Customer Reviews for

Making Waves

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

LOL Romance

Fenske is such a great humor author and she blends her insanely funny wit with great storytelling and rich characters. Tawna has a voice that will hook you five lines in and not let you go. I cannot praise her book enough.

posted by Kristen_Lamb on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fluffy Fictional Fun, But Too Light On the Romance

When I first learned about Making Waves, the debut novel by author Tawna Fenske, I had high hopes that she might be a new contemporary author that I would love. The cover quote on the front of Making Waves describes it as "Hilarious! A wild, sexy romp with a fresh, fu...
When I first learned about Making Waves, the debut novel by author Tawna Fenske, I had high hopes that she might be a new contemporary author that I would love. The cover quote on the front of Making Waves describes it as "Hilarious! A wild, sexy romp with a fresh, fun take on love." Hence my problem with cover quotes. I know that they are promotional, and therefore exaggerations and sometimes not exactly revealing or truthful and the story contained within the pages. And to be honest, the cover quote on the cover of Making Waves isn't misleading in any way, because the book is fun and at times laugh out loud funny....but because of the quote I think I had unrealistically high, misplaced and unfair expectations of this new to me author being like a beloved author, Jill Shalvis, who writes some of my absolute favorite contemporary romances...and it wasn't, much to my disappointment.

Juli Flynn is a genius, literally. And like most geniuses, she has a problem connecting with people and fitting in and settling into a life with purpose. She's as infamous for her IQ, as for her failures in both life and in love. She's quirky, smart and fun and supposedly absolutely gorgeous.

Alex Bradshaw is a forty something executive who has devoted his life to the pursuit of professional success to prove that he is worthy. After being dumped by his fiancée years ago for a Dentist who could offer her the kind of life, and the money that she wanted, he defines his self worth by his title and his bank account. So when he's given his pink slip with a drained bank account he is left with those old feelings of insecurity and the only way he knows to get back at his unscrupulous boss and fill his empty coffers is to become a pirate.

Making Waves is a fun romance, which is light on the romance and heavy on the cliché's. There were moments in this book that were laugh out loud funny, but also moments that were completely ridiculous. This author loves dichotomies. For example, a quirky nerd who is bombshell beautiful, an Ex Pro Football player who likes to be called "Cookie", embroider his own aprons, grate his own nutmeg and wears women's clothing. Then there are also high seas pirates who are massive brooding muscle bound men who act like children yet are literary theologians. Go figure.

At times it felt like the author was throwing polar opposite characteristics together to make the characters be more comical and funny, but instead seemed came off as contrived and absurd. For me funny is finding the humor in everyday life, not forcing situations in order to add substance to otherwise weak character development.

I have mixed feelings about Making Waves. There were moments that I really enjoyed.like when Alex and Juli first meet and pretend to be recently married in order to qualify to play a Newlywed type game to win some quick cash. That was pretty darn hilarious! Unfortunately those moments were few and far between for me. For me the story was much more focused on the "funny" characteristics of the characters, than the characters themselves which resulted in what I felt to be a very superficial love story. It was fluff, sometimes fun, but overall...forgettable.

posted by booklover1335 on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    LOL Romance

    Fenske is such a great humor author and she blends her insanely funny wit with great storytelling and rich characters. Tawna has a voice that will hook you five lines in and not let you go. I cannot praise her book enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    I can count on one hand how many books have made me laugh until

    I can count on one hand how many books have made me laugh until I cry/snort/make seriously embarrassing noises.

    This book tops them all. Hilarious doesn't begin to cover it. I'm still giggling over the whole thing. So much LOVE!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Georgia

    Sat in the liveing room

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Mbl

    Great book loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Fantastic read...

    Had me laughing out loud & tearing up....this is absolutely a new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    I don't usually write reviews but this book surprised me, it was really good! In a sea of romance books that are all the same and mediocore at best, I found this book to be a stand out. The only thing that I would change is the pirate who was into poetry and books. I'll admit to skimming over those parts. I recommend this book and look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This debut book by Fenske was amazing! The characters are larger

    This debut book by Fenske was amazing! The characters are larger than life and the book was laugh out loud funny. A heartwarming all round feel good type of romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Laugh-out Loud Funny

    I read MAKING WAVES while flying cross-country and irritated the people around me with constant bursts of laughter. And the tension between the two characters is hot. Fenske isn't afraid to insert humor into even the most high-octane love scenes. A marvelously fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED!!!!!!!!!!!!

    In Making Waves we meet Juli Flynn. She has been asked by her late uncle to spread his ashes out at sea. Only problem is that Juli¿s hates the ocean. But being the ever good niece, Juli¿s sets out on the adventure to fulfill her uncle¿s wishes.
    Alex finds himself staring at his pink slip not knowing what just happened. While drinking and brain storming with his fellow fired co-workers they devise a plan to get back at their former employer. One thing Alex never planned on was the beautiful stow away sleeping in his bed.
    Juli¿s & Alex find them self on the adventure of a lifetime in Making Waves. But will these two survive the adventure or will one of them have to walk the plank?

    OMG!!! Let me tell you first I had the great pleasure of meeting Tawna over this past summer. She is so much fun and her book Making Waves was just as much fun. I am so glad that I meet her and pick up this book.

    I could not put this book down and was laughing the whole time. Let me also tell you that Jell-O salad and cheese doodles will NEVER be the same after you read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, smart debut novel!

    This debut novel is a hoot! Funny. Smart. Wonderful characters you can fall in love with. High seas hijinks, with some diamonds thrown in for good measure. I'm a fan for life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unique and Brilliant Debut!

    Tawna Fenske's Making Waves is a hilarious wild ride with dashes of sweet romance.

    Juli travels to St. John to honor her Uncle Frank's wishes for his cremated ashes to be tossed into the sea. Alex and his band of unlikely pirates arrive in St. John and plan to seize illegal diamonds from their former boss. When Juli accidentally stows away on Alex's ship, she has twenty-four hours to prove she belongs with Alex's ragtag crew and can help with the heist, if she can overcome her seasickness and use her attraction to Alex to further her cause.

    Making Waves excels in adventure, humor, and sexy romance. Fenske's characters are quirky and unique; each one is unforgettable. They are probably the worst band of pirates, but hilarity ensues, creating unexpected plot twists that keep a reader guessing. Alex and Juli's chemistry deserves an A plus. The sweet secondary romance between Jake and Phyllis is perfectly awkward and a wonderful addition to the book. Fenske has brilliant wit with dialogue, filled with fun innuendo. This novel is definitely a must-read romantic comedy.

    Dysfunctional pirates, humor, and romance abound in Making Waves by Tawna Fenske. I can't want to read more from this comedic debut author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pure and Total Fun!

    I've been anticipating this book ever since I read the excerpt on the author's website. Add to that many well-written, hilarious blog posts and I was REALLY anticipating this book. Then it released early to every freaking book store and walmart in the country, except mine. For almost two weeks I had to listen to every one rave and rave and rave, and I thought I was going to turn permanently green if I didn't get my hands on a copy of Making Waves. Well, I GOT IT. In more ways than one.

    I read for a lot of reasons: to connect, to enjoy, to be entertained, to escape, to laugh. More than anything I do it to have fun. There is nothing in this world better than to simply have fun. Pure, unadulterated fun. Making Waves is FUN. When I closed this book . er, swiped the last page in my e-reader, I wasn't just happy, satisfied, and excited that I got my money's worth, I had fun. And the author gave me the experience with characters that are different, interesting pieces that when put together create a strong friendship and a kick-ass team. There's even a life lesson that whispers throughout the book .

    As well as being dynamic and determined, Juli is my freaking hero! She found somewhere that she could fit. People she could connect with. They didn't have a spot for her, so she made one. Making Waves does not preach anything, like I said, it's a fun read. However, there is a very light, almost invisible message threaded through the pages: Whether it be from unpopularity, being weird, awkward, or walking around with a foot growing out of your head, you will find your fit. And when you see it, you have to go for it! You gotta make your own way, your own spot. I love this, because it is so true.

    But, and I think this is the best "but" of all, of everything that is so great about this book, the best thing is that it is truly unique. I read a lot of romance. I read 100+ books a year. Paranormal, suspense, historical, contemporary, and I even dip into some mystery and ya from time to time. I'm not saying it's never been done before. I'm not saying it's for everyone, but I can honestly say I've never read anything like Making Waves. That is refreshing.

    This book goes on the Favorite Shelf.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny!

    This book made me giggle, a lot, and I enjoyed it immensely. Cute, hilarious, silly, and wild.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an amusing zany romance with some suspense

    After two months short of twenty years of dedicated work at Kranston Shipping Enterprises, Alex Bradshaw is stunned when his boss Tom Portelli fires him. However, the former executive at the largest shipping firm in the world is upset because he and others were left with nothing. He refuses to sit idly by especially when his former employer has arranged an illegal diamond shipment in the Caribbean. Alex and other downsized suits decide to intercept the cargo.

    Juli Flynn meets Alex in a bar the night before she is heading to the Virgin Islands' St. John to spread the ashes of her late uncle. She boards the wrong ship. When she awakens from a nap she finds herself as the only non former suit on the vessel. Alex does not trust the stowaway while Juli insists on joining their high seas adventure, a big secret and an attraction to the "captain".

    This is an amusing zany romance with some suspense. The jocular tale is fun as Juli keeps coming up with one stunner after another; a few she is ignorant about as her late uncle puled a few tricks from the urn. With a quirky support cast, Making Waves is a lighthearted frolic that will remind readers of the madcap Cary Grant-Katherine Hepburn 1930s comedies.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1