Customer Reviews for

Making Waves (Lake Manawa Summers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A delightful read!

Marguerite Westing seems bent to break all the elite set's rules for proper young ladies in 1895. She is a smart, capable, young lady and doesn't see any reason to pretend otherwise. When Marguerite Westing's father decides the family is spending the summer at Lake Mana...
Marguerite Westing seems bent to break all the elite set's rules for proper young ladies in 1895. She is a smart, capable, young lady and doesn't see any reason to pretend otherwise. When Marguerite Westing's father decides the family is spending the summer at Lake Manawa, Iowa, she is thrilled. It fits right in with her plan to avoid suitor Roger Gordon - the most boring man she's ever met. Her mother keeps pushing him at her and she can't seem to escape him when he follows her family to the lake. She's not the least bit attracted to him. In fact, she can barely tolerate him. However, he seems intent on winning her hand in marriage. Her mother won't listen to her objections and she finally stops voicing them. She knows that her father understands and won't let her marry a man who put the "bore" in boring and that she doesn't love, so she puts off doing the inevitable.

There is a plethora of things to do at the lake - and her mother seems determined to put the kibosh on her plans to partake of them. Her brother gets to do whatever he wants and he's only twelve. All because he's a boy. It simply is not fair. Being a woman should not disqualify one from participating in fun and interesting activities.

Despite the fact that the forced outings with Roger are mind-numbing and wearisome, Marguerite avoids telling her mother and Roger the truth about not wanting to marry him. She talks her father into taking her on a sailboat, and she falls in love with sailing, and soon after, a certain handsome sailing instructor. She escapes camp and her mother's influence and finagles a way to do what she wants. Will she weave a web that she finds herself caught in?

Her summer of fun quickly turns to heartache, when she learns her father's secrets. Will she be forced to give up the man she's fallen in love with and marry Roger just to save her family? Or will she learn to trust God in all things and follow her heart -even if it means hurting the family she loves?

This book was an absolute delight to read. It has it all - history, romance, humor, and some suspense. If you like any of those things - this book is a must read for you. The story drew me in and I was transported back to 1895 at Lake Manawa, Iowa. I'm looking forward to the next book in this series. Congratulations, Lorna, on your first novel. Well done!

posted by Susan_Hollaway on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Good book with 280 pages.

posted by 14911476 on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    3 1/2 stars

    Great summer time read. Sweet love story with some very different twists. The ending will keep you on the edge of your seat.
    This is a good book for most women, young or old. Very entertaining. I am looking foreward to her next book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Excellent

    This book had the whole package. It was funny, sweet and romantic, and mysterious at times!
    Blush Rating: PG
    I recommend this book to all ages!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Engaging and fun - a must-read for historical romance readers!

    Seilstad's unique setting, intriguing characters, and easy-to-read style kept me engaged from start to finish. Her descriptions put you in Iowa so that you feel the summer heat and the cool lake water. You don't simply watch the characters interact, you get to know and care for them, thanks to Seilstad's careful crafting. A must-read for lovers of historical romance - you won't want to miss "Making Waves".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Anonymous

    Was a sweet and innocent romance. Worth reading. Enjoyed it very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    An excellent summer book

    Loved being transported back to the 1800's. If you enjoy stories about the simple pleasures of summer, read this.
    Anna

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great beach/pool read

    Quick and easy read with a little bit of drama to keep you interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2015

    Good story

    Great message. The truth will set you free. Lies, even white lies, are wrong. It is a better policy to be up front with people, rather than telling half-truths, or small lies to spare someone's feelings in the short run.
    Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Lauren

    "I gotta go..." she runs out. O.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Good

    This was a good Christian romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    funny book but good

    it was a relaxing book to read and I thoroughly enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Enjoyable

    ---

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Camping at Manawa

    So enjoyed this book. I love the fact that this was a place that really existed and much of the plot used that history. It is a clean and wholesome book with a good love story but also insight into how women were perceived and treated when it came to marriage. Of course I am always amazed at the class system and how they operated. This has a Christian theme to it which I also enjoyed very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Good Read

    Romance with a lot of mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Good read

    Fast and enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Making Waves was a really cute historical romance novel. It had

    Making Waves was a really cute historical romance novel. It had everything that a Christian Romance novel should have: a horrible suitor, a mysterious and handsome hero, a feisty and adventurous heroin, and plenty of Christian values thrown in.

    I've never been sailing, but I was able to appreciate Marguerite's love of it from the way the author describes everything so well. Marguerite is a disaster most of the book. She stirs up trouble (albeit mostly unintentional) wherever she goes, she is perpetually late for everything, and has this very unladylike love of the water and sailing.

    The challenges and restrictions placed on women during this time period were well described. Women should not go swimming, sailing, or do anything other than sit around and chat with one another. While other women do not even seem to notice the restrictions placed on them, Marguerite is not one for sticking to the expectations of others. She wants to live life to the fullest and she fully plans on doing so, whether it is proper or not.

    Roger was a perfectly horrible suitor. He was boring, self-centered, and rude. He even became a heartless and violent towards the end.

    Trip was a nicely flawed hero that I couldn't help but love. Besides being handsome, he also sports a wicked temper and an uncanny way of making Marguerite feel special. He treats her well and does not expect her to be anyone or anything that she is not. They both have to learn some things and change a few others along the way.

    The Cover: Meh. Don't love it, don't hate it. It is what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Fun, light summer read

    This is the perfect book to take on a vacation. It's entertaining, yet light enough in tone to be relaxing. Nothing intense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Kept your interest

    I enjoyed this read, i particularly enjoyed the'time' in women's history that this took place. I enjoyed the humor,drama, romance, the author kept me interested, i didn't want to put it down. Plus a huge thank you for presenting this read in good order.....i didn't have to suffer through poor grammar or misspelled words, that was so pleasant. And respectful to your readers as well as youself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Lake Manawa, my getaway from it all book

    I am delighted to add new author, Lorna Sielstad, to my favorites list!! What an unexpected treasure "Making Waves" turned out to be! Lorna combines romance and humor with just the right amount of depth and suspense to make this a fun-loving, never-get-bored, page-turner!

    Marguerite Westing is a headstrong, fearless, risk-taking beauty who turned out to be one of the most hilarious heroines I have ever had the pleasure of reading! She is always somewhere polite society says she shouldn't be, doing something polite society says she shouldn't be doing, but it's her explanations out of such situations and her reasoning for finding herself in them in the first place that makes for a most enjoyable read! But within her explanations and reasoning, however well intended they might be, is a little web of lies- lies she tries to justify but soon finds out (rather painfully, might I add) that every lie has its day in the sun.If you like a story full of love, laughter, and God, than this is a 5 star story you won't want to miss. It's a perfect start to a new series and book 2, A Great Catch is available. Great job, Lorna!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    Fun read

    Fun read. Loved the setting and history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Great Read!

    Quick read. Historical background make the book interesting. The family stuggles and Christian influence add a great twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3