BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Making Faces

Average Rating 5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY "I wrote your name across my heart,

A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY

"I wrote your name across my heart,
So we could be together
So I could hold you close to me
And keep you there forever."

As the kids say “OH, the feels!” Somebody should have told me I would need Kleenex for this book. Why didn’t somebo...
A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY

"I wrote your name across my heart,
So we could be together
So I could hold you close to me
And keep you there forever."

As the kids say “OH, the feels!” Somebody should have told me I would need Kleenex for this book. Why didn’t somebody warn me?! This story made me cry…a LOT. My husband will tell you that I cry easily: if I’m happy, I cry. If I’m sad, I cry. If I’m feeling patriotic, I cry. If something is adorable, I cry. This book had a bit of each of this. I cried, and cried, and cried. The lose your mascara, red nose, and red eyes kind of crying. I only wish I could unread this story so that I could read it for the first time, again. This is one of those few that I will put on my shelf of books that I will re-read again and again.

As I was nearing the end of this book, the phone rang. My customer asked me if I was sick. I told her, no, I was crying. As it turns out, she belongs to a book club. I gave her the information for this book and she is going to suggest it for her group. I was very happy to recommend it for them.

This is the first of Ms. Harmon’s books that I have read. My TBR list just grew, because I now NEED to read more from this talented author.

Category: NA, contemporary romance
Received from: Amy Harmon (in exchange for an honest review)
Recommended for: mature teens and up
Grammar/editing: A – near perfect

posted by pageprincess_50 on November 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay!

I wish I had known that this was more a book for teenagers, although I sure would not give it to one of my teenagers to read. I had a very hard time getting through this book. I can not say that I would reccomend this book at all.

posted by bestfriendsMI on March 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY "I wrote your name across my heart,

    A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY

    "I wrote your name across my heart,
    So we could be together
    So I could hold you close to me
    And keep you there forever."

    As the kids say “OH, the feels!” Somebody should have told me I would need Kleenex for this book. Why didn’t somebody warn me?! This story made me cry…a LOT. My husband will tell you that I cry easily: if I’m happy, I cry. If I’m sad, I cry. If I’m feeling patriotic, I cry. If something is adorable, I cry. This book had a bit of each of this. I cried, and cried, and cried. The lose your mascara, red nose, and red eyes kind of crying. I only wish I could unread this story so that I could read it for the first time, again. This is one of those few that I will put on my shelf of books that I will re-read again and again.

    As I was nearing the end of this book, the phone rang. My customer asked me if I was sick. I told her, no, I was crying. As it turns out, she belongs to a book club. I gave her the information for this book and she is going to suggest it for her group. I was very happy to recommend it for them.

    This is the first of Ms. Harmon’s books that I have read. My TBR list just grew, because I now NEED to read more from this talented author.

    Category: NA, contemporary romance
    Received from: Amy Harmon (in exchange for an honest review)
    Recommended for: mature teens and up
    Grammar/editing: A – near perfect

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Amazing

    Great read! I laughed I cried, one of the best books I've ever read. A must read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I feel so lost, yet so complete after just finishing this! I am

    I feel so lost, yet so complete after just finishing this! I am in awe, I am stunned, and I am speechless. The power that this book holds is seriously unfathomable. Amy Harmon has such a way with delivery, intertwining and bringing this story full circle. So glad I had another room to disappear into so my husband didn't have to witness my bouts of uncontrollable crying. 
    This didn't feel like a work of fiction to me. It felt real, I connected with it on so many levels and in so many ways. Amy tapped into my emotions and I related to all of the characters in this third person point of view book.
    I am about to go harass the serious book people I know, the ones who need that next great story, because THIS IS IT PEOPLE!! 
    This is the type of book that everyone should read. There are lessons we can all learn from within these pages

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    This book told a story. A blessed story. It didn't introduce m

    This book told a story. A blessed story. It didn't introduce me to the characters, it put me into the book like no other has ever done. Fern, Ambrose and Bailey were my friends. I cried and truly mourned. This book was thought provoking and beautiful. I will highly recommend this book to anyone who will listen. It is truly amazing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Amazing book.

    I don't write reviews often, mostly because I can never articulate my feelings for a book that would touch me so deeply and wonderfully that a review is the only thanks I can extend. Making Faces is a joy. It is a beauty. Thank you Amy Harmon.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great book

    This book was wonderful and will make you think about life and all the things you might take for granted...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Just wow

    If i could rate this book more than 5 stars I would give it a 10! Making faces is by far one of the best books I have ever read, and I have read tons! This is a MUST READ!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    Wow! This book deserves so much more than just 5 stars. It is on

    Wow! This book deserves so much more than just 5 stars. It is one of the best books I have ever read. It will make you laugh, cry, but more than anything... it will give you hope.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Great

    The book started slow but 2/3 into it, the story became more fluid and engaging. It ended up being a beautiful tale of love and second opportunities. The main characters are amazing, in their innocence, their pure hearts, and willingness to fight and find a way to be happy. It is a terrific love story, but don't expect charged sex scenes. It is not sexually graphic at all. It is a different type of romance, more focused on love in general than in sexuality. It is unique story, with solid and extraordinary yet mundane characters, and very worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Okay!

    I wish I had known that this was more a book for teenagers, although I sure would not give it to one of my teenagers to read. I had a very hard time getting through this book. I can not say that I would reccomend this book at all.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I needed a break from my "To Be Reviewed" pile and saw

    I needed a break from my "To Be Reviewed" pile and saw that a few of my bookish friends - ones who don't usually read the same kinds of books - had read this. So I bought it, opened it up and thought I would just "peek" at it.

    SWEET MINI CUPCAKES...there is no "peeking" at Ambrose Young and Fern Taylor. It's more like, "Hey kids, it's a Survivor dinner night. (If you hope to survive until breakfast you better fix yourself some dinner because Mom is reading.), and "Don't wait up for me honey because I can't put this book down."

    No, Really.

    It's difficult for me to put into words just how much I loved this story. It's about a boy who has it all, beauty, brains and brawn. (And the most amazing hair! Not really. Okay, maybe a little.) Who takes it for granted (not on purpose) and loses it all. Or so he thinks. *squishy hugs Ambrose*

    And then there is the girl. The one with the red hair, buck teeth and heart big enough to love the world around her into oblivion. Fern has been overlooked her whole life. But what Fern lacks in physical beauty, she more than makes up for in her ability to see people for who they really are. And she has always seen Ambrose Young. Always. This story and these characters will break your heart in the best way possible. And it isn't just about love and romance, although there is plenty of that. *cue face fanning* It's also about friendship, forgiveness and faith and serves as a beautiful reminder of what really matters when we look at a person.

    I've seen quite a few reviews where people have liked everything about this book EXCEPT for the fact that it mentions God and quotes a few Scriptures. This is not an alter call book, and believe me, I have read my fair share of those and promptly thrown them against the wall. I don't like to be preached at either and if anything, this book encouraged and helped to remind me that while physical beauty is hard not to focus on it's fleeting. The heart of a person is what really makes them beautiful.

    This is a YA/NA crossover because the characters are teenagers when we meet them and follows them into their early twenties. Bailey is a slight potty mouth which only makes him that much more endearing and there is no sex in this book. HOWEVER, it should come with a warning..."Certain scenes may encourage seeking out spouse and/or significant other and kissing their face off."

    “There's a lot I don't understand... but not understanding is better than not believing”

    "Scripture comforts me, and romance novels give me hope."
    "Oh yeah? Hope for what?"
    "Hope that I'll be doing more than quoting scripture with Ambrose Young in the very near future".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Beautiful

    Wow. A beautiful story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    &#32154

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2014

    If I could give this book more than five stars, I totally would.

    If I could give this book more than five stars, I totally would. Goodreads recommended this book based on several of my Bookshelves and I thought, "Wow, Goodreads really wants me to read this book." So I clicked on it and was skeptical of the nearly five star rating. So many rave reviews. I figured I better check it out. I can't thank Goodreads enough. I LOVED this book. I cried my eyeballs out and I don't cry for much. I can't say enough good things about this book. I also tend to not like the female as much as the males in books.... I fell in love with both Ambrose and Fern.

    This book is the type that reminds you of what is important without trying to. It has found a place in my all time favorites. I look forward to reading more by this author and seeing if the rest live up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book. I could not put it down. I didn't want it to end.

    This book. I could not put it down. I didn't want it to end. It ripped my heart out. I LOVED it!!! Fern, Ambrose and Bailey became so real to me that when I finished the book I missed them. This is the first book I've read by Amy and it won't be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A lovely modern Beauty & the Beast story! I read this touchi

    A lovely modern Beauty & the Beast story!
    I read this touching story when my mom started getting really sick and had to begin dealing with her new realty and a forced retirement. The events in Making Faces really spoke to me in a profound way. So the timing was excellent. I’m forever grateful to book buddy, Stephanie Kelly for e-gifting it to me and to author Amy Harmon for writing this story. And I adore the book cover photo, excellent choice!

    Quick breakdown
    Setting: in the small town of Hannah Lake
    Timeframe: alternates between present day and flashbacks
    Sex: some heavy petting and kissing
    Romance level: medium young adult to new adult level 
    Tension: issues include the perception of physical beauty versus inner beauty of spirit; the impact of Duchenne muscular dystrophy, of being a war veteran and of facial disfigurement; the pressure being popular has; dealing with and recovering from physical abuse
    Realism: extremely high 

    ~~~~~~~~~Highlights for me include: Minor spoilers alert!!! ~~~~~~~~~~~

    The fact that Fern knew all the words to the song, “Reproduction” from Grease 2, my personal favorite over Grease, ha!

    The love letters exchanged between Ambrose and Rita, but secretly written by Fern. I loved that their correspondence allowed Fern and Ambrose to get to know each other without the superficiality of physical beauty coming into play.

    That Bailey’s battle with Duchenne muscular dystrophy taught his dad, Coach Sheen “to love and to put things in perspective, to live for the present, to say I love you often and to mean it. And to be grateful for every day. It taught him patience and perseverance.”

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~Favorite passages: SPOILER ALERT!!!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Ch. 19: Finish a 1000 Piece Puzzle
    ‘It’s so much easier to take if God had nothing to do with it. If God has nothing to do with it, then I can accept that it’s just life. Nobody is special, but nobody isn’t special, either.” ~ Ambrose explaining how he feels about coming home from war when his 4 friends didn’t to Fern.

    “I guess it means we don’t understand everything, and we’re not going to. Maybe the whys aren’t answered here. Not because there aren’t answers, but because we wouldn’t understand the answers if we had them. Maybe there is a bigger purpose, a bigger picture that we only contribute a very small piece to.” ~ Fern’s response to Ambrose.

    “[…] romance novels give me hope.” ~ Fern to Ambrose.

    Ch. 25: Float Across Hannah Lake
    “I think people are like that. When you really look at them, you stop seeing a perfect nose or straight teeth. You stop seeing the acne scar or dimple in the chin. Those things start to blur, and suddenly you see them, the colors, the life inside the shell, and beauty takes on a whole new meaning.” ~ Fern comments to Ambrose and Bailey while searching for new faces in the clouds above them.

    Ch. 37: Getting Married
    “And so we endure. We have faith that there is purpose. We hope for things we can’t see. We believe that there are lessons in loss, power in love, and that we have within us the potential for a beauty so magnificent that our bodies can’t contain it.” Fern’s dad, Pastor Joshua Taylor’s speech at her wedding. ~ Gosh, I would so love to believe this is true for every soul on the planet! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    AMAZING !

    A truly touching story, such a good read. I definitely recommend this book. You won't regret it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Beautiful story!

    I would recommend this book, highly! It starts off in high school, but moves into the early twenties. The characters are wonderfully written, you can picture them as you read and fall in love with each quirky personality. Made me sad, made me smile, made me cry. I would read this one again, and buy it for my teenage daughter, also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Wonderful book!

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Great read!

    Love this book ~ would recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9