Customer Reviews for

Making Waves (Lake Manawa Summers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A delightful read!

Marguerite Westing seems bent to break all the elite set's rules for proper young ladies in 1895. She is a smart, capable, young lady and doesn't see any reason to pretend otherwise. When Marguerite Westing's father decides the family is spending the summer at Lake Mana...
Marguerite Westing seems bent to break all the elite set's rules for proper young ladies in 1895. She is a smart, capable, young lady and doesn't see any reason to pretend otherwise. When Marguerite Westing's father decides the family is spending the summer at Lake Manawa, Iowa, she is thrilled. It fits right in with her plan to avoid suitor Roger Gordon - the most boring man she's ever met. Her mother keeps pushing him at her and she can't seem to escape him when he follows her family to the lake. She's not the least bit attracted to him. In fact, she can barely tolerate him. However, he seems intent on winning her hand in marriage. Her mother won't listen to her objections and she finally stops voicing them. She knows that her father understands and won't let her marry a man who put the "bore" in boring and that she doesn't love, so she puts off doing the inevitable.

There is a plethora of things to do at the lake - and her mother seems determined to put the kibosh on her plans to partake of them. Her brother gets to do whatever he wants and he's only twelve. All because he's a boy. It simply is not fair. Being a woman should not disqualify one from participating in fun and interesting activities.

Despite the fact that the forced outings with Roger are mind-numbing and wearisome, Marguerite avoids telling her mother and Roger the truth about not wanting to marry him. She talks her father into taking her on a sailboat, and she falls in love with sailing, and soon after, a certain handsome sailing instructor. She escapes camp and her mother's influence and finagles a way to do what she wants. Will she weave a web that she finds herself caught in?

Her summer of fun quickly turns to heartache, when she learns her father's secrets. Will she be forced to give up the man she's fallen in love with and marry Roger just to save her family? Or will she learn to trust God in all things and follow her heart -even if it means hurting the family she loves?

This book was an absolute delight to read. It has it all - history, romance, humor, and some suspense. If you like any of those things - this book is a must read for you. The story drew me in and I was transported back to 1895 at Lake Manawa, Iowa. I'm looking forward to the next book in this series. Congratulations, Lorna, on your first novel. Well done!

posted by Susan_Hollaway on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Good book with 280 pages.

posted by 14911476 on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    A delightful read!

    Marguerite Westing seems bent to break all the elite set's rules for proper young ladies in 1895. She is a smart, capable, young lady and doesn't see any reason to pretend otherwise. When Marguerite Westing's father decides the family is spending the summer at Lake Manawa, Iowa, she is thrilled. It fits right in with her plan to avoid suitor Roger Gordon - the most boring man she's ever met. Her mother keeps pushing him at her and she can't seem to escape him when he follows her family to the lake. She's not the least bit attracted to him. In fact, she can barely tolerate him. However, he seems intent on winning her hand in marriage. Her mother won't listen to her objections and she finally stops voicing them. She knows that her father understands and won't let her marry a man who put the "bore" in boring and that she doesn't love, so she puts off doing the inevitable.

    There is a plethora of things to do at the lake - and her mother seems determined to put the kibosh on her plans to partake of them. Her brother gets to do whatever he wants and he's only twelve. All because he's a boy. It simply is not fair. Being a woman should not disqualify one from participating in fun and interesting activities.

    Despite the fact that the forced outings with Roger are mind-numbing and wearisome, Marguerite avoids telling her mother and Roger the truth about not wanting to marry him. She talks her father into taking her on a sailboat, and she falls in love with sailing, and soon after, a certain handsome sailing instructor. She escapes camp and her mother's influence and finagles a way to do what she wants. Will she weave a web that she finds herself caught in?

    Her summer of fun quickly turns to heartache, when she learns her father's secrets. Will she be forced to give up the man she's fallen in love with and marry Roger just to save her family? Or will she learn to trust God in all things and follow her heart -even if it means hurting the family she loves?

    This book was an absolute delight to read. It has it all - history, romance, humor, and some suspense. If you like any of those things - this book is a must read for you. The story drew me in and I was transported back to 1895 at Lake Manawa, Iowa. I'm looking forward to the next book in this series. Congratulations, Lorna, on your first novel. Well done!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Good book

    This was a sweet romance novel Perfect for Christians. I would reccommend this . It is only 280 pages. I will purchase this authors books again. It is refreshing to read a book without graffic sex scenes,or blood and guts.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great christian romance. A need to read book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Romance Sprinkled with Humor

    The story begins in 1895 with spunky Marguerite Westing being courted by boring Roger Gordon, a very wealthy man chosen by her mother. The first paragraphs start you laughing with Marguerite's sarcastic wit, and your smile doesn't fade as you follow Marguerite's journey. She falls in love with sailing--not a womanly thing to do in 1895--but more so, she falls for the handsome sailing instructor, Trip Andrews. Does she follow her heart and chose Trip? Or, to save her family's fortune, will she be forced to marry Roger? I absolutely love the subtle wit Lorna infuses throughout this story. Oftentimes when people write with humor, it's evident they're trying too hard. The laugh lines appear tacked on or forced. Not so with Making Waves. Wit flows naturally from the characters, particularly Marguerite, so keep a tissue handy. One of my favorite parts of this novel is the setting. It takes place in Lake Manawa, Iowa a water resort community near Council Bluffs. Back in the late 1800's and early 1900s, it was a real place where the wealthy tented for the summer. The resort area offered water shows and activities. It had dance and gambling halls. It even offered a water carnival that was modeled after the World's Fair. Sadly, today you see no signs of this resort, but with Lorna's multi-sensory descriptions she brings the area back to life so history can live on.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Very good

    I love this book it was very realistic i would read this book again and again I love that they were very religious. And sometimes when u read a book you don't always want to read about sex or the details of it this was def this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent historical romance - so fun!

    One of the most clever, fun books I have read this year. Lorna Seilstad takes a period of history and weaves a delightful story around the setting. The setting (Lake Manawa, Iowa) actually becomes one of the characters as the story progresses and I had so much fun visualizing the area around the lake. Marguerite Westing is a fantastic heroine - she is full of vim and vigor and won't conform to anyone's expectations, including the man who wants to marry her. Though her mother is pushing for the marriage, she is relying on her dad to let her marry for love not money... right? There are mysteries surrounding happenings at the lake, where everyone who's anyone is camping for the summer. It's hard for me to imagine camping as a sign of the "in crowd", but okay... I loved the history surrounding the lake as explained in the back of the book and I adored this story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Wonderful!!!

    I loved Marguerite's story and how she vacillated between Roger, the man her parents thought was best for her, and Trip, the man she loves. The author did a wonderful job pulling you into the tale and I would highly recommend this clean, 264 page Christian story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Awesome book!

    Read this book. I loved the characters, the plot & everything about this book. I love it when the "good guy" is really a jerk & the "bad guy" wins. I'll read a lot more from this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    So Cute!

    This book was an awesome love story. It is such cute love story. I nearly couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    What a Fun Way to Fall in Love

    I found it hard to believe Making Waves was Lorna's first book! I read hundreds of books a year and am pretty stingy with my five star ratings. But I so enjoyed this book. The main character Marguerite Westing is such a spunky, driven, funny young lady. How could you not love her. Maybe one reason I loved the book so much is because I saw myself in her! Trip Andrews is a perfect counterpart for her and the conflicts they get into and they have are both humorous and touching.

    I grew up reading historicals and have pulled away from them over the years. This book takes place in the late 1800's and I did not mind a bit. The setting, the characters, the plot, and the romance all grabbed me and held on until I closed the book. I look forward to reading more from Lorna. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great Summer Read!

    I really enjoyed this book. I can't wait to read more of her books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    A Summer of Scheming and Sizzle

    When Marquerite goes to the lake for summer, she has two goals in mind - ditch the boring boyfriend and learn to sail. It takes some scheming to get these goals accomplished, but she is willing to give it her full effort. Little does she know what a can of worms she will open.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All Its Own

    I can honestly say that I have never read anything quite like this book. Contained in it are humorous, touching, and even bittersweet scenes that gradually instill within you decisive emotions and love for the characters, which are so personified, you feel as though they become true people in this little resort that once really existed. ..
    Lorna Seilstad nicely composed her characters upon a solid foundation--her story. It is extremely important for both the story and the characters to be fully developed and firmly established--which they were--and I found that very refreshing. For an author to create believable, lovable, and true characters is what I would name inspiration. ....
    Marguerite Westing is a character whom is simple yet written with depth, fictional yet exciting, and typically human yet inspiringly strong. And then there's Trip--the guy I wish I lived next to, the guy anyone would want for a best friend. He is an admirable character who notices Marguerite for all the right reasons, but who has, of course, flaws in his own right. Both main characters are relatable, and one could easily fall in love with them both. I did.
    All I can say is that the author did an amazing job in creating Making Waves.
    ..This novel will whisk you away to Lake Manawa, where the days are warm, the nights bear secrets, female sailors are shameless, and the people you meet captivate your heart. So I'd don your lacy hats, find a place to sip your frosty lemonades in the sun, and get comfortable--you won't want to put this book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Awesome

    Absolutely LOVED this book! It was my first time reading this author but NOT my last! Fun characters, interesting plot, some tense moments, and lots of excitement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Super good.

    Heartily reccomend this great book to all who love reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Great book!!!!

    Love this book,one of my favorites, it's captivating and funny once i started reading i couldn't stop:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    I loved this book!  Marguerite is a young lady with a mind of he

    I loved this book!  Marguerite is a young lady with a mind of her own!  Her mother wants her to marry one of the most selfish, boring and hateful man!  She knows she would never love him, yet she knows her father would never make her marry him!  Or would he?  Then she meets a man with a sail boat, she just had to get on that boat!  Find how this young lady gets herself in more trouble than  she can get out of!  A good book for a summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Great Book!

    Entertaining read. Look forward to ready more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Excellent!

    A fun, fast moving book! I've read this book a second time just because I enjoyed it so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book, anxious to read the next one --  Marguerite We

    Loved this book, anxious to read the next one -- 

    Marguerite Westing from Council Bluffs, Iowa was a spunky girl who detested the man her mother had picked for her to marry, Roger Gordon. He was vanilla ice cream and she was a strawberry sundae. In 1895 her father decided the family would spend the summer months at Lake Manawa, Iowa, that is where she met Trip Andrews when he had to pull her from the lake and she got her first taste of sailing. Her mother let her younger brother Mark do anything he wanted because he was a boy but she couldn't do anything, that is why she sneaks and lies.




    I wanted to read this series because I was born and raised about 100 miles north of Lake Manawa, where Iowa, Nebraska and South Dakota meet, in South Sioux City, Nebraska and these books sounded like some fun stories. I can say I really got into this book, Lorna started out with a fun, lighthearted story and by the final third of the book I was fighting back tears for Marguerite. She was such a fun character it was a shame she had to fight her mother and later her father who had always been her hero, he would let her do things that her mother didn't approve of, until now.




    I would encourage others to read this book if they like Christian Historical's, I think they will really enjoy Lorna's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6