Customer Reviews for

Making Faces

Average Rating 5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2006

    Great for beginners or veterans

    If you're looking for a book to help you become, or grow as, a makeup artist, this one is worth every penny. I'm fairly new to the beauty industry and I was shopping for a book that would help me sharpen my techniques as a makeup artist, so I called upon my best friend who happens to be a licensed aesthetician. This was the third book she pulled off the shelf. She decided that this one best fit my description of the ideal book for me. I read it in a day and have reread certain parts of it over and over. I've even loaned it to an employee who simply needs more experience and confidence. The photos are stunning, but the most important feature is the instruction. Diagrams throughout the book help with placement and technique. Kevyn Aucoin treats the reader like a graduate student. He's conversational yet instructive. He doesn't assume the reader knows everything, but is never condescending. A colleague of mine, who also owns this book, called it 'the guide for the person who already has a clue.'

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The most generous artist

    When I found this book, I was concerned about the picture in my college certificate, since the first picture I have was not quite adecuate for me, due to my round face, but I followed every step in this book and the
    result was sensational, so I am so grateful to the autor, because he make me feel like a beauty, He puts in his book all about make up and beyond,
    he is so generous with the instructions and tips, so its realy a treasure to have it. I think he founds beauty in every person he see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Fun and Realistic

    This is, without a doubt, the most incredible cosmetics book on the market. It's so well written with personal stories that will make you laugh. All of the combination of looks in this book are positively reachable! This book was so much fun and it is timeless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Wife loved it.

    She loved the book and said it has alot of useful information!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Just okay

    I bought the Bobbi brown as well and liked it more. This book had good pictures, however, the book was not as easy to use. it did not break things down well ( ie eyes, cheeks, etc). It may be good for special occasions like Halloween, to get ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Easy to follow and recreate!

    I purchased this book in-store on a recommendation from a photographer, and I've been very pleased with it. I've found the instructions easy to follow, and the looks outlined equally easy to recreate. I would recommend this to anyone in the modeling and photographry industry as a manual to have on-hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Awesome Makeup book for any reader!

    This book is really awesome for someone looking to have some extra added makeup tips and new looks!! I really like the books layout and how it has easy to follow step by step directions on how to achieve pretty much any look! My husband got it for me to give me ideas on new makeup looks. I think this book would be great for a beginnner who maybe was never shown the works when it came to makeup. There is alot of different things that a be done to fresher or make your makeup look updated and new!! I believe this would be a great gift and also a great coffee book table book because when friends come over they can just glance through it for a few minutes and get tips and ideas for their makeup. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for new and improved ideas to freshen their look! All from going out on the town to just an everyday simple look. There are also tips for just keeping your makeup on longer and still looking great!! Great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great pictures!

    Lots of pictures but no real detail or steps to help implement the looks.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Great!!!

    This is such an amazing book. He has such cool makeup ideas, and I learned a lot of techniques. Also a fun book to read, lots of stuff to make you laugh. Great pictures also! This is an outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Beauty is not just skin deep...

    Beauty is known for skin deep(NOT TRUE). I as a young women 'I love make-up' and without it I don't feel beautiful. Well I like to apply my make-up in many different ways and I'm not a proffesional. so when I discover the book Making Faces by Kevyn Aucoin it made me look like I got my make-up done by a proffesional everyday; People now as me were I get my make-up done all the time. Kevyn Aucoin your #1 Thank you Wendy Luna, NY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    Great Job

    His book really assisted my in developing my make-up application techniques. And gave me new ideas for going further!!! Excellent!!!! Thanks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Tana Watson-Claymont High School

    Kevyns books really inspiried me i wish to become as great as an artist as he is he is truly a caring and fun person and lived a wonderful life. there will never be another like him!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    a gift from god for makeup

    I was given Kevin's book from a friend and i cant count how many times i've looked through it and used it, the instructions are so easy to follow and you can completely custimize his styles to fit your own face and pocket book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    A MUST- SEE

    By far, Kevyn Aucoin was one of the few who put the artist back in make-up artist. His mission was clear to show the world that everyone can be beautiful. Anyone who hasn't seen his work before would be amazed there was so much talent in just one person. He will be greatly missed by all, both in the industry and out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    Making Faces

    Kevyn really did a good job with this book. He explained everything so clearly and the pictures were magnificent. It's really sad to know he's gone. His work was unbelievable. His book inspires me to look my absolute best at all times. The illustrations and tips in the book are easy for beginners and those that are more advanced with makeup. This book is awesome and will always be a part of my life! Since I've been using some of his techniques I've gotten so many compliments on my look. A couple people even said I looked like a movie star. Many thanks to Kevyn. R.I.P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    Making Faces

    This is a great book for people who love to play around with makeup, do their friends makeup, or do their own. It's fun to look at, easy to follow, and has great ideas. The insturctions can be applied to anyone, and no special abilities are requir

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    Outstanding!!!!

    This book is the most amazing book! I could not put it down in the store and had to buy it! It is the ultimate guide to makeup. Kevyn is God's gift to women (and men)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2000

    KEVYN AUCOIN MAKE-UP GENIUS

    Kevyn's book is the true beauty book! All makeup is done by the master, unlike other makeup books for teenagers. I can't wait for Kevyn's newest book, FACE FORWARD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2000

    A GREAT Guide to beauty and A LOT of fun!!

    As a teenager I learned so much about how to put on makeup in a natural and not overdone was and I also learned to be creative with makeup because, It's fun!!I had a lot of fun with this book and loved the layout and the easy to use step by step guides with the great pictures!Kevyn is a brilliant make up artist!Looking at some of the other beauty books out there this one is by far the best because it is fun and easy!My friends and I had many a fun night giving each other makeovers using the ideas in this book.Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    Awsome is the only word to describe it!

    Kevyn is a true artist....he see's true beauty in everyone....this book is a make up artist's bible....i would recommend it to anyone...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2