Customer Reviews for

Make It Last

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book was ok

This book was ok but it was only 80 pages long.

posted by 8865402 on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

TERRIBLE!

This is such a short book and it doesn't even start at the beginning of the story! DO NOT PURCHASE!

posted by mag_prkr on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a huge fan of books with reunited lovers/love interests, esp

    I'm a huge fan of books with reunited lovers/love interests, especially when it's between two people who were a couple when they were younger. Time marches on, people grow, but somehow first loves stick with you. That was certainly the case for Briana and Colin in Make It Last. 

    It would have been easy for Briana to write Colin off entirely after the way he dumped her when he went off to college. I understand long distance relationships are difficult, but breaking up with someone you love just so you can be single when you go off to college never made much sense to me. At least give it a shot. If it doesn't work out, so be it. Neither Briana nor Colin sat around waiting for the other. They each went on with their lives and attempted to achieve their goals. Fate brought them back together after Colin was injured and his plans changed. Now they find themselves back in their hometown, together again. Colin knows he screwed up. Briana still has feelings for Colin, but she's not willing to forget how easy it was for him to leave her… or is she? 

    Sometimes I want nothing more than a completely predictable romance with a happily ever after. I know going into the book what's going to happen and I'm perfectly happy to sit back and enjoy the ride. This was one of those times. I liked the characters – not just Briana and Colin, but their whole group – and the situations and dialogue were realistic. Briana and Colin had chemistry and the romance was a bit steamy. Make It Last was a fun, sweet and sexy romp and a great start to a new contemporary romance trilogy. And at under 200 pages, it was a super quick read. 

    I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Make It Last by

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Make It Last by Bethany Lopez
    Book One of the Friends and Lovers Trilogy
    Publication Date: November 3, 2012
    Rating: 3 stars
    Source: Ecopy sent from the author

    (Old review: original review posted HERE on December 26, 2012)

    “New Adult”, “Mature Young Adult”, whatever you want to call it, has been catching the attention of readers and authors alike. These days, there is an abundance of books in this age level, and Make It Last is one of them. Please do not be deterred by my so-so rating – I actually enjoyed this book. There were some things in this book that I loved, and other parts of the book that I thought could use some work. Overall, this book is a quick, fun read.

    Summary (from Goodreads): 

    In a small town, it's hard to recover from being dumped by your high school sweetheart. That's just what Briana has to do after Colin leaves her to follow his dreams. She focuses her energy into her friendships and the pursuit of her own goal of becoming a chef. Just when she finally feels like she's on the right path, he comes back to town.

    Colin knew breaking up with Briana before leaving for college was the right thing to do. He was determined to leave small-town life behind forever, and that included his high school girlfriend. But when a sports injury puts him on the sidelines, he's forced to return home. Seeing Briana again brings back a lot of memories, and Colin wonders if he made the right decision. It doesn't take long for him to realize he wants her back, and this time, he wants to make it last.


    What I Liked: 

    I liked the cast of characters that Bethany Lopez has introduced. There are so many, and I do not think that all of them go through some sort of character development, but most of them contributed nicely to the plot of the story, or to the major characters.
    Briana and Colin’s relationship is supposed to be rocky and tense at first, and then explosive and dynamic. I liked that Briana gave him a second chance – even though when they broke up so long ago, she said that she would not take him back. The overall feel of the book is pretty good. I enjoyed reading the story.


    What I Did Not Like: 

    There are a lot of things that I did not like. To start, I did not understand Colin’s real reasons for breaking up with Briana. The break-up scene seemed flat. And Briana said that she would not give him a second chance, but she did. I am glad that she did, but that was a little hypocritical. I think she should have a least drawn that out a little, because it did not take long for Briana and Colin to get back together. 

    That was another thing that I did not like – the pacing. This book went be extremely quickly. That does not have to be a negative thing, as some books are meant to be short, but the sequence of events seemed rushed, and not fleshed out. As I said before, there should have been more time between Colin coming back to town, and Briana taking him back. 

    I also saw little character development in Briana and Colin, the two leading characters. And Briana seemed very fake at times. For example, when she “broke up” with Kent, she seemed lifeless and automated. I did not want her and Kent to be together anyway, but Briana did not seem to care at all about Kent’s feelings, even if she said that she did. 

    And I did not really feel anything towards Briana and Colin’s relationship. I liked them together, but I did not really get into the chemistry of the two. Furthermore, there seems to be no real conflict in this book. I did not really understand the point, I suppose, besides Colin and Briana getting back together, and moving forward in their lives. 

    One of my main sticking points is the grammar. I hate to say it, but the sentence structure is a huge hit and miss – mostly a miss. Spelling errors and misplaced modifiers were everywhere. I do not go looking for grammar and structural mistakes with a fine-tooth comb, but when they are obvious, or I can see them clearly, I notice, and point them out. Writing a book also means editing the book.


    Would I Recommend It: 

    Eh, if you like “New Adult”, contemporary, shorter, less complicated stories, go for it. Otherwise, you might be better off skipping this one.


    Rating:

    3 stars. Again, I enjoyed this book, but there were many things that rubbed me the wrong way.

    This series definitely has potential, and I will read I Choose You (book 2), and the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Ok not great

    The writing style is fine for this genre i guess but i found the drama a little juvenile. Brianna is making a mistake taking back up with Colin. Giving someone a second chance doesn't equal almost immediate restart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Good but not enough

    I enjoyed this story but it was way to quick of a read. More could have happened to keep you more vested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1