Customer Reviews for

Major in Success: Make College Easier, Fire Up Your Dreams, and Get a Very Cool Job

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    beatifully written Book

    This book is an awesome piece of literature. It combines Life, Death, Love, Perception, Sexuality, everything. It makes you love reading. I reccomend this book to everyone from 16 yr olds to 73 year olds. it's the bets book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    I Majored in Motivation!

    This book is INVALUABLE to anybody attending any type of college. The book is brimming with confidence-boosting advice and fear-conquering narratives. Countless interviews with highly-successful people discloses how simply facing fears can lead to success. Each page sports no less than 5 quotes from about every source you can think... all very inspiring. Lightly blended with humor, the author helps put college and career choices into scope and perspective for unnerved and panic-stricken students. Plenty of guides also help students get oriented. A great book from a great public speaker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Inspiration

    Combs details what it really means to 'major in success.' He divides his book into three sections: Dream Job, Action Plan and High Octane. Some chapters include No McJobs!, Classes Worth Their Weight in Gold and Pay Yourself 10% First and Always. The easy part is reading how many ordinary people do extraordinary things. The hard part is forcing oneself to get out there! Also, every page includes inspirational quotes from famous folks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    very valuable to most people

    It has really opened my eyes on the opportunities out there, and of how to approach them. The one thing he can do toimprove thoguh is to add more tips on those whoar e interested in the sciences. However the tips he DOES provide are helpful to people in general, he just gets specific towards other feilds more. nevertheless, pick up this book and pick up the map to a new road to success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2002

    This book totally changed my life

    This book is incredible! It will take you through everything you need to know about your career. It leads you through stories of famous people. It shows you that there were times that they didn't succeed at something either. It gives you suggestions for classes to take to get yourself a good job. This book had a great chapter on fears. That chapter will help you out so much if you had fears about your future as I did. I highly recommend this book. It will change your life and your way of thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Amazing and life changing

    I read this book my freshman year and also heard Patrick speak at my undergraduate school. Listen and learn because he's right. And this message isn't just for 18 year old freshmen. Anyone can learn something from Patrick's message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Awesome book

    This is an awesome book to take to college. Is saw Patrick speak. It's sooo helpful. This and 'Campus Life Exposed' by Harlan Cohen are by FAR the best books out there for college!!! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2001

    Helpful Advice About How to Build a Career While in College

    College students need more guidance in how to turn their talents, curiosity, and passions into successful careers. Most guidance offices and books on the subject will be inadequate for these purposes. While this book has some weaknesses in helping you select the direction you should go in, it is superb in helping you pursue your goals once they are set. The book could use more material on how to learn from other students, and more on financial planning (especially now that so many students leave college with enormous debt loads). The writing style is witty and engaging, and the examples are interesting and relevant. Repetition does occur in using the examples, but it's not too bad. I recommend this book to any college student who wants to lead a more meaningful, enjoyable life during and after college. This book would be most helpful if read before the freshman year, and reread occasionally thereafter. The book's main flaw is that it urges you to select a career direction based on your passions. That's good as far as it goes, but isn't sufficient. I remember a graduate school classmate who was passionate about dating young women. He found out that this was easiest to do as an airline executive, and that's the career he chose. He had no inherent interest in the industry, and after he married, I could see how this career and passion could lead to problems in a marriage. On the other hand, he was very curious about how people made decisions, and was very talented in that area. There are a number of careers that would have made use of those talents, and also helped him meet a reasonable number of young women to date. That's my example of why passion isn't enough for choosing a career. You also have to think about curiousity and what the rest of your life will be like. What would you like to learn more about every day for the rest of your life? That curiousity is what will drive you to accomplish and enjoy your work the most. Even if you aren't particularly talented in that area now, curiosity will help you develop talent beyond those who have more innate ability. Most innovations come from people who do things in new ways because of limitations (in part, Jackson Pollock did drip paintings because he did not draw very well). The book's strengths are the many useful and appropriate suggestions for how to develop the experience, knowledge, and credentials to attract a shot at developing a career you want. What he describes are the best ways to do this, based on my experience in having hired lots of college graduates over the years. There are also lists of places to get even more information, depending on what you want to learn more about. These sources will encourage you to look around more than you otherwise would. Summer is a good time to do this kind of research. Parents, unless your daughter or son always happily does what you suggest, I would not encourage giving this book as a gift. This book needs to be discovered by the student to do the most good. Hopefully, college students will share the book with one another. If you think your student's roommate would read it, give the book to the roommate. Then, let nature take its course. By the way, the book is good at pointing out the trade-offs between higher grades and more activities. As a hirer, I always ask people basic questions about the subjects they have studied and test their knowledge and skill that way. I don't care whether it was learned in class or in an activity. Be prepared! After you finish reading this book, think about how you could apply its principles to the activities you would like to do as hobbies throughout the rest of your life. You never know, those hobbies might also develop into career opportunities. In any event, you will live a richer, more enjoyable life. Make the most out of your curiosity, your passion and your energy! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    A MUST for anyone already in or considering going to college

    I had to read this book for a class my freshman year of college. The book not only affected me but the majority of the class (I'm guessing the ones that weren't affected didn't read the book at all.) I really enjoyed Major in Success because it was easy to read, fun (there were comic strips along the edges of the pages), and because it made me really think about my goals and the role of a college education in reaching those goals. Some of my friends decided to change their major after reading this book because Major in Success helped them to realize what they really wanted from school and their lives. I can't describe how this book will make you feel because I am not YOU! Everyone that I know who has read this book got something a little different, a little unique out of Combs' book. All I can say for sure is that if you are currently in college or are thinking about going to college you should definately read this book before it's too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1