BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Making It Last: A Novella

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love books about marriage because there are so few of them out

I love books about marriage because there are so few of them out there. Making It Last was intense with real feelings and emotions and an accurate portrayal of what marriage can be like. I found myself relating to Amber a lot. I have been married for 14 years and have t...
I love books about marriage because there are so few of them out there. Making It Last was intense with real feelings and emotions and an accurate portrayal of what marriage can be like. I found myself relating to Amber a lot. I have been married for 14 years and have two children and there are times I just want a break. I thought Ruthie did a fantastic job of capturing Amber and Tony in this stage of their lives – married with children in a struggling economic environment.  Ruthie stayed true to their characters from How To Misbehave, and shows us that marriage is hard work but so worth it.

In Making It Last, Ruthie writes about how deep love goes between two people and how life can test that love. Married couples will appreciate this book. Those yet to be married will get a glimpse of how intense marriage is – both on the positive and negative.  I think Tony and Amber show that for all those downs there are a millions ups. They also teach us the importance of communication and working as a team. We also get to see that intimacy can be even better when you are with someone you know so well. Making It Last was an incredible story. If you are looking for something beyond just fun and flirty, pick up a copy of Making It Last and see how two people learn how to make their marriage last.

posted by AMR0406 on July 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Had Its Moments

Since I read all the books in the series with varying opinions of them, I bought this Novella as the finale... My opinion (I am a grandmother of five) is that it is a dramatization of real life... When people get married and have a family there are trials of every sort ...
Since I read all the books in the series with varying opinions of them, I bought this Novella as the finale... My opinion (I am a grandmother of five) is that it is a dramatization of real life... When people get married and have a family there are trials of every sort and every magnitude that they must face... If you chose the right partner you survive... I think based on 58 years of marriage that this was a little too much Hollywood... BYW I am still in love with my husband and he tells me every day how much he loves me... Just didn't want anybody to think my review was sour grapes...

posted by SaraBetty on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Fantastic book and series!!

    Fantastic book and series. Love Ruthie Knox books!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    This is a story...an epilogue...the characters first had a short

    This is a story...an epilogue...the characters first had a short story about how they met. This is about years later, married with kids, struggling with finances. He is working so many hours just to make ends meet, he is never ever home. She is so immersed in taking care of the kids and the home she has lost herself in the process.

    How does a couple survive this? How does a couple still love each other with all this?

    This is a beautiful, deeply moving story about how they try to get themselves back, how they try to get each other back. There were moments where I cried with her because I have been at the bottom too, every mother or caretaker has. I cried for him because he saw no way of getting out of working so much just so he can provide for the family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely!  This book is part of a trend I am calling mid-marriage

    Lovely! 

    This book is part of a trend I am calling mid-marriage books in romance.  Books like Summer in Sonoma, Under the Mistletoe, and
     Alone Time. All very good. 

    These aren't really marriage on the rocks books (although they might take place in rough patches) or reconciliation books but more
    about  the deeper more layered falling in love that happens again  in the middle of a long term union that bustle with the everyday as
     well as the extraordinary. 

    These books are achey and when well done raw and real but with the kind of happily ever after that is utterly believable.  

    In Knox's able hands, this love story from this theme is all the things that are great about it and we get to revisit a couple from the very
    start of this series which is always fun.   

    I put off reading this book because I don't always want to hurt a little bit but when I settled into into I found love, tenderness, and hope.
     Who could ask for more? 

    There are a few parts of the book that read more like philosophical musing on marriage and take us out of the narrative and character a
    bit. They are well written and smart pondering but  this space could have been used for more couple time I think and less time in the
     interior to make this a five star book for me.

    I was given this book for my honest review. So, there you have it. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    I love books about marriage because there are so few of them out

    I love books about marriage because there are so few of them out there. Making It Last was intense with real feelings and emotions and an accurate portrayal of what marriage can be like. I found myself relating to Amber a lot. I have been married for 14 years and have two children and there are times I just want a break. I thought Ruthie did a fantastic job of capturing Amber and Tony in this stage of their lives – married with children in a struggling economic environment.  Ruthie stayed true to their characters from How To Misbehave, and shows us that marriage is hard work but so worth it.

    In Making It Last, Ruthie writes about how deep love goes between two people and how life can test that love. Married couples will appreciate this book. Those yet to be married will get a glimpse of how intense marriage is – both on the positive and negative.  I think Tony and Amber show that for all those downs there are a millions ups. They also teach us the importance of communication and working as a team. We also get to see that intimacy can be even better when you are with someone you know so well. Making It Last was an incredible story. If you are looking for something beyond just fun and flirty, pick up a copy of Making It Last and see how two people learn how to make their marriage last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    How many of you have wonder after reading a story, "Hmm, I

    How many of you have wonder after reading a story, "Hmm, I wonder what happen to them?" Probably not to often, but it Ruthie Knox's newest novella we get to see what happens to Amber and Tony Mazzara. You might remember Tony as "the Italian Stallion" and Amber as "innocent Bambi-like" from How to Misbehave. Well, we get to see their story 14 years later in Making It Last. 
    In this story, we get a chance to see how romance can survive after being together for so long. Yes, I did said "for so long." Since most marriages are lucky to last more than five years these days. Anyways, Making It Last is beautiful writing. I mean you get a real sense of Amber and Tony trying to make what they have last. I love how Ms. Knox doesn't sugar-coat a happy ending, but the characters really have to work at making their ending happy just like real marriages. So, I'm excited to see a story that could possibly happen. Don't get me wrong, I love those sugar-coated happy endings, but it's nice to see characters trying to make their relationship last.
    Here's the bottom line: If you have ever wonder what would happen when an author revisits past characters and gave them a little more depth to their stories, you might want to check out Making It Last. However, I would suggest reading Amber and Tony's start before jumping into the next chapter of their life if you haven't already.

    Copy provide by Random House via NetGalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Making It Last

    Lisa Hines's review Jul 09, 13 · edit
    4 of 5 stars
    bookshelves: netgalley
    Read from July 04 to 05, 2013, read count: 1

    Making It Last by Ruthie Knox is the fourth book in her Camelot series.
    This book takes us back into the lives of Amber and Tony 10 years after we met them and watched them fall in love. They are in Jamaica for the wedding of Caleb (Amber's brother) and Ellen. Amber is close to having a meltdown and a well-off aunt arranges for her and Tony to stay in Jamaica after everyone else leaves sans kids and rekindle their marriage. Tony leaves too, however, worried that his company will fall apart and make money even tighter than it already is. The kids freak out that mom & dad are getting a divorce and Tony realizes that what he thought was just a chance to relax for Amber may be the thing that finally separates them for good. He flies back to Jamaica to reclaim his wife and then the role-playing begins.
    This book deals with old love. We all appreciate the warm and fuzzies with new love, but not many books deal with the tediousness of everyday lives after YEARS together. Thanks Ruthie! I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1