Customer Reviews for

Making Him Sweat (Harlequin Blaze Series #740)

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Making Him Sweat I was provided a digital copy of this book by

    Making Him Sweat

    I was provided a digital copy of this book by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Sweet love story. Its sweetness was countered by the offputting graphic language during the love scenes.
    I'm all for graphic descriptions - I am not afraid of the f-bomb. But the language (not the descriptions, mind you,
    which were honestly relatively tame) felt completely out of place when compared to the rest of the story.

    I like the detail of Jenna getting to know her father through his letters, and the somewhat realistic detail of both
    Jenna and Mercer feeling like they could get over the relationship fairly quickly, just by not acknowledging that
    they were serious about each other.

    There could have been some more wrap-up at the end, but I'm thinking that perhaps some of those things will
    be in the beginning of the next book, to give readers some continuity.

    All in all, I enjoyed the book and would read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    Jenna inherited a building from her estranged dad and knew it wo

    Jenna inherited a building from her estranged dad and knew it would be the perfect home for her new business venture. It was currently the home of Willinski's Fight Academy and she would have the fight of her life trying to close it down. She makes a deal with the man currently running the gym; make a profit by the end of December, or she closes it down. She already knows her matchmaking business will be ready to claim the spot.
    Mercer not only has the gym to deal with, but now Jenna as well. As they're in a constant tug of war over the gym, each with their own agenda, they become closer and the attraction becomes more intense. The sex is always intense, but they think they can keep it casual, with no strings attached. Ms. Maguire makes you look forward to the sex scenes with your own warm glow, which makes you speed right through them in no time! I love the push and pull relationship between Mercer and Jenna. It's sweet and fun and will keep you smiling from beginning to end. Making Him Sweat is another great read from Meg Maguire and she always has me impatiently waiting, but always looking forward to, each and every new release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Strikes the right spot!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    She's hitting below the belt... Round 1

    In this corner is admittedly romantic Jenna Wilinski, who's inherited a rather seedy boxing gym from her estranged father. With it, she can realize her dream of launching an upscale matchmaking business...provided she can take on the very intimidating-and wickedly hot-boxer who stands in her way!

    Round 2

    In the far corner is former pro boxer Mercer Rowley. He's the only one who can protect his "home"-even if it is a little run down-from his determined and feisty little opponent. But man, once the gloves come off, his hands just want to touch her everywhere...

    Round 3

    This matchup is too close to call. But no matter which contender comes out on top, the other is sure to enjoy every minute of it...

    REVIEW:

    You know, this has been on my ‘to-be-read’ list for a few weeks and I’m officially kicking myself for not reading it sooner. Once I picked it up, I was unable to tear away from the pages. It was so full of just the right amount of chemistry, and the perfect dose of drama. I loved how the author wasn’t afraid to hold back, and made the characters seem so real.

    The steamy scenes were a pure bonus in this piece as well, and I love how Ms. Maguire crafted the entire piece so perfectly.

    If you are looking for a book that is unlike anything else on the market, one that will set the bar for others to follow, make sure you pick this piece up TODAY.

    Five out of five stars for a job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Making Him Sweat by talented author Meg Maguire was a fun, fast

    Making Him Sweat by talented author Meg Maguire was a fun, fast paced romantic comedy endorsing the theory that ‘you cant judge a book by its cover’! 
    When forlorn, driven Jenna Wilinski, entered her father's domain, Wilinski's Fight Academy, her plan had been to evict the current tenant, and failing business, and create a new thriving business venture. Her disdainful feelings for Wilinksi's stemmed from her biased impression of who she felt her father was. Her jaded view of its occupants was equally condescending and dismissive. 
    What she wasn't prepared for was her visceral response to the current GM, impressively virile, yet mischievous Mercer Rowley.  Her emotional journey through all he would unearth, particularly concerning her father, was intense, yet he also challenged her preconceived ideas on her ideal love. 
    Despite having spent twenty years hearing about the diversely talented Jenna from her regretful father, his beloved mentor, Mercer was not prepared for the woman now in his path. His predictable, controlled world, his home and his future was about to change; both literally, with the looming loss of the gym, but also emotionally from the growing attraction to beautiful Jenna. She left him confused, threatened and surprisingly captivated. 
    Could their predicament be held together by love, or would the impending desolation of Wilinski's create irrevocably guaranteed distance?
    Making Him Sweat was a well paced, truly enjoyable read, with believable, loveable characters, fused together with humor and some deliciously sizzling moments as well. Yum! Meg Maguire has a beautiful way with words. Her metaphors were elegant and often quietly poignant. She didn’t clutter the story with extraneous words and the honest and witty repartee was credible and refreshingly real. This will not be the last Meg Maguire book I read, and I warmly recommend this book to those who love a delicious romance with just the right touch of tension and angst, and sensual heat as well. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Thi

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    This is the first book in a series that centres around MMA. You know what that means, right? Hot, sweaty, half naked men. I’m there. ~ Under the Covers

    MAKING HIM SWEAT is the first book in a brand new series by Meg Maguire. It’s a series that centres around MMA. You know what that means, right? Hot, sweaty, half naked men. I’m there.
    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Another big reason why I decided to read this book is because of the author. I’m a huge fan of Maguire’s authorial voice. A lot of detail is spent on the everyday goings of life and how a hero and a heroine discover chemistry and passion within each other. A Meg Maguire book also explores the past in slow detail, outlining the events in their lives that have made them who they are today.

    Jenna Wilinski is hoping to start her new matchmaking business where her father made a home for his MMA fighters. Mercer Rowley is one of them and the man whom her father trusted with his pride and joy. With Jenna’s plans to take over, there seems to be a little tension in there. But that also includes the sexual kind.

    To be honest, Jenna felt a little overshadowed by Mercer. He really stole the show for me. I absolutely adored him! I loved the way he handled Jenna. As someone who is uptight and unsure of her place in her father’s surroundings, Mercer really digs deep and finds the true person beneath. I loved how her father seemed to play a part in bringing them together in a way.

    I’m very excited to get my hands on TAKING HIM DOWN, which will be Rich’s story. I can expect only good things from Maguire!

    *ARC provided by Netgalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1