Customer Reviews for

Make it Last

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book was ok

This book was ok but it was only 80 pages long.

posted by 8865402 on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

TERRIBLE!

This is such a short book and it doesn't even start at the beginning of the story! DO NOT PURCHASE!

posted by mag_prkr on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    TERRIBLE!

    This is such a short book and it doesn't even start at the beginning of the story! DO NOT PURCHASE!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    This book was ok

    This book was ok but it was only 80 pages long.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Not worth the money.

    This book felt very rushed and was only 80 pages. Im highly disappointed I paid $3.00 for a short story pretty much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I'm a big fan of Ms. Lopez's writing, and this is an exciting ad

    I'm a big fan of Ms. Lopez's writing, and this is an exciting addition to her list of works. The story begins with the protagonist, Briana, having her heart broken by her high school boyfriend, Colin. This is a scenario experienced by many a teenage girl. What I like most about the story is that Briana gets to see what it's like to have her "ex" come back around a few years later and realize how wrong he was.

    The multiple characters in MAKE IT LAST are believable and engaging, and their stories mesh well. Because this is a New Adult novel, readers should expect behavior often exhibited by adults in their early twenties...drinking, swearing, having sex, etc. Ms. Lopez has perfectly captured the essence of this genre. I'm really looking forward to the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Not worth it!

    Definitely not worth 2.99. Only 84 pages and not very developed in terms of characters and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a huge fan of books with reunited lovers/love interests, esp

    I'm a huge fan of books with reunited lovers/love interests, especially when it's between two people who were a couple when they were younger. Time marches on, people grow, but somehow first loves stick with you. That was certainly the case for Briana and Colin in Make It Last. 

    It would have been easy for Briana to write Colin off entirely after the way he dumped her when he went off to college. I understand long distance relationships are difficult, but breaking up with someone you love just so you can be single when you go off to college never made much sense to me. At least give it a shot. If it doesn't work out, so be it. Neither Briana nor Colin sat around waiting for the other. They each went on with their lives and attempted to achieve their goals. Fate brought them back together after Colin was injured and his plans changed. Now they find themselves back in their hometown, together again. Colin knows he screwed up. Briana still has feelings for Colin, but she's not willing to forget how easy it was for him to leave her… or is she? 

    Sometimes I want nothing more than a completely predictable romance with a happily ever after. I know going into the book what's going to happen and I'm perfectly happy to sit back and enjoy the ride. This was one of those times. I liked the characters – not just Briana and Colin, but their whole group – and the situations and dialogue were realistic. Briana and Colin had chemistry and the romance was a bit steamy. Make It Last was a fun, sweet and sexy romp and a great start to a new contemporary romance trilogy. And at under 200 pages, it was a super quick read. 

    I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Jovi this is suche short book and not worth the money

    Not good enough

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    ***I Reviewed this as part of the Trilogy Friends and Lovers***

    ***I Reviewed this as part of the Trilogy Friends and Lovers***




    It is no secret I am a HUGE Bethany Lopez fan! Here is a review of Nissa and though I haven’t reviewed her other books, I have read and loved them! So, I JUMPED at the chance to review this series.  I stared reading the first book and, duh! I’d already read Make It Last.  I searched the blog and hadn’t done a review. So I skipped to I Choose You.  Yep, I’d read that one too… I searched the blog and had reviewed that one, but won’t link it because it was a really bad review from when I first started reviewing.




    ANYWAY! Moving on. The characters that Bethany Lopez creates are so real.  I seriously want to move in with them and have a beer and be part of their circle.  I’m pretty sure I can convince her to write me in.  I think I would fit in perfectly with their circle.  She can even write me a perfect boyfriend.  I want him to have Rich’s body, with Colin’s face and Kent’s personality! Simple, right?  My favorite of the series is by far Make it Last. I adored Briana and Colin and their relationship obviously was meant to last. I didn’t love Kent, but I think he and Nicole are good together, so it all works out.  Rich and Roni are two of my favorite characters! They are the characters from Trust in Me. I love the relationship that they have.  It is something that they build because of Roni’s past.




    All and all, I couldn’t put these books down reading them, and I just loved this series! I am always ready to dive into whatever Bethany Lopez has written next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Make It Last by

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Make It Last by Bethany Lopez
    Book One of the Friends and Lovers Trilogy
    Publication Date: November 3, 2012
    Rating: 3 stars
    Source: Ecopy sent from the author

    (Old review: original review posted HERE on December 26, 2012)

    “New Adult”, “Mature Young Adult”, whatever you want to call it, has been catching the attention of readers and authors alike. These days, there is an abundance of books in this age level, and Make It Last is one of them. Please do not be deterred by my so-so rating – I actually enjoyed this book. There were some things in this book that I loved, and other parts of the book that I thought could use some work. Overall, this book is a quick, fun read.

    Summary (from Goodreads): 

    In a small town, it's hard to recover from being dumped by your high school sweetheart. That's just what Briana has to do after Colin leaves her to follow his dreams. She focuses her energy into her friendships and the pursuit of her own goal of becoming a chef. Just when she finally feels like she's on the right path, he comes back to town.

    Colin knew breaking up with Briana before leaving for college was the right thing to do. He was determined to leave small-town life behind forever, and that included his high school girlfriend. But when a sports injury puts him on the sidelines, he's forced to return home. Seeing Briana again brings back a lot of memories, and Colin wonders if he made the right decision. It doesn't take long for him to realize he wants her back, and this time, he wants to make it last.


    What I Liked: 

    I liked the cast of characters that Bethany Lopez has introduced. There are so many, and I do not think that all of them go through some sort of character development, but most of them contributed nicely to the plot of the story, or to the major characters.
    Briana and Colin’s relationship is supposed to be rocky and tense at first, and then explosive and dynamic. I liked that Briana gave him a second chance – even though when they broke up so long ago, she said that she would not take him back. The overall feel of the book is pretty good. I enjoyed reading the story.


    What I Did Not Like: 

    There are a lot of things that I did not like. To start, I did not understand Colin’s real reasons for breaking up with Briana. The break-up scene seemed flat. And Briana said that she would not give him a second chance, but she did. I am glad that she did, but that was a little hypocritical. I think she should have a least drawn that out a little, because it did not take long for Briana and Colin to get back together. 

    That was another thing that I did not like – the pacing. This book went be extremely quickly. That does not have to be a negative thing, as some books are meant to be short, but the sequence of events seemed rushed, and not fleshed out. As I said before, there should have been more time between Colin coming back to town, and Briana taking him back. 

    I also saw little character development in Briana and Colin, the two leading characters. And Briana seemed very fake at times. For example, when she “broke up” with Kent, she seemed lifeless and automated. I did not want her and Kent to be together anyway, but Briana did not seem to care at all about Kent’s feelings, even if she said that she did. 

    And I did not really feel anything towards Briana and Colin’s relationship. I liked them together, but I did not really get into the chemistry of the two. Furthermore, there seems to be no real conflict in this book. I did not really understand the point, I suppose, besides Colin and Briana getting back together, and moving forward in their lives. 

    One of my main sticking points is the grammar. I hate to say it, but the sentence structure is a huge hit and miss – mostly a miss. Spelling errors and misplaced modifiers were everywhere. I do not go looking for grammar and structural mistakes with a fine-tooth comb, but when they are obvious, or I can see them clearly, I notice, and point them out. Writing a book also means editing the book.


    Would I Recommend It: 

    Eh, if you like “New Adult”, contemporary, shorter, less complicated stories, go for it. Otherwise, you might be better off skipping this one.


    Rating:

    3 stars. Again, I enjoyed this book, but there were many things that rubbed me the wrong way.

    This series definitely has potential, and I will read I Choose You (book 2), and the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Make it Last is Briana and Colin's story.  They were completely

    Make it Last is Briana and Colin's story.  They were completely and totally in love until Colin broke it off with Briana when he went away to college.  Briana was devastated, yet she recovers and goes on.  After spending a year in college, she returns home and is working as cook at the local bar and grill, saving her money up to attend culinary school in Austin Texas, which is her dream.  It's been 4 years since Colin broke her heart.  There have been other guys, and she is currently in a friends with benefits relationship with Kent.  What she doesn't expect is for Colin to move back into town.  What bothers her even more is the way she feels when she sees him.  Colin regrets what he did to Briana and would love to be a part of her life again, especially now that an injury has crushed his dreams of playing pro ball.  When he sees Briana with Kent, he is very jealous, and when his best friend Rich pops into the picture, it makes things even worse.  Cole manages to get Briana to forgive him and things start looking up, but when an old love shows up on the scene with some shocking news, any hope he has with Briana may be ruined.  




    I really enjoyed Briana and Cole's story.  I liked Briana from the get go.  She was fun, hardworking, feisty, and a great friend.  Cole had to grow on me, though I did wind up liking him.  We are also introduced to a group of secondary characters in this book that were fun to get to know, and whose stories are told in future installments.  Kara, Pete, Kent, Roni, Nicole, and Rich.  They all play a big part in the story and it was really great seeing how this group of friends got along.  Make it Last is a wonderful contemporary romance that was entertaining and heartwarming.  The romance was great, the chemistry between Bree and Cole was really hot, and the story itself was very entertaining.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Author Bethany Lopez has a knack for capturing the voice of toda

    Author Bethany Lopez has a knack for capturing the voice of today's young adults. I enjoyed her "Stories About Melissa" series and was excited to learn about her new "Friends and Lovers" trilogy. We've all had experiences growing up where people and situations weren't what we thought/hoped they would be. The author vividly brings these (sometimes awkward) circumstances to life for her characters and the reader. I look forward to the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Cute short story

    This book is very short, but was still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Ok not great

    The writing style is fine for this genre i guess but i found the drama a little juvenile. Brianna is making a mistake taking back up with Colin. Giving someone a second chance doesn't equal almost immediate restart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    I really enjoy Bethany's style, so when she asked if I would rea

    I really enjoy Bethany's style, so when she asked if I would read her new NA series, I jumped on it. I fell in love with the characters in the series. Colin and Brianna were a sweet couple, but I was anxious to learn more about the other characters as well. If you're looking for a short read that's part of a series, check this one out. It has romance, some steam, and likable/relatable characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Colin and Briana were high school sweethearts. When Colin broke

    Colin and Briana were high school sweethearts. When Colin broke Briana's heart, he left her behind, with an empty place no other guy has been able to fill. After four years, she's moved on, but when Colin comes back to town and realizes what he's missed, the two will discover whether they have what it takes to make it last. (no pun intended, seriously)

    I really enjoyed Make it Last. I love stories of two people who reconnect after heartbreak and years apart. I love when the two are forced to recognize who they've each grown into and have to re-evaluate their feelings. So in that aspect, Make it Last definitely appealed to me. The story is fairly short, which I have absolutely no problem with, I just felt it could have dug a little deeper into the emotions. Show me the heartache. Make me feel the emotions stirring. Leave me breathless, just like the characters. But still, I did really enjoy the story. Other than the showing vs telling, it was well-rounded and left me so happy with its ending.

    Make it Last is absolutely brimming with secondary characters who were vying to steal the story! Pete, Kara, Roni, Rich, Kent (broke my heart!), Nicole...they were all characters that I want to know better, probably Rich and Kent the most. This feeling leaves me wanting more from the series and I will definitely be reading Kent's story, I Choose You.


    Favorite Quote:

    "Holy crap, Bree, he is freakin' HOT."
    "Shut up, Kara."
    "No, seriously...tall, dark, and freakishly handsome! I mean, those dimples...I just want to lick him," Kara said dreamily.
    "Jesus, Kara," Briana snapped, "Are you kidding me right now?"
    Kara laughed wickedly. "Not about the fact that he's crazy hot, but yes, I'm kidding about wanting to lick him. You know I'd never poach."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Laura Carter for Readers Favorite Brianna thought s

    Reviewed by Laura Carter for Readers Favorite

    Brianna thought she would be with her high school sweetheart Colin forever. She certainly wasn’t expecting him to break up with her to focus on football and college parties. Four years later her life is finally getting back on track, her heart has mostly mended and her dreams of being a chef are within reach. When Colin returns with his dreams of being a football star in tatters Brianna realises she may not be as over him as she had thought. She may still love him but can she ever forgive him and allow him into her life again?

    I really enjoyed this book. It is a short, sweet read that many people will enjoy. I didn’t like Colin due to the way he left Brianna but the author has really developed him throughout the book. It was great watching the characters mature and become adults who put other people before themselves. The characters and their emotions are realistic making the book an engaging read. I was torn between wanting Brianna to forgive Colin or not but I love the way the book turned out. Bethany Lopez has created a world and characters that I want to keep on reading about; I want to see a couple of the secondary characters get their happily ever after. This book is a great set up for a series mentioning several characters who obviously have stories to be told and I hope we will get to see that. Overall I would recommend this to all lovers of a sweet romance who also don’t mind a sex scene or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Good but not enough

    I enjoyed this story but it was way to quick of a read. More could have happened to keep you more vested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a sweet story about high school sweethearts in love, but

    This is a sweet story about high school sweethearts in love, but they separate with the all too common 'it's not you, it's me' feeling. No one wants to hear that! Well, those weren't the words Colin said to Briana, but they might as well have been. She was devastated...but then she was in high school at the time. Being a high school teacher, I see that same drama all too closely every day. The story quickly picks up four years later when Colin returns to town and sees Briana. D-Bag alert!! Colin immediately saw what he had missed the last four years, and kudos to Briana for not giving him the time of day....at first. Little did they know that they would be in for the shock of their lives with Colin's past coming up to slap them both in the face.

    I really enjoyed this book and the story of Colin and Briana. It was a nice change for me and came at just the right time in my reading. This book is marked for 18+ years old because of the alcohol consumption and sex, and I really place it more into the chick lit/contemporary romance genre than anything else; the language and sex are tame. I went into this book after some pretty raw reading lately, unsure as to what to expect since I had never read this author before. This book was exactly what the doctor ordered to recover from the night terrors I received from my last read. I did get my happily ever after for Briana and Colin...I did see that coming, so my intuition isn't completely off, yet. This is Bethany Lopez's first rodeo in the adult genre, and I think she came out of the gate with class. The story is good, I enjoyed it, and I want more from this group of friends. Do I recommend it? Yes, I do. This was just what I needed at the time...a quick, smooth, feel-good book with a HEA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2