Customer Reviews for

Making Faces

Average Rating 5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY "I wrote your name across my heart,

A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY

"I wrote your name across my heart,
So we could be together
So I could hold you close to me
And keep you there forever."

As the kids say “OH, the feels!” Somebody should have told me I would need Kleenex for this book. Why didn’t somebo...
A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY

"I wrote your name across my heart,
So we could be together
So I could hold you close to me
And keep you there forever."

As the kids say “OH, the feels!” Somebody should have told me I would need Kleenex for this book. Why didn’t somebody warn me?! This story made me cry…a LOT. My husband will tell you that I cry easily: if I’m happy, I cry. If I’m sad, I cry. If I’m feeling patriotic, I cry. If something is adorable, I cry. This book had a bit of each of this. I cried, and cried, and cried. The lose your mascara, red nose, and red eyes kind of crying. I only wish I could unread this story so that I could read it for the first time, again. This is one of those few that I will put on my shelf of books that I will re-read again and again.

As I was nearing the end of this book, the phone rang. My customer asked me if I was sick. I told her, no, I was crying. As it turns out, she belongs to a book club. I gave her the information for this book and she is going to suggest it for her group. I was very happy to recommend it for them.

This is the first of Ms. Harmon’s books that I have read. My TBR list just grew, because I now NEED to read more from this talented author.

Category: NA, contemporary romance
Received from: Amy Harmon (in exchange for an honest review)
Recommended for: mature teens and up
Grammar/editing: A – near perfect

posted by pageprincess_50 on November 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay!

I wish I had known that this was more a book for teenagers, although I sure would not give it to one of my teenagers to read. I had a very hard time getting through this book. I can not say that I would reccomend this book at all.

posted by bestfriendsMI on March 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY "I wrote your name across my heart,

    A DON'T-MISS-IT STORY

    "I wrote your name across my heart,
    So we could be together
    So I could hold you close to me
    And keep you there forever."

    As the kids say “OH, the feels!” Somebody should have told me I would need Kleenex for this book. Why didn’t somebody warn me?! This story made me cry…a LOT. My husband will tell you that I cry easily: if I’m happy, I cry. If I’m sad, I cry. If I’m feeling patriotic, I cry. If something is adorable, I cry. This book had a bit of each of this. I cried, and cried, and cried. The lose your mascara, red nose, and red eyes kind of crying. I only wish I could unread this story so that I could read it for the first time, again. This is one of those few that I will put on my shelf of books that I will re-read again and again.

    As I was nearing the end of this book, the phone rang. My customer asked me if I was sick. I told her, no, I was crying. As it turns out, she belongs to a book club. I gave her the information for this book and she is going to suggest it for her group. I was very happy to recommend it for them.

    This is the first of Ms. Harmon’s books that I have read. My TBR list just grew, because I now NEED to read more from this talented author.

    Category: NA, contemporary romance
    Received from: Amy Harmon (in exchange for an honest review)
    Recommended for: mature teens and up
    Grammar/editing: A – near perfect

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Amazing

    Great read! I laughed I cried, one of the best books I've ever read. A must read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I feel so lost, yet so complete after just finishing this! I am

    I feel so lost, yet so complete after just finishing this! I am in awe, I am stunned, and I am speechless. The power that this book holds is seriously unfathomable. Amy Harmon has such a way with delivery, intertwining and bringing this story full circle. So glad I had another room to disappear into so my husband didn't have to witness my bouts of uncontrollable crying. 
    This didn't feel like a work of fiction to me. It felt real, I connected with it on so many levels and in so many ways. Amy tapped into my emotions and I related to all of the characters in this third person point of view book.
    I am about to go harass the serious book people I know, the ones who need that next great story, because THIS IS IT PEOPLE!! 
    This is the type of book that everyone should read. There are lessons we can all learn from within these pages

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    This book told a story. A blessed story. It didn't introduce m

    This book told a story. A blessed story. It didn't introduce me to the characters, it put me into the book like no other has ever done. Fern, Ambrose and Bailey were my friends. I cried and truly mourned. This book was thought provoking and beautiful. I will highly recommend this book to anyone who will listen. It is truly amazing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Amazing book.

    I don't write reviews often, mostly because I can never articulate my feelings for a book that would touch me so deeply and wonderfully that a review is the only thanks I can extend. Making Faces is a joy. It is a beauty. Thank you Amy Harmon.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great book

    This book was wonderful and will make you think about life and all the things you might take for granted...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Just wow

    If i could rate this book more than 5 stars I would give it a 10! Making faces is by far one of the best books I have ever read, and I have read tons! This is a MUST READ!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    Wow! This book deserves so much more than just 5 stars. It is on

    Wow! This book deserves so much more than just 5 stars. It is one of the best books I have ever read. It will make you laugh, cry, but more than anything... it will give you hope.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I needed a break from my "To Be Reviewed" pile and saw

    I needed a break from my "To Be Reviewed" pile and saw that a few of my bookish friends - ones who don't usually read the same kinds of books - had read this. So I bought it, opened it up and thought I would just "peek" at it.

    SWEET MINI CUPCAKES...there is no "peeking" at Ambrose Young and Fern Taylor. It's more like, "Hey kids, it's a Survivor dinner night. (If you hope to survive until breakfast you better fix yourself some dinner because Mom is reading.), and "Don't wait up for me honey because I can't put this book down."

    No, Really.

    It's difficult for me to put into words just how much I loved this story. It's about a boy who has it all, beauty, brains and brawn. (And the most amazing hair! Not really. Okay, maybe a little.) Who takes it for granted (not on purpose) and loses it all. Or so he thinks. *squishy hugs Ambrose*

    And then there is the girl. The one with the red hair, buck teeth and heart big enough to love the world around her into oblivion. Fern has been overlooked her whole life. But what Fern lacks in physical beauty, she more than makes up for in her ability to see people for who they really are. And she has always seen Ambrose Young. Always. This story and these characters will break your heart in the best way possible. And it isn't just about love and romance, although there is plenty of that. *cue face fanning* It's also about friendship, forgiveness and faith and serves as a beautiful reminder of what really matters when we look at a person.

    I've seen quite a few reviews where people have liked everything about this book EXCEPT for the fact that it mentions God and quotes a few Scriptures. This is not an alter call book, and believe me, I have read my fair share of those and promptly thrown them against the wall. I don't like to be preached at either and if anything, this book encouraged and helped to remind me that while physical beauty is hard not to focus on it's fleeting. The heart of a person is what really makes them beautiful.

    This is a YA/NA crossover because the characters are teenagers when we meet them and follows them into their early twenties. Bailey is a slight potty mouth which only makes him that much more endearing and there is no sex in this book. HOWEVER, it should come with a warning..."Certain scenes may encourage seeking out spouse and/or significant other and kissing their face off."

    “There's a lot I don't understand... but not understanding is better than not believing”

    "Scripture comforts me, and romance novels give me hope."
    "Oh yeah? Hope for what?"
    "Hope that I'll be doing more than quoting scripture with Ambrose Young in the very near future".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Beautiful

    Wow. A beautiful story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Very Good!

    Very Good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Absolutely wonderful

    It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think. A wonderful read. What more can you ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Excellent

    ,-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    I happened upon this book by chance, and with all book I read th

    I happened upon this book by chance, and with all book I read the reviews before purchasing. And 2 reviews stood out and made me purchase this book.

    I could believe them about the crying and had to see for myself. I tough I can take it ... yeah okay ... not! Just like they wrote TEARS and more TEARS! (some snot too!) Be ready by the time LIVE and BE A HERO! Go to Penn State was also 'have tissue ready'! The character was well thought out ... I felt like I was in the book going thru and feeling what was written! I highly recommend this to everyone!  Every once in awhile a book like this is needed! 

    Now if you'll pardon me I need to go read some hot bike smut-fluff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Beautiful, Beautiful story.

    I loved this book. It WASN"T the same old, same old beautiful woman--handsome man. it was real, heartwarming, humerous and sad. Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    First of all, let me say WOW. This book is incredible. I couldn¿

    First of all, let me say WOW. This book is incredible. I couldn’t put it down. I know it has over 10,000 ratings on Goodreads, but I wonder if the author knows that she created a truly special story.

    I laughed, I cried, I giggled. When I picked up this ebook for 99 cents, (CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?!) I had no idea how much would affect me. Sale or no sale, Making Faces is worth your money and every second of the time you spend reading it.

    What a beautiful story. I think Amy Harmon might be my hero. I haven’t felt this invested in a story since I read The Fault in our Stars. So, way to go, Amy! You’re awesome!

    The Characters

    FERN – I loved Fern. She was nerdy and uncertain, yet so altruistic that it was impossible not to root for her. With red hair and freckles, and shorter than a fifth grader, she was a loveable, believable character from the start. I enjoyed watching her grow from her Ugly Girl Syndrome into someone confident and strong.

    BAILEY – Bailey is Fern’s cousin and best friend. He’s wheel chair bound since the age of 11 due to Muscular Dystrophy. He and Fern are inseparable, but Bailey is unforgettable. With a fresh outlook on life and a killer sense of humor, he often stole the show.

    AMBROSE – I have a thing for tortured souls, and Ambrose Young is the ultimate tortured male lead. (In fact, when I bought the book, I worried I wouldn’t like it just because it had a hot, half-naked guy on the cover. It drew me in, and then I was SO GLAD it wasn’t a smutty romance!)

    Ambrose…where do I begin? He’s an all-star wrestler in high school. He’s the champ of the town (and did I mention hot?). Everyone knows and loves Ambrose, but he always feels at risk of letting them down. So when the army recruiter comes to their school, Ambrose finally sees his way out.

    Then the unthinkable happens. Beautiful Ambrose Young gets half his face blown off by an IED in Iraq. An IED that takes the life of four of his friends.

    I’m going to stop the book report there because watching the story unfold is lovely. Every character has a purpose – even the tiny secondary characters were developed enough to make me cry. This book was like ripping off someone’s skin and seeing inside.

    I. Loved. Every. Second.

    Another thing that did me in was the innocence. It was a stripped down, raw kind of innocent, but so true in its observations. I don’t even know if that statement made sense.

    I believed it, though. The heartache, the hope, the impossible grief of losing someone you love and the gaping hole that’ll never be filled.

    Getting back to the innocence thing – Amy is a very clean writer. I don’t know how she manages to fill her books with so much honesty when they’re so inoffensive!

    I guess I could list some of the things I liked, instead of just rambling incoherently.

    Things I Liked:
    *The gentle use of religion throughout the book.
    *The beach scene with Ambrose, Fern, and Bailey.
    *Ambrose working in a bakery. There is something so adorable about a big, sexy, sexy man making cupcakes.
    *Fern writing romance novels.
    *Ambrose’s stepfather. This man—I felt so awful and so inspired by him.
    *Fern’s father, the pastor. If I could imagine a perfect pastor, it was this guy. Too bad there’s none around here like him.
    *Bailey and everything about Bailey. He reminded me a lot of Owen Meany, except a bit older.
    *Fern and Ambrose’s question game.
    *The honesty and patience it took for Fern and Ambrose to fall in love.

    You need this book in your life. It’s a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Beautiful story

    One of the best! Wish I could give 10 stars on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Holy, snotty nose and swollen eyes!

    Beautiful. Loved this story. No book has ever made me cry like this one, but it was worth the puffy eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Excellent

    Could not put it down. Definitely a page turner. I loved Ambrose and Fern. They were realistic and likeable! Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    This is much more than I expected

    This book goes beyond an entertaining story, something to lose youself in for a few hours, the impression left behind lasting no longer than the taste of a piece of bubble gum. It has the makings of real literature, so thank you, Ms. Harmon. Your writing did what art is supposed to do-shifted and broadened my perception of my world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8