BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read for both the animal and non-animal lover

I was fortunate enough to read an early copy of this book. This is a beautiful book that meant a great deal to me on a number of levels. Currently, I have a mother with Alzheimer's and this book really allowed me to think about this disease from a different perspective....
I was fortunate enough to read an early copy of this book. This is a beautiful book that meant a great deal to me on a number of levels. Currently, I have a mother with Alzheimer's and this book really allowed me to think about this disease from a different perspective. Though the book tells Oscar's remarkable story, I found myself even more drawn to the stories of the caregivers. "Be present" is a reminder in the book on dealing with loved ones with Alzheimer's. At times, it is difficult for me to grasp the concept that I may be one those individuals with this disease. I think about my mom and grandmother both women who were diagnosed at a young age. I think about the future and my children...be present and live in the moment as Oscar reminds us to do everyday. I hope you will find this book as meaningful and inspiring as I have.

posted by 2819378 on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Too much Alzheimers patients, Not enough Oscar

If you picked up this book because you are a cat lover and were excited to learn more about this fasciniting cat, you will be sorely disappointed. This book is more accurately a memoir of a doctor specializing in geriatrics who shares with us his case notes on his elde...
If you picked up this book because you are a cat lover and were excited to learn more about this fasciniting cat, you will be sorely disappointed. This book is more accurately a memoir of a doctor specializing in geriatrics who shares with us his case notes on his elderly patients. At the end of each chapter it feels like he tacks on a token "Oh yeah, and when the patient died Oscar was there and that was quite interesting". That's it. He spends very little of the book pondering the mystery of this cat phenomena. If you have had some life experience with an Alzheimers patient, you will probably find this book quite touching. But if you wanted a good read about a cat, go read Dewey the Library Cat.

posted by beebee24 on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    Excellent read for both the animal and non-animal lover

    I was fortunate enough to read an early copy of this book. This is a beautiful book that meant a great deal to me on a number of levels. Currently, I have a mother with Alzheimer's and this book really allowed me to think about this disease from a different perspective. Though the book tells Oscar's remarkable story, I found myself even more drawn to the stories of the caregivers. "Be present" is a reminder in the book on dealing with loved ones with Alzheimer's. At times, it is difficult for me to grasp the concept that I may be one those individuals with this disease. I think about my mom and grandmother both women who were diagnosed at a young age. I think about the future and my children...be present and live in the moment as Oscar reminds us to do everyday. I hope you will find this book as meaningful and inspiring as I have.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Thought provoking and comforting

    I heard about Oscar the cat on the nightly news, so when I saw the title of the book, I just had to read it.
    It was everything that I expected and more.
    Dr Dosa was a skeptic at first and after many interactions with Oscar and his presence at the time of a patient's death he could no longer ignore that somethings cannot be explained.
    Dr. Dosa does bring scientific theory into why this cat chooses to spend time with the patients at the end of their lifes, but the reader will draw their own conclusions.
    I have recommended this book to many friends.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Well-written and informative

    Making Rounds with Oscar was an easy read, very informative and inspirational. It is excellent for audiances young and old, who know someone with alzheimers or not. I personally have not had a friend or family member with alzheimers but through Dr Dosa's account of Oscar I feel enlightened about the disease. I strongly suggest making this book apart of your reperture and will read it over and over for years to come. Congratulations David!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I love this book. I recommend it for anyone who has a family member with memory loss and loves animals. They, our pets, know more than we think they do.

    I read a brief review of this book and the title caught my eye because I'm a cat lover. The subject matter interested me, too, because our family is experiencing other members' memory loss of varying degrees and for different reasons. I feel the book was written very well, and as I read, I could tell Dr. Dosa was changing his opinion of Oscar. It was written with respect for the patients and their families, but also with a sense of humor. I will read it again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent read

    this book is wonderful. It is well written and touches everyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Beautiful!

    This is a beautiful, sensitive, insightful and practical book about the emotions and intricacies of responding to the dementia of a loved one. Although the intuition of Oscar the cat is the apparent focal point of the story, it turns out that through the cat we may well learn what it means to be truly human in the face of the frightening prospect of Alzheimer's.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    amazing!!!

    This book is simply amazing!!! It was so well written and you feel like you are right by the side of each patient while you read the book!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Fantastic book about a phenomenal cat - recommended to everyone!

    I found Oscar (the book) at a friend's house who is caring for his elderly mother - she's in a nursing home - and though I am not a cat lover I found the story of this doctor at the nursing home who discovers a cat that comforts the terminally ill patients so moving. This is a terrific book - I recommend it to everyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Clever title

    Wonderful insight on the animal/human bond that goes largely unspoken. I learned a lot about the human mind as well as animal senses that we know little about. Very touching and enlightening reading. I have already recommended this book to others.....cat lovers or not.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Perceptive Cat and Compassionate Physician

    After only a couple of pages I was hooked. As a nurse and a cat lover, I could appreciate the story on more than one level. However, the author does not bombard the reader with difficult technical language.

    Doctor Dosa also weaves a bit of his own personal philosophy into the story. The reader will walk away both encouraged and challenged.

    Oscar models a behavior that any human could adopt. At the end of life, people need a non-judgmental presence to ease them to the next world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    Great Book "Must Read"

    You Must Read This Book

    My Mother suffered from alzheimers and was confined to an extended care facility. Months before passing my Mother did not know me. I would ask her if she knew me and she would laugh saying, "I know you, you", not acknowledging that I was her only child. When she passed I was alone with her, holding her hand and assuring her that everything was going to be okay. I believe she heard me and understood I was her only child and that I was there holding her hand. I believe sharing this end of life experience with Oscar would have helped ease my sorrow."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Oscar is amazing

    My mother has dimentia. I thought I knew a lot about it, but Dr. Dosa gave me so much more information. What Oscar does is amazing. I recommend this book to anyone with friends and relatives who have dimentia or Alzheimers. I'm giving copies to my sisters and sons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    The title is misleading in my opinion. It is not just about a special cat, it is much more. Helping the ones left behind understand when a loved one has dementia.

    I found this book to be very helpful in understanding the process of dementia my father was going thru the last six months before he passed away. We had no idea we were dealing with dementia in him until after 3 months of rehab when a psychiatric evaluation was finally done because he was not improving from an ankle injury. He would forget how to do the rehab exercises and would tell us everyday that they were not working with him, even when we would sit with him at rehab. The doctor in the book, writes about what is really happening inside a persons mind when they are going from "mild dementia" to alzheimer. We lost our father before he reached the point of not recognizing us. But his, what we thought stubborn attitude at the time, was really his dementia. We would get angry at him because we did not know any differently. This book helped me/us understand what was happening. I would recommend it to everyone who may need to deal with or understand what is happening in a person during this time or to comfort someone they know dealing with someone like this. The doctor writes it very well and Oscar is an added bonus and diversion of the seriousness about this topic. Our Dad had an "Oscar" at his nursing home (actually named Taffy). We are very grateful to Taffy for seeing our Dad thru his journey. This book came out right after our Father passed and I know we would have done a few things differently.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oscar

    This is the story of Oscar. He lives with other cats at a nursing home. He is extraordinary. He goes to rooms of residents who are about to pass away. He sits on their bed until they pass. He gives them comfort and love with asking nothing in return.

    He gives comfort to the loved ones also. He is a cat but knows what his special job is.

    I really liked this story. Oscar gives you a lot to think about. He is a pet but gives love. He just wants to be with that person who is dying. He just seems to know who needs him and when.

    I give this book 5 stars.

    I think we need to cherish our pets. They are here to love us and give us company. They only want us to love them back. Protect them and care for them.

    I love my kittie, Callie. She has her moments when she drives me crazy then she does something to make me laugh. I love her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    GREAT READ!!!

    This little book is a fast read and one I will never forget. It gives us an inside view of nursing homes and coping with Alzheimer's on the part of nurses, doctors, patients and patient families. And with all our technology and advances in medicine it is the simple things that give most pleasure and comfort. I heartily agree with the author -- "at the end of my days, I prefer the cat over the ICU."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Purr..fect

    Like the author, I am more of a dog person than a cat person. As I read this book about the author's experiences with this unique cat, I found a new appreciation for these mysterious felines. Dr Dosa was at first skeptical of a tale of a cat who seemed to know when Dr Dosa's patients in the nursing home where about to die. Oscar, the cat, would regularly show up in the patient's room and keep them company during their final hours. Being a man of science, Dr Dosa, with a good amount of skepticism, began to research the many cases of Oscar's vigils. The stories of grieving families who found solace and relief in this extraordinary cat, made a true believer of the doctor and this reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Dr. Dosa is -not- a researcher, he is a primary care physician,

    Dr. Dosa is -not- a researcher, he is a primary care physician, he gives a factual, open-minded account of how his inquiries into the behavior of the cat, Oscar, brought him to the realization of how the profound effect of caring for a loved-one with Alzheimer's-related dementia affects those responsible for the care decisions. Being a "cat-person" and having cared for a parent with Alzheimer's, I have to say, "Good story about the cat - but most importantly, an exceptional insight into the effect of Alzheimer's-related dementia on not only the patient, but the caregivers as well." God bless you Dr. Dosa, for writing this book, and to floor director-nurse Mary for bringing Oscar to his attention, because this brought the book about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    This is one of the best books I  have ever read.  It gives the r

    This is one of the best books I  have ever read.  It gives the reader an insight on families of dementia patients and the comfort a cat (Oscar) the cat gives.  It is heart warming and perceptive.  Loved it.  I will be passing it along to friends and reading it over again myself. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    David Dosa M.D. along with Oscar has taught me about the toll th

    David Dosa M.D. along with Oscar has taught me about the toll that Alzheimer's and dementia can have not only on the patient but on the caregiver and family members alike. I appreciate Dr. Dosa teaching the fundamentals about Alzheimers and the ability to put a human face on such a dreadful disease. Oscar is many things to the patients, as well as, to caregivers/family members in the form of comfort, companionship, a way of distraction from the illness, and maybe to some degree a bond between family members, as well as, possibly providing the Alzheimer's patient at the time of death a transition between life and death. Dr. Dosa's addresses many aspects of morally dealing with providing care for a sick loved one and addresses issues, such as anger, guilt, depression...all that encompass the end of life care and grieving process. I found this book very helpful in gaining understanding from the perspective of the caregiver/family member(s) who are/were responsible for their family member. There were some humorous moments, as well as, somber. I highly recommend this book. It is well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Much more than a cat story...

    I found myself awake til midnight reading this book. Insightful for anyone caring for elderly parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5