Customer Reviews for

Make Him Look Good

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Fabulous

    Couldnt put the book down !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An ok read.

    Not one of her best books but I did enjoy it. I really love "the dirty girls" series so I thought I'd try one of her other books. The beginning is a little slow but it does get better towards the middle of the book. I almost gave up on it in the beginning but like I said when I got to the middle I started to get into the book. The characters are pretty good and I do like how the writer tells the story from each characters point of view. I did enjoy how all the characters came together towards the end of the book too, it ended pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    good book but not the better

    This book was ok but compared to Alisa's other books it isn't the best. However, it kept my attention even if I could go a day or two without reading what happens next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2007

    I really enjoyed this book

    This wasn't my favorite of her books but I still loved it. The characters were amazing as usual and by the middle of the book I was completely hooked. With her books I always find myself falling in love with the male characters, it's hard not to. As I was reading this book I started to wonder if Jill Sanchez was based on JLo. Certain things about her and that happened to her reminded me a little of the singer/actress. This is a great beach book and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Great read

    I love your books. They just all seem to get better and better, I love all the diverse characters, so funny and interesting. No pressure, but keep pumping out these books, I can't wait to read more and more. Congrats otra ves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Not as good as last book

    It was a good book but could have been better ... did not like the obvious Jill/JLo comparision ... thought that was uncreative ... and a way to slam on JLo (aren't we suppose to be supporting fellow Latinas-another jab in the book was on Cameron Diaz) and the plot line was obvious on how it would end...first two books by AVR a lot better...I still can't put down one of her books when I start reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Loved this Book So Much !!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was a book I couldn't put down. I loved everything about. I loved Jasminka because she was so sweet and i also loved all the characters absolutely loved!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Save Your Money

    I do not recommend this book. However, if you must read it then do yourself a favor and check it out of the library! The author's unoriginal ideas, poorly written style and numerous grammatical errors make it confusing, uninspired and silly. It is embarrassing that the author is being crowned one of the nations Top 25 Hispanics. She is a horrible writer, and not very inspirational. I also found it amusing that because being 'Latina' is so hot right now that publishers have to create a writer where there is no substance. A character in her book that is a 'phony' musician is named Ricky Bascayne. Apparently Ricky is a pretty boy who pretends to sing and write, but the real singer and writer is his friend Matthew. Valdes-Rodriguez is definitely the ¿Ricky Bascayne¿ of the book publishing world. With one exception ¿ there is no Matthew that is the crowing glory writer. Valdes-Rodriguez cannot write and her publishers do not have editors to edit her material. What an embarrassment to Latina authors that can write! Finally, US magazine, Star magazine and other tartlet publications should sue Valdes-Rodriguez and her publishers for Valdes pulling Jennifer Lopez and Ben Affleck stories out of the tabloids and making them central characters in her book. They accomplished this creative feat by slightly changing their names. What an embarrassment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Alisa does it again

    I could not put this book down. Alisa has not disappointed me yet with each of her books getting better than the one before. The whole Jill Sanchez/Jennifer Lopez thing I could have done without but it didn't take away from me enjoying the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    He can't look good without help

    This book was a fun,witty, summer read about the effect one unimportant man can have on a group of woman. Melan is a character you just learn to love and shows how friendships and love can be found in funny places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Um, I think J-Lo is going to be mad

    I definitely thought Playing with Boys was AVR's best book. In Make Him Look good, it was obvious what was going to happen after each introduction of the characters. THe character Jill Sanchez has many 'Tabloid' traits to Jennifer Lopez which is unfair because AVR also depicts the character to be moraless and devoid of ethics. I know its fiction, but I think the character could have been better developed from scratch rather than an ugly shell of J-Lo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Read this book-- ti's great

    I really enjoyed this book. I've read all of Alisa's books, and this one is my favorite, thus far. It's witty, funny, and one of the characters, Jill Sanchez, sounds a little bit like J. Lo...jeje.. it's amuzing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    If I wanted to read US Weekly, I would have

    I was very disappointed in this book. It was so abundantly clear from the get-go that 'Jill Sanchez' was JLo ('JSan'? Seriously?) that it was pathetic. I laughed and cringed at the same time when I saw the author noted as one of the most 'original voices' in this genre on the flap of her book. Major overstatement, in my opinion. There's nothing original about plucking your characters out of the tabloids and renaming them for legal purposes. Her characters were weak, underdeveloped and boring. The storyline was transparent. I loved her first two books but would recommend checking this one out of the library if you 'must' read it. Don't waste your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2