Customer Reviews for

Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read for both the animal and non-animal lover

I was fortunate enough to read an early copy of this book. This is a beautiful book that meant a great deal to me on a number of levels. Currently, I have a mother with Alzheimer's and this book really allowed me to think about this disease from a different perspective....
I was fortunate enough to read an early copy of this book. This is a beautiful book that meant a great deal to me on a number of levels. Currently, I have a mother with Alzheimer's and this book really allowed me to think about this disease from a different perspective. Though the book tells Oscar's remarkable story, I found myself even more drawn to the stories of the caregivers. "Be present" is a reminder in the book on dealing with loved ones with Alzheimer's. At times, it is difficult for me to grasp the concept that I may be one those individuals with this disease. I think about my mom and grandmother both women who were diagnosed at a young age. I think about the future and my children...be present and live in the moment as Oscar reminds us to do everyday. I hope you will find this book as meaningful and inspiring as I have.

posted by 2819378 on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Too much Alzheimers patients, Not enough Oscar

If you picked up this book because you are a cat lover and were excited to learn more about this fasciniting cat, you will be sorely disappointed. This book is more accurately a memoir of a doctor specializing in geriatrics who shares with us his case notes on his elde...
If you picked up this book because you are a cat lover and were excited to learn more about this fasciniting cat, you will be sorely disappointed. This book is more accurately a memoir of a doctor specializing in geriatrics who shares with us his case notes on his elderly patients. At the end of each chapter it feels like he tacks on a token "Oh yeah, and when the patient died Oscar was there and that was quite interesting". That's it. He spends very little of the book pondering the mystery of this cat phenomena. If you have had some life experience with an Alzheimers patient, you will probably find this book quite touching. But if you wanted a good read about a cat, go read Dewey the Library Cat.

posted by beebee24 on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oscar

    Having been in the medical profession for many years I was fascinated by Oscar's intuitiveness to those that were in need of his comfort as they were dying even if they weren't aware of his presence. Animals do have an ability that we a humans don't possess. They know when they are needed and Oscar shows that not only for the patient but the family members of the dying patient also.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Oscar the Nursing Home Cat

    I had been curious about this book ever since I'd seen it written about in newspapers and one of my professional laboratory journals. When I saw that Oscar was being written about in a book I just had to have it. I believe the author presented his research about what made Oscar go to people in their last hours effectively. There was never a definitive conclusion made about why Oscar did what he did but several possibilities were presented. I enjoyed this book immensely and have recommended it to several of my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Great book!

    Book was very good for those who know of friends and/or family suffering from dementia and for those who love animals. It was an easy read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Everyone has a gift - Oscar's may be unique

    Making Rounds with Oscar starts out as a mystery - can an ordinary cat predict when residents on the dementia floor of a nursing home are about to die? Dr. David Dosa, an avowed dog-person and one of the doctors on the floor, decides to use his science-minded approach to things and find out.

    The remainder of the book documents Dosa's conversations with various of Oscar's "patients," during which he learns a lot more about the ravages of the diseases he deals with every day, dementia and Alzheimer's, and the cruel toll it can take on the families of its victims.

    At the end of the day, is it really important how Oscar does what he does, or just that he knows enough to do it for "his" family, the residents of the Steere House Nursing and Rehabilitation Center? For those on the dementia floor who are at the end of life's journey, having Oscar there to help them along on that final journey is enough. We should all thank Dr. Dosa for allowing us to share a little of it with him. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Very enjoyable!!

    Oscar's story is nothing short of amazing. Story after story of patients and their families pays tribute to this extraordinary feline. The narrator, an actual medical doctor, does not accept Oscar's "talent" and goes on a poignant journey to discover the truth. What he finds will change his perception of medicine and of life. Move over, Dewey!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    An Important Lesson

    Have you lost someone you loved? Did you feel overwhelmed? This book answers so many of those type of questions. Oscar was able to sense when the end was near and exactly what to do. Just by being there Oscar was able to give patients what they needed. There didn't have to be final words; just unconditional love. This amazing cat did what human beings can't always do. He was simply there to help ease the patient into the next world. A good read for those needing a reason to believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Making The Rounds With Oscar

    Getting old is the one thing we can't escape. No matter how many vitamins we take or energy drinks we consume or how often we lie about our age, we are going to get old. Our physical and maybe even mental health will eventually deteriorate. It happens. And it happens to me, I would love to have a cat like Oscar curl up next to me.

    I really enjoyed Making Rounds with Oscar it was a very fast read. It was a bit depressing to read about the brutally real end of life situations, but at the same time, having Oscar there made it more of an uplifting experience for so many of the family members. Even though I am not really a cat person, I really hope that when my time comes there is an "Oscar" by my side to help my family deal with it all. The book is compassionately written and you can tell that the Good Doctor genuinely cares for the people in his care and their families. It is refreshing to read. Thank you, Dr. Dosa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    Good for animal lovers

    good for animal lovers

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    Interesting

    Many things in this world we haven't figured out yet. There is probably a good explanation for this. The cat seemed determined to be near the dying, while the other ones in the building weren't interested, so I would say there was something to it.
    I found the book interesting and well-written and I read the whole thing. The story could probably have been a little shorter, but all in all, I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2