Customer Reviews for

Make It Fast, Cook It Slow: The Big Book of Everyday Slow Cooking

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great cookbook for crockpot lovers!

I first found Stephanie O'Dea on her blog: crockpot365. She is entertaining and creative in her recipes. They are really crockpot adaptations of every day recipes. All of these recipes can be found on her blog but having the cookbook is very handy while in the kitchen. ...
I first found Stephanie O'Dea on her blog: crockpot365. She is entertaining and creative in her recipes. They are really crockpot adaptations of every day recipes. All of these recipes can be found on her blog but having the cookbook is very handy while in the kitchen. Some of our favorites are the Korean Ribs and Jalapeno Roast. I even use her recipe to make home made yogurt in my crockpot.

Also, her daughter has a gluten allergy so many (if not all) of the recipes are gluten free but she gives you ingredients for both scenarios.

This is a fun and comprehensive cookbook to give as a gift along with a new crockpot! You can't go wrong with the price either!

posted by AggieSarah on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Awful!

Made 2 recipes and they flopped. Made a 3rd recipe and the flavors were terrible. I gave up and donated it to the Salvation Army. I was really sad as I love using my crock pot.

posted by 729425 on February 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great cookbook for crockpot lovers!

    I first found Stephanie O'Dea on her blog: crockpot365. She is entertaining and creative in her recipes. They are really crockpot adaptations of every day recipes. All of these recipes can be found on her blog but having the cookbook is very handy while in the kitchen. Some of our favorites are the Korean Ribs and Jalapeno Roast. I even use her recipe to make home made yogurt in my crockpot.

    Also, her daughter has a gluten allergy so many (if not all) of the recipes are gluten free but she gives you ingredients for both scenarios.

    This is a fun and comprehensive cookbook to give as a gift along with a new crockpot! You can't go wrong with the price either!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    Crockpot Cookery at its Finest

    I think this is one of the better crockpot cookery books to have been written in recent years. Although there are plenty of these cookbooks to choose from, this one was written by a woman who decided to cook everything for a year in a crockpot as opposed to using a stove, microwave, etc. Her recipes are written with an appeal to everyone, including children, although some require the addition of alcoholic beverages. Those can be made with or without the alcohol, however. Ms. O'Dea's family's reception of the selections are also taken into account and noted on many of the recipe pages. Were I to purchase a new book on crockpot cooking, this one would be the one to get. It's cover caught my eye at the Coralville Library, and being able to 'rent' this book, I took advantage of it. I would recommend it for those of us who don't cook a lot, but also for those who do, and have gluten-free issues as well. Ms. O'Dea's children need gluten-free recipes, and this book as written by her, shows others how that issue can be rectified with these recipes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Mother's Crockpot Recipes

    Today's review fits into my January theme of cooking at home to save money. When blogger-author Stephanie O'Dea made a resolution to use her crock pot everyday in 2008, readers everywhere shared in her tasty journey. Now O'Dea's fabulous recipes are available in this affordable paperback edition.

    Make It Fast Cook It Slow is not your mother's cookbook. That is, the recipes are much more than the usual pot roast, stew, and soup options. The Table of Contents reveals the bevy of slow cooker options: Beverages, Appetizers, Breakfast, Baking, Side Dishes, Beans, Pasta & Casseroles, Soups & Stews, Seafood, Poultry, Meatless Mains, Meat, Takeout Fake-Out, Snacks & Fondue, Desserts, and Fun Stuff (including crayons and play dough!). I can personally vouch for the Wassail, Crab Dip, and Bacon and Cheese Chicken!

    Nearly every page of Make It Fast Cook It Slow contains a different tantalizing recipe. The gluten- free recipes are easy to prepare, use readily available ingredients, and most conclude with O'Dea's "verdict" (parting thoughts on the results). The only minor detractions from the book are the absence of pictures and nutritional information.

    Make It Fast Cook It Slow is a must have resource for families!

    (Review Based on Privately Purchased Copy).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    GREAT HELP

    Used the recipes almost weekly for our meals. There are only two of us and they last us usually the week. There are only one or two meals that cannot be made fast, one of them being "borshe". Otherwise, they are relatively easy to make. I usually prepare them in the AM and then go off for the day not worrying. Just a few vegetables and that is it and some of the meals provide the vegetables in them. I think this is great and also great for those of us who have problems gluten. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Absolutely Awful!

    Made 2 recipes and they flopped. Made a 3rd recipe and the flavors were terrible. I gave up and donated it to the Salvation Army. I was really sad as I love using my crock pot.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    Great!

    Half of my family has to live gluten-free, I was so happy to find a slow cooker cookbook that I did not have to adjust the ingredients for my family. It is great not to have to rush to make dinner when I get home from work and if the kids are hungry before us they can eat and ours will be ready when we are.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Love this cookbook

    this will replace my other slow cooker cookbooks. Very family friendly, the kids will love the food

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    i wanted to love this book

    unfortunately, i have so far tried two recipes, and neither has been a "keeper". maybe it's becuase the author doesn't eat the pork recipes she makes. the first meal was okay, but we had plenty of leftovers that no one wanted to eat. The second, a recipe for ribs that i made with pork and the author made with beef, were bitter tasting, and only the homemade coleslaw (my own recipe) made the meal worthwhile. i am undecided whether i will try any other recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    I am an avid slow cooker cook, so I don't usually get more cookb

    I am an avid slow cooker cook, so I don't usually get more cookbooks for my slow cooker. But, I really like this book. Stephanie has recipes that go beyond stews, chilis, and pot roast. And, I love the fact that her family gives a "verdict" on many of the recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    A great crockpot/gluten free cookbook!

    I love this cookbook. I have already made about 8 recipes in my new crockpot. I love the fact that you can make it a regular meal or you can make it a gluten free recipe. The Creme Brulee is amazing in a crockpot. My daughter wants more and more. I highly recommend it. It doesn't have any photos but you can go on the internet and see them on her website.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Great book!

    Got this as a gift for my sister and it was a huge hit! Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Great for gift

    I bought this as a Christmas gift.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent and Easy Recipes for Anyone to Make

    Whether you need to follow a Gluten-Free diet or want healthy, easy meals for you and your family, Make It Fast, Cook It Slow is an exceptional cookbook.
    I bought one cookbook book for me and another for a Christmas gift. There are so many ideas, and you can't help but find several favorites for you and your family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    I can't believe there are people stating this book was awful! I

    I can't believe there are people stating this book was awful! I read my daughter-in-laws and immediately wanted the cookbook. I got one, then my sister wanted one and my son wanted one. There are about 5 people in my family who now own this cookbook and cook from it EVERY week. We all let each other know what we've tried and then we try it. Everything I have made has been unbelievably easy, delicious and everyone has loved them all. I would say BUY this first edition, you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Great cookbook!

    Make your life easier and buy this cookbook! All the recipes are simple. Everyone I've tried ( about 7at this writing) have been delicious and big hits with my family. I went from using my crockpot 1or 2 times a year, to using it 1 or 2 timds a week! Mosr recipes use items you have on hand too. Have even purchased hard copies for my daughters. Highly recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    This is a great cookbook choice for my e-reader as there are no

    This is a great cookbook choice for my e-reader as there are no pictures. I also love the "verdict" from Stephanie and her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    ???

    Wouldn't ya know.... I bought this ages ago and haven't looked at it once!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Nicely Done

    This book is just great and the author says she tried all of these recipes on her own family first. Good work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Really enjoyed

    I even bought a copy for mom gluten intolerant mom so she could enjoy the book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    I tried several of the recipes and they were so bland. After try

    I tried several of the recipes and they were so bland. After trying several recipes I donated to the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5