BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Making Children Mind without Losing Yours

Average Rating 3
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Parenting book for Any religion

This book is the best parenting book I have ever read. Not only is the advice practical but the book is entertaining and easy to read. I have used his techniques successfully with my 9, 4 and 3 year old girls. While there are references to the Bible in the book, it i...
This book is the best parenting book I have ever read. Not only is the advice practical but the book is entertaining and easy to read. I have used his techniques successfully with my 9, 4 and 3 year old girls. While there are references to the Bible in the book, it is not a book that is trying to convert you. I feel these references are to show where his values, and many others', are based, and to point out when someone may be quoting (or misinterpreting) scripture incorrectly to justify certain behaviors. The focus of the book is always how to raise your children, not what religion to raise them. It would be misfortunate for someone to pass on this incredible book simply because the author is Christian. If you are serious about a parenting book that will help you with your children, this is the best.

posted by Lorraines on November 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Nowhere in any of the marketing materials for this book 'book cover, jacket, back-of-book blurb, title, author bio, etc' does the author/publisher choose to reveal that this book is written by a hardcore BIBLE THUMPER. The book is entirely written on biblical themes an...
Nowhere in any of the marketing materials for this book 'book cover, jacket, back-of-book blurb, title, author bio, etc' does the author/publisher choose to reveal that this book is written by a hardcore BIBLE THUMPER. The book is entirely written on biblical themes and references, with god/bible blurbs on each page, but it is sold as just another helpful childrearing book. This kind of intentional deception makes the book useless for someone looking for a non-religious book, and seems rather shady and underhanded.

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Best Parenting book for Any religion

    This book is the best parenting book I have ever read. Not only is the advice practical but the book is entertaining and easy to read. I have used his techniques successfully with my 9, 4 and 3 year old girls. While there are references to the Bible in the book, it is not a book that is trying to convert you. I feel these references are to show where his values, and many others', are based, and to point out when someone may be quoting (or misinterpreting) scripture incorrectly to justify certain behaviors. The focus of the book is always how to raise your children, not what religion to raise them. It would be misfortunate for someone to pass on this incredible book simply because the author is Christian. If you are serious about a parenting book that will help you with your children, this is the best.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    Nowhere in any of the marketing materials for this book 'book cover, jacket, back-of-book blurb, title, author bio, etc' does the author/publisher choose to reveal that this book is written by a hardcore BIBLE THUMPER. The book is entirely written on biblical themes and references, with god/bible blurbs on each page, but it is sold as just another helpful childrearing book. This kind of intentional deception makes the book useless for someone looking for a non-religious book, and seems rather shady and underhanded.

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Great parenting book for Christians

    I was impressed with Dr. Leman's book. I'm very impressed that he understood the rod scriptures correctly and is against spanking. I'm glad to find a Christian author who is against spanking because often, authors just write their opinions on how they grew up, slap a label on it, and there's a book. He approaches the use of discipline very intelligently and is very practical. I'm, in general, impressed!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Best Parenting Book Ever

    This is by far the best parenting book i have ever read. It really works. Reality Discipline (which is taught in this book) only works if you are 100% devoted to disciplining your child. Otherwise it won't work. This book gives you different scenarios and examples to go aLong with his guidelines. Hope you enjoy

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2000

    Why Didn't I Think of That?

    Throughout this book, I've thought, 'Why didn't I think of that?' Everything is such common-sense stuff. In the beginning of the book, Dr. Leman says that children are selfish, especially very young children, and they will try to get your attention by whatever means they can. He says if we 'don't buy, they won't sell,' meaning that sometimes parents encourage this negative behavior by giving in to their child's tactics. Dr. Leman says that our job as parents is to train children for the real world. Every suggestion he makes revolves around this theory. He also approaches spanking and says that there are situations that warrant spanking, but it should not be the first form of discipline. He says that 'Spare the rod and spoil the child,' is taken out of context and refers to the verse out of the bible that says 'Thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.' I highly recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Great advice

    Great read and great advice! Loved the Christian aspect of the discipline.
    Wished he had more and more and more examples!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    FOR THOSE GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS BASED ON THE FACT THAT THIS BOOK WAS WRITTEN WITH RELIGIOUS VIEWS!!

    One should know if there is any reference to Focus on the Family the material is going to be religious. Thats a given maybe you should research the author before buying any book they have written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Parent with confidence everyday

    Dr Leman's insight and practical advise has allowed me to enjoy my kids today. By investing wisely in the early years of their life and using the practical ideas outlined in his book I have found parenting to be one of the most rewarding things in my life. I shiver to think how I would have boched up this job of parenting had I not laid my hands on a copy of his book when my first child was still a baby. She is 13 now and a beautiful young lady. Thanks Dr. Leman

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    Your Not Alone

    If you are a parent this book is a MUST!! Dr. Leman makes you realize that you are not alone in dealing with the everyday troubles that come with raising children. He really makes you take a look at your own life and how you are raising your kids. One of my favorite things that he said in this book is; 'Our children belong to the Lord. He has given them to us 'on loan', with specific guidelines in his word for the training and enrichment of their lives.' I guarantee you'll get a lot out of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    deceptive marketing

    Kevin Leman is a good author.<BR/>Both himself and the publishers of this book did not have to resort to such deceptive marketing. The book is based on religious themes, and the author seems to heavily push the religious agenda.<BR/>Too bad, even such learned people make such bad judgements.<BR/><BR/>Stay away from this one folks.

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2