife Alice raise a family and over time the Maine estate becomes their summer home.

    In the present, Alice the widower has become a drunk who holds court as she has since the Great War on the Maine estate as her family arrives for the summer. She internally rages over Daniel's death turning him into a martyr while their sexagenarian daughter Kathleen blames her for all their woes. Kathleen's sister-in-law Ann-Marie is an inane harmless doll belonging inside one of those dollhouses she collects. Finally there is the thirty something peacemaker, Alice's pregnant single daughter Maggie whose mom wants her to come to grips over what a baby means.

    The cast is powerful as each of the four women seem real and different though they possesses a guilt streak longer than the East Coast as if it is part of their DNA. Daniel comes alive through how the quartet perceived him. Although the plot is somewhat thin, readers will enjoy three generations of females coming together as each seeks solace and redemption, but with Daniel dead none know how to commence achieving their respective salvation.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Maine

    Great story and written well.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I loved the characters and the way the author told the story from each characters specific point of view. I was not overly thrilled with the ending... because I wanted to know more. Maybe a sequel? I hope this author continues with many future books. I also loved Commencement. I will follow this auther and I highly praise this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Cpral

    I've only ever loved 2 people. And they r Derpy and Brian. *she sits in a corner*

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Gale to Coral

    " I KNOW ITS BRIAN!" He roared." NOW TELL ME WHERE HE IS SO I CAN RIP HIS THROAT OUT AN FEED IT TO WOLVES!"

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Isabella

    Next book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great read

    Another great book by J. Courtney Sullivan. Like Commencement, I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooohh!

    I cant wait to read it
    Iiiiiiiiiiilove it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :)
    :)
    :)
    :)
    :)
    :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Enjoyed every last page!!

    Found the first chapter or two a bit overwhelming, keeping track of everyone, but truly enjoyed it once I got into it. I hated to see the book end, and was very interested in reading the reviews of others, to see what their understanding of the end actually meant. It seems only one other reviewer shared my view, that Alice died at the end. That was my feeling, although I was not totally sure about it. Kudos to the author, a wonderful work!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    An excellent summrr read!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    ?????????.......................

    Is this book inapropriate especially for a ten year old girl thanks please answer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Da

    Very good like all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Mainr

    This book is amazing!!! Loved it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Scarlet

    U still here horuse?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters in the story are not

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters in the story are not really likeable. But as I read the book, I recognized people in my life who resembled the characters in the story. Well written and an excellent book club selection. Great discussion. It really makes you wonder about the adoration of priests by Catholic women. Is it because priests are celebrate? Makes you wonder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    When a place defines you.

    The family and this place are one. What a collection of character studies in this family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    I loved this book! The characters are very real and very believa

    I loved this book! The characters are very real and very believable. If some readers are looking for a summer romance novel...this is not it but that is what makes it so appealing. The ending left me wondering about "Alice" and whether or not she was preparing for a church service or preparing for her own death...I guess I will never know. I would love to see a sequel to Maine sometime in the future, as I will always wonder what would become of each of the women...Maggie, Kathleen, Ann-Marie, etc...I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves to read a story about real-life characters and their journeys through life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    The gathering is at

    Full moon 1 resut at midnight eastern time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Gripping

    Very well written: you will care about the characters. Brilliantly woven tale of multigenerational family, moving effortlessly between past and present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Heyy

    Why do ya'll have conversations on book reveiws?
    -Grace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5