Customer Reviews for

Makes Me Wanna Holler: A Young Black Man in America

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Essential reading for ALL black males.. and women, too.

For every single black woman && man in America, this book should be required reading. One cannot deny that the African-American experience is a unique one and that there are very few modern writers supplying a fair, observational and personal look on the matter. Nathan ...
For every single black woman && man in America, this book should be required reading. One cannot deny that the African-American experience is a unique one and that there are very few modern writers supplying a fair, observational and personal look on the matter. Nathan McCall is a great story-teller and you'll be able to do nothing but sulute him after reading his touching memoir. Besides being inspired by his own triumphs, this book can provide young black men with a blueprint to compare thier own possible grim African American experience to and it also can provide insight to some black women in their love troubles in finding the "good black men." It also touches on African-American troubles such as the lack of family structure, Black's constant presence in the prison system, and the overwhelming reality of racism in America, even in 2008. McCall keeps it real, from the first page to the last. So just READ THIS BOOK!... It's that good and you'll certainly learn something, regardless of your race !

posted by EmpressLay on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I will give credit where credit is due....

This book will hold your interest but some of the content is repulsive. It is even more repulsive when you think that it is factual. I do not agree with the premise of this book but I will hand it to the writer. He put his personal struggle as a black man in America out...
This book will hold your interest but some of the content is repulsive. It is even more repulsive when you think that it is factual. I do not agree with the premise of this book but I will hand it to the writer. He put his personal struggle as a black man in America out there for all to see. I respect him for that. I do not agree with much of his portrayal or excuses for why he behaved the way that he did. There are no excuses for certain behavior!

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Awesome

    This book was a excellent... My entire class read the book and white people and black people could relate, sympathize and appreciate what this story has to offer!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    noting to something

    Growing up in a life with voilence and lack of good partental guidance and poverty was a big issues in mccall life geting to gangs and missing out from school and dealing with the issues of race really made is life rough. I think this book is really good and impressive also encouraging it really touches the issues back people face generaly . In life people give up on what they want to be because of the problem they face arounding them. The book show how he made it in the the hard life he lived. this book is a motivation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Mandatory Reading for all Men, particularly of African American descent

    An absolute must -- One of the most compelling self-described autobiographies I've had the privilege of reading. Literally, I was able to physically place myself into every facet of this book from cover to cover. Truly Outstanding!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Makes me wanna holler too!

    It isn't often that I find a good book, but when I do, I definitely have to tell others. I think this book is a great example of trials African-American males face from the perspective of one who started from the bottom and worked his way up. No matter what you may think, racism still exists and although 'well-hidden' the redundant stereotype that always resurfaces is that Black males don't amount to much. They're written off and are very much misunderstood. Ultimately, they're in a situation where they just can't win and this is all based on their gender and color. I would recommend this to anyone, especially someone who may know a troubled Black male (especially the younger ones who think that they're invinsible!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    THE BOOK FOR THE BLACK MAN

    MY NAME IS TONY ROSEBORO I AM A 26 YEAR OLD AFRICAN AMERICAN CORRECTIONAL OFFICER FROM WINSTON SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA. I READ A LOT OF BOOKS PERTAINING TO AFRICAN AMERICANS. I USED TO PASS BY THE BOOK 'MAKES ME WANNA HOLLER' BUT I DIDN'T BUY IT UNTIL ONE DAY AT WORK AT THE FORSYTH COUNTY DETENTION CENTER A CO-WORKER (A AFRICAN AMERICAN CORRECTIONAL OFFICER)TOLD ME ABOUT THE BOOK. HE TALKED VERY HIGHLY OF IT, SO I WENT OUT AND PURCHASED IT ON FRIDAY 7-21-06. I'VE FINISHED THE BOOK LAST NIGHT 7-27-06. I ENJOYED THE BOOK AND I RECOMMEND THAT EVERY YOUNG AFRICAN AMERICAN MALE ESPECIALLY IN THE U.S.A. READ THIS BOOK. IT IS A CLASSIC AND I HOPE ONE DAY I CAN MEET NATHAN MCCALL TO LET HIM KNOW HOW WELL HE HAD A GREAT IMPACT ON MY LIFE WITH THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    Get Ready

    This is a blistering memoir which accounts for the effects of racism upon a young black man growing up in a racially divided America. Following his journey into drugs, sex, violence and eventually prison, this is a resonant piece that examines the human experience of an often steretyped minority in America. Powerful, disturbing, overwhelming and an absolute must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    R U Ready?????

    This book opens your eyes to explore and see what really go on in the black hoods. McCall to me is a blessing to all africa american men and women.young or old I hope u are ready to see what a great and amazing book this is. Because once u start your going to never put it down. I read the book twice just to be sure i didnt miss any thing the first time. Spend your nights laughing, crying, and dancing all around this book. Thanks McCall u sure did MAKE ME WANNA HOLLA!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    great great book

    and believe me I am ve4ry picky so when I say this is a great book....IT IS A GREAT BOOK. I commend Mr. McCall for his honesty. I think if half of us were to write a book based on their lives most of use would leave out the embrassing parts, but McCall gave himself no mercy as he revealed the most intimate details about his past. This is my second favortie book in the whole world. And that means a lot because I read A LOT! This book brought me to tears at least three times. Being a Black woman with black males around me all the time I can understand thier struggle and my struggle more now that I have read McCall's words. I thank you Nathan McCall. I recommend this book to anyone who would like to boarded their mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Not a book reader!!

    I wasn't a book reader, I had never found a book that had ever got my attention, until this book.This is by far one of the best life stories I have ever heard. From a man who had nothing to a man with a very successful career, shows that people can get through anything.Truly an insperational book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    A great motivational personal story that is bound to move you.

    EXCELLENT STORY-VERY TABLEAU-MOTIVATIONAL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    Makes me wonna holler

    If you like black history then you'll like Makes Me Wonna Holler.Makes Me Wonna Holler is about a young black kid in Portsmouth who goes to a school with all white people in it.He gets in alot of fights especially one where he asks all his friend to show up and asks one to bring his gun.Only one of his friends show and they both almost die but two men show up.If you would like to find out more then you have to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    The nitty-gritty and all of the glory too!

    I love this book because of McCall's BRUTAL honesty. He has shed light on subjects that in-touch blacks already know exist. He addresses the plight of the black man and his realities from youth to adulthood. I recommend this book especially for young black men that are drifting through life unsure of where their path is leading them. It calls attention to the things that we as black folk have to deal with. It's sad to say that our men have it twice if not more harder than us women. Read it and be enlightened and inspired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    This book was GREAT!

    I really enjoyed this book. It brought our a better perspective of how hard life is. also how some of us have it much harder than others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    Life Saving/ Powerful

    Finally, a book that says what I have been screaming all of my life.McCall is a writter above writters, he lets brothers voices be heard and helps anyone, especially women, understand what is really in a black mans heart. This book is a must read for anyone of color and especially young blacks growing up today, it will help them to see that they are not alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    Racism Awakening

    The truth of blacks in mainstream white America is told through this story, to the unbelievable truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    I loved the Book!!!!!!!!!!

    Personally I loved the book not because this is the first I ever read on the issue of racism but because it was an eye opener. This book made me realize the issue of blacks and whites and how we (blacks) stood on the issue of the white mainstream. This novel holds a very powerful message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    A Must Read

    I recommend this book to any young Black & Latino male growing up in America today. McCall tells it like it should be told not holding back anything. This book will catch you and hold you spellbound. Trust me its Deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Perfect

    This book is great. Every school should have a copy in its possesion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ

    I got to say that i hate reading, i hate it. When my school requireed us to read I got a copy of MAKES ME WANNA HOLLER and I couldn't put it down, this book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    Incredible!

    An AMAZING, AMAZING story of a man who has all the disadvantages in this country...and lives an amazing life to tell about. I suggest this autobiography to anyone who wishes to understand what "it's really like" out there...a truly life-altering read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5