Customer Reviews for

Make Mine a Bad Boy (Deep in the Heart of Texas Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Can you shake off love like the dust on your boots or does it stay forever attached?

Hope Scruggs is the sweetheart of Bramble, Texas and Colt Lomax has always been seen as the town's bad boy. They had played those roles growing up and as adults when they both find themselves back in town it is easy to step back into them. Even after years away though...
Hope Scruggs is the sweetheart of Bramble, Texas and Colt Lomax has always been seen as the town's bad boy. They had played those roles growing up and as adults when they both find themselves back in town it is easy to step back into them. Even after years away though the fire between them is still burning and they both have the ability to aggravate the heck out of each other.

Hope is dealing with a failed acting career and coming home to find a twin sister she never knew existed who was marrying the man she thought was hers. Hope used him as a fall back on plan that got away from her and now she is trying to put the puzzle of her life back together with new pieces that don't fit anywhere. Colt is back helping his sister out as he always has and will since childhood. He grew up and despite no one believing him, became a successful custom motorcycle designer.

But the town of Bramble is in trouble and Hope is not only its sweetheart but also its champion so she is going to investigate and figure out how to fix it. Hope is carrying a huge secret of her own around as it appears Hope and Colt had run into each other a few months before. One night of passion has turned into the possibility of a lifelong commitment neither is prepared for and not sure they are able to handle.

There is the possibility of Hope and Colt's story breaking your heart because they are so tough on the outside and tender on the inside. But it doesn't because you see them get past childhood stereotypes and show the strong adults they have become. Regardless of who you were it does not define who you have to be and this book is written to show how destiny can be changed when you own it.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not quite as tasty as Book 1

The prodigal town sweetheart has returned to Brambles to redeem the life she left behind, only to find that it has been stolen by someone who is her spitting image! Hope thought she would always have Slate to marry when she's good and ready, but when he ties the knot wi...
The prodigal town sweetheart has returned to Brambles to redeem the life she left behind, only to find that it has been stolen by someone who is her spitting image! Hope thought she would always have Slate to marry when she's good and ready, but when he ties the knot with Faith, Hope doesn't know if she's ready to share everything with her twin sister. To make things more complicated, Colt Lomax rolls back into town - and with him, comes memories of their recent night of passion. When passion ends up with unexpected consequences, are Colt and Faith ready to own up to the changes in their lives, or will they continue to live in denial?

Make Mine A Bad Boy had big cowboy boots to fill after such a spectacular start of Book 1, and I did not latch onto Hope as much as I had expected. For some reason, I pictured Hope as a tomboy, elbow-deep with the rough-and-tumble cowboys. While she can pack a punch, Hope ends up being girlier than I had anticipated - and, on top of that, acts sort of bratty when she discovers Faith with Slate. I think what happened is that I loved Book 1 so much - long-lost twin, mistaken identities, matchmaking schemes - and it seemed so fresh at the time, that when Hope enters the scene and tries to steal the spotlight, I had a hard time letting go of Faith and Slate. Perhaps if I had waited a little while before reading Book 2, I might have enjoyed it a little better!

posted by epicrat on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can you shake off love like the dust on your boots or does it stay forever attached?

    Hope Scruggs is the sweetheart of Bramble, Texas and Colt Lomax has always been seen as the town's bad boy. They had played those roles growing up and as adults when they both find themselves back in town it is easy to step back into them. Even after years away though the fire between them is still burning and they both have the ability to aggravate the heck out of each other.

    Hope is dealing with a failed acting career and coming home to find a twin sister she never knew existed who was marrying the man she thought was hers. Hope used him as a fall back on plan that got away from her and now she is trying to put the puzzle of her life back together with new pieces that don't fit anywhere. Colt is back helping his sister out as he always has and will since childhood. He grew up and despite no one believing him, became a successful custom motorcycle designer.

    But the town of Bramble is in trouble and Hope is not only its sweetheart but also its champion so she is going to investigate and figure out how to fix it. Hope is carrying a huge secret of her own around as it appears Hope and Colt had run into each other a few months before. One night of passion has turned into the possibility of a lifelong commitment neither is prepared for and not sure they are able to handle.

    There is the possibility of Hope and Colt's story breaking your heart because they are so tough on the outside and tender on the inside. But it doesn't because you see them get past childhood stereotypes and show the strong adults they have become. Regardless of who you were it does not define who you have to be and this book is written to show how destiny can be changed when you own it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Great

    I loved this book about Hope and Colt. Hope sure does have a hot temper and Colt is the man who can handle it. A nice romantic read. If I could I would give it more stars, it is that good. Thanks for the great read. J... :-@

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    OMG this book was soooo funny. I read tidbits to my family. Great!

    Read it and weep. Loved the humor. Loved the sex scenes and even though the ending was not flashy the book is great. Yee Haw!! I picture Steel Magnolia's when I was reading it. LOL.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not quite as tasty as Book 1

    The prodigal town sweetheart has returned to Brambles to redeem the life she left behind, only to find that it has been stolen by someone who is her spitting image! Hope thought she would always have Slate to marry when she's good and ready, but when he ties the knot with Faith, Hope doesn't know if she's ready to share everything with her twin sister. To make things more complicated, Colt Lomax rolls back into town - and with him, comes memories of their recent night of passion. When passion ends up with unexpected consequences, are Colt and Faith ready to own up to the changes in their lives, or will they continue to live in denial?

    Make Mine A Bad Boy had big cowboy boots to fill after such a spectacular start of Book 1, and I did not latch onto Hope as much as I had expected. For some reason, I pictured Hope as a tomboy, elbow-deep with the rough-and-tumble cowboys. While she can pack a punch, Hope ends up being girlier than I had anticipated - and, on top of that, acts sort of bratty when she discovers Faith with Slate. I think what happened is that I loved Book 1 so much - long-lost twin, mistaken identities, matchmaking schemes - and it seemed so fresh at the time, that when Hope enters the scene and tries to steal the spotlight, I had a hard time letting go of Faith and Slate. Perhaps if I had waited a little while before reading Book 2, I might have enjoyed it a little better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another exciting romance from new author Katie Lane set in the heart of Texas!

    After five years in L.A. trying to make it as an actress, Hope finally returns home, and to her back up plan - marrying her childhood sweetheart and town hero, Slate Calhoun. When she gets there though, she not only finds a twin sister that she didn't know about, but the man she planned on marrying falling in love with her instead! Now she has to bury her jealousy and crushed dreams and attend their happy wedding. But when Colt Lomax pulls up on his motorcycle crashing her sister's wedding, Hope's day goes from bad to worse.
    Colt Lamox was always the bad boy of Bramble, Texas and despite his success in L.A. over the last eight years; he doesn't want anyone thinking any different of him. But after a run in with Hope he can't help but return to his hometown, especially when hearing she's about to marry another man.
    These two rub each other like oil and vinegar but there's no denying the passion that's always been between them, but will they surrender to it? And when an unexpected complications pops up, will it bring them closer together or push them farther apart?

    I didn't think that anyone in Deep in the Heart of Texas could be up to par with Slate from Going Cowboy Crazy, but Colt was just as fabulous. Motorcycle bum, owner of Desperado Customs, black attire, sexy boots and a witty, sarcastic attitude, this bad boy definitely stole my heart.
    With a heartbreaking upbringing, Colt has finally made something of himself though he still carries a chip on his shoulder thinking of himself still as that kid from the wrong side of the tracks, and having Hope continually shut him down while making puppy dog eyes at the town hero doesn't help his confidence. Yet he still riled around his town and it's citizens when they needed it, taking the role of leader and surprising them all. Colt's smart, sexy, quick-witted, funny, determined; everything about him was endearing.
    Hope on the other hand I did not like. I didn't like her in the first novel either but thought she might redeem herself with this one, and though by the end I didn't dislike her as much I still thought she was a loud, annoying, spoiled brat with a bad attitude. And really, the town's whole idolism with her left me baffled.
    Colt & Hope's relationship was a roller coaster ride though and because of my interest in Colt, really captivated my heart.
    The story is fast paced with an easy plot, entertaining dialogue and a quirky little town. And this crazy town of Bramble, Texas really kept me on my toes, wondering what in the world they were going to do next in effort to 'help' their little Hope along.
    Despite the fact that I wasn't at all into the heroine; the hero, prior main characters, side characters and surroundings really made up for that and I enjoyed Make Mine a Bad Boy immensely. I'm hoping Lane has another book planned for this delightful series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Kate Lane's Deep in the Heart of Texas series is great. She puts in a lot of humor also that just adds to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Love

    Love this new author for me. Hadn't read any of her stuff before, but will from now on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    My favorite DITHOT story so far. Love Colt and the whole town of

    My favorite DITHOT story so far. Love Colt and the whole town of Bramble makes me laugh. These books aren't deep but you can definitely get lost in them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Recommended

    Katie Lane writes so I can imagine what I would see if it were on video. Good writer!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Real sexy men!

    Can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Rjrnrj

    Nfjj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Jake

    He shrugged,"fine by me"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Comedy of errors

    Very enjoyable characters who seem to get in trouble no matter what they do. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    highly recommended

    Katie Lane kept me interested enough that I couldn't wait to buy the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Awesome!

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Steamy

    Wasnt as steamy as the first one but was really good read. Loved how hope is finally coming around to liking her sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Good book.

    Quick and entertaining read. Worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    BORING

    This shouldnt cost money . Worst book ever !!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Liked the first one better

    This continuation just isn't as good as the first one for me. Faith is a stronger character than Hope, who doesn't really fight for what she wants. Love the town and the hero who I think deserves a better woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Entertaining!

    I thought this book had just about everything! Drama, humor, and a great love story! Good for a lazy day read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5