Customer Reviews for

Make Mine a Cowboy

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    3.5-4 stars Western romance author, Mesa, is thrown for a loop w

    3.5-4 stars
    Western romance author, Mesa, is thrown for a loop when she ends up in the back country of Bandera, Texas and meets a real hunk-of-a-cowboy named Joel Young. She is swept up in a real romance experience, much like the heroines in her novels, but she isn't sure she could ever reach that happily-ever-after ending, too. Especially with Joel and his jerk-like tendencies. Can their heated fling turn into something more? Or will Mesa let her chance at having a real Stetson-cowboy-hat, tight-jean, high-boot-wearing prince charming slip out of her grip forever?




    Let me begin by saying that western romances are not my typical reading genre. Sandy Sullivan introduced a new world to me. Now, if it's about cowboys, I'm in! I really enjoyed the opposing forces that are Joel and Mesa. City girl, county boy. All about romance, wants a fling. And it goes on and on. Little do these characters know that where differences will only draw them together. Joel is truly a sexy guy. When he knows what he wants, look out ladies because he's going to do anything and everything to get it. I LOVE that in a romance hero. For Make Mine a Cowboy's heroine, I truly believe that writing about a writer is a hard and ambitious endeavor to take on. Since I also write, I can connect with Mesa even more than other characters. I loved seeing how her mind worked—how she thought about things and figured how to incorporate them in her next story. All that is so true! 




    I did want a little more conflict to the story besides Mesa's wild emotions and Joel's need for a fling. Even though their concerns are realistic, for a novel, it got a little repetitive. I wanted something else pulling them a part—something for them to overcome together. There was mention of land getting bought up around the ranch, and I thought that was going to be the plot, but now I think it may be the series' overarching conflict. The dialog between Mesa and Joel was sexy, but the other dialog felt dry and almost unnecessary. I agree with what a lot of other reviews said about Joel's vulgar words to his mother about Mesa but then claiming she raised a gentleman, so I'm not going to repeat them. It just didn't make sense to me or feel real. And this may be just a personal preference, but even though I really liked the idea of nine Young brothers and future books explaining the rest of the family, all the J names made it hard to keep track of the brothers. I read so fast that the J's meshed together. But again, that may just be me.




    I hope Mrs. Sullivan includes more about the ghosts haunting the ranch and the oldest Young brother in future books (he will make an excellent hero, I think). Make Mine a Cowboy is sexy, imaginative, and fun. The characters had a spark between them the moment they came together in the first chapter, and I was rooting for them since that moment. I'll be continuing with the Cowboy Dreamin' Series, for sure. I went from not reading western romances to saying “Hell yeah, make mine a cowboy!” with just one book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    A must read!

    The story line was fun and sexy. I was hooked till the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Male mine a cowboy

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Make mine a cowboy

    Loved the book hot and steamy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    **First of all I would like to thank Sandy for providing me with

    **First of all I would like to thank Sandy for providing me with a copy of her book for an honest review.**

    This is a great, fun HOT book.

    This is the story of Mesa and Joel. Two relationship inept people looking for a bit of fun for a few days.

    For me this was one of those light reads, that gets you all hot and bothered with the steamy sex scenes.

    I both loved and hated Mesa and Joel and seriously wanted to smack them both upside the head with my Kindle at times! How can 2 fictional people be so madding yet you can’t help love them?

    The story and characters developed well and I loved the fact that Joel comes from such a large and diverse family.

    Sandy has laid the foundation well for the series to continue.

    I think there were some areas that could have been expanded on which would have added more depth to the book but all in all this was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    I think that it was awesome the way this story was played out, t

    I think that it was awesome the way this story was played out, the romance writer who ends up meeting someone who can help her write her stories better than she was already doing that. But taking that also into consideration, I think that the author was pushing for more in the future of the series, than what was going on in this story.

    There are 9 brothers, so I will assume just based upon what is happening with books these days is that each of the brothers will get their own story. With being 9 brothers, there was a lot of information that was thrown into this story that took away from it in my opinion. There were some minor parts of the story that also seemed to take away from it also.

    While I did enjoy the storyline, and how certain characters seemed to have lifelike personalities, I was left feeling somewhat lacking when it came to the end of the story. I think I just felt like there could be more to the story. However, I did enjoy this story and if there are more to come in the series I will be sure to check them out and see what else happens in the family.

    Review provided by Crystal's Many Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    I loved this book. The sizzling chemistry between Mesa and Joel

    I loved this book. The sizzling chemistry between Mesa and Joel sucked me right in, but it was the painting of his family, the ranch and the small town where he lived that kept me reading. The richness of the supporting characters made this book feel alive. Of course the love story of Mesa and Joel is hot and sometimes bumpy, which I liked. Nina as the mom is wonderful, truly dedicated to her nine sons and husband. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of this series as I now need to know what's going to happen for the other brothers. Well done, Ms. Sullivan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    My Rating: ¿¿¿½ GOOD: The characteristics of a 3 heart book

    My Rating: ¿¿¿½

    GOOD: The characteristics of a 3 heart book include: interesting characters, a decent storyline, and unique story elements; there was something about the story that I didn’t completely connect with; the book is a solid read. I would recommend it to a friend.

    This book was provided by the author for an honest review.

    My Synopsis:
    Make Mine A Cowboy is about a woman who finds an unexpected passion and love with a gorgeous, flirty, and playboy cowboy in the beautiful vista of Bandera, Texas.

    Mesa Arraguso is a western erotic romance author who travels from Los Angeles, California to San Antonio, Texas to attend a writers conference being held in the area.

    Mesa's first two books made the best sellers list but her third book flopped...badly. So, Mesa figured that she would kick start her writing muse by visiting the surrounding area for inspiration. Unfortunately, automation was not on her side when the rental car she was using ran out of gas. Adding insult to injury, a torrential downpour started soon after the car stalled. Stuck, alone, and in a place that she did not know, Mesa is at a loss for what to do next since her cellphone has zero reception bars. But, she does not have the luxury of time to make a decision. Her car is sitting in a gully that is quickly filling with water. Mesa knows that she has to get out of the car. Just as her mind settles on the fact that she is getting ready to get soaked in the elements, she hears a light tapping on her window. Startled, she is instantly on guard when she turns to face a cowboy who is on the outside of the car and trying to alert her about her predicament.

    Mesa is wary because he is a stranger but she is also aroused because the cowboy is absolutely gorgeous. Allowing him to help her out of the car, Mesa settles behind him on his horse and he trudges back to his family's ranch. Her attraction growing for him each step of the way.

    Little did Mesa know that her destination would change the course of the rest of future.

    My Thoughts:
    Overall, I really enjoyed Make Mine A Cowboy. It was a fun, sexy, and quick read that had a hot cowboy. Well actually...LOTS of hot cowboys. Mesa and Joel sizzled together and I appreciated the interaction between all the characters, especially matchmaking momma Nina.

    Although I enjoyed, there were moments of implausibility that had me shaking my head just a bit.

    Nina had nine sons and a husband...10 men in all so I'm sure that she was privy to some conversations that would spin any red-blooded woman's head. However, Joel was just a bit too candid with her on a couple of occasions where I thought to myself, never would have happened in real life. Nina is telling Joel that she wants him and his brothers to settle down and advising him that he could he could be looking at his soul mate in Mesa. His reply is:

    "Soul mate? Mom, I'm only thinking of fuc@#ing her for a few days, not marrying her."

    Nina's reply was a calm:

    "You never know. She might get under your skin so fast you won't know what hit you. Love works in mysterious ways sometimes."

    She didn't chastise or correct him...just continued the conversation without even telling him that he needed to respect Mesa as more than a fu@#. I just didn't buy that she would be so benign about his regard for Mesa.

    A similar situation happened after Joel and Mesa had sex and Mesa was angry at Joel because of his casual regard for their loving. She demanded that he take her back to the lodge. Both angry, she stomped into the lodge when he dropped her off and he peeled out, loud muffler and all, spewing gravel all over the place. Not the picture of discretion on either side so the next day his mother called him on it. Again Joel, with his very candid response, tells his mother:

    We have a lot in common and she's a wildcat between the sheets..."

    As cool as Nina was, that just didn't seem like a conversation a grown man would be having with his mother. His brothers? Definitely! His father? Possibly. His mother? That should have been a full stop. Do not pass go. Do not collect $200 dollars moment.

    BUT...Although I make mention of these moments, the story was sweet overall. Especially when Joel made Nina feel beautiful and desired. I loved the ending when he finally pushed past his own pride and went to claim his woman.

    Ms. Sullivan crafted a solid foundation to continue the series by introducing the Young family. And by Joel telling Mesa about each of his brothers, the reader is set up to know about each of their personalities (quirks and flaws) when their books are written. I thought that was a brilliant insertion into the story.

    Ratings Detail:
    Rating for male protagonist: 3¿
    Rating for male protagonist: 3¿
    Rating for secondary characters: 3¿
    Steam Level: 3.5¿
    Plot Viability: 3¿
    General Storyline: 3¿
    Story Ending: 3.5¿
    Ease of Reading: 3.5¿
    Book editing: 3.5¿
    Cliffhanger: No

    Overall rating: 3.62¿

    Would I recommend this series: Yes.
    Would I continue the series: Yes.
    Would I read other books by this author: Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    This is a Great read! I loved this book can't wait to read more

    This is a Great read! I loved this book can't wait to read more about the Young Boys! I love the relationship that grows between Mesa and Joel! Watching these two fall in Love along with his bothers and Mother getting in the way makes for a funny great read! Plus he is one of the triples! There is nine boys total so we will see lots more from this great family!   Another Amazing Read from Sandy Sullivan! five out of Five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    I LOVED this story.  Every book I have read of Sandy's has been

    I LOVED this story.  Every book I have read of Sandy's has been fabulous.   I know this series was going to start off great and I can't wait for more.  I mean all those cowboys!  Phew!  Thank you for another great read Sandy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1