Customer Reviews for

Making of a Gentleman

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great story

    I enjoyed this as much as the first book. Is there going to be one in the other twin,who is a pirate. That would be great! Love love her novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    My heart broke

    I could have wept for the male lead; his story was so heartbreaking, but as always, Shana takes one characters heartaches and proves how love can conquer all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!

    This is the second book in The Sons of Revolution series. It's in typical Shana Galen fashion: adrenaline pumping danger, a handsome hero, a headstrong heroine, an air of mystery, a touch of intrigue and toe curling smexing. A must read.

    Top Reasons to Read This Book:
    Silent, brooding, sexy, virgin hero with a dangerous past? Check. Pianoforte playing, marriage contract breaking, fall for her charge governess heroine? Check. Overprotective older brother? Check. Man claiming to be the husband of the heroine? Check. Bad guys who want the treasure that only the hero knows where it's at? Check and check.

    Armand Harcourt had been locked away in a French prison, forgotten until his brother Julien (hero of The Making of A Duchess) breaks him out and brings him home to England. Armand shies away from touch because it is too painful and refuses to speak because it could cause trouble. He's determined to stay mute to keep his family safe from those who might find out that he alone, is the keeper of a 12 year old secret. His family wants to help him learn to become a functioning member of society and decide to hire a governess to teach him.

    Enter Felicity Bennett, bent on repaying back the man her father sold her into marriage to. She takes up the position of governess and to her surprise, she would not be teaching a child but a grown man who somewhat frightens yet intrigues her with his behavior. She is determined to earn the money but the man shows up and demands the payment soon or the family will find out she is betrothed. Felicity has a penchant for playing the pianoforte and can play a tune, only hearing it a time or two. Her music soothes the beast in Armand. Felicity sees two strange men digging in the gardens and this ushers in the heart pounding, adrenaline pumping, knuckle clutching events into motion. Armand soon realizes that those men are after him and the only way he can keep his family and Felicity safe is by staying up all night guarding their home. His family and Felicity want him to come clean with the secret and at first he denies any knowledge of the treasure.

    All the while, Armand begins to talk, a word here, a phrase there. Felicity begins to see Armand as more than a pupil. His touch, his gaze, his presence does something to her. She know she must not lose sight of why she's there: the money to pay back Charles, the man her father sold her to. But with Armand, everything seems right with the world even if two treasure hungry men and one slimy wannabe dandy are after them.

    Oh, and virgin hero alert! This book was sweet, sensual and tinged with danger. A fun, fast paced, heart pounding read. I will have to go back and read The Making of a Duchess since snippets of Julien and Sarah in this book have made me curious of their love story. Ms. Galen has a way with words. She makes the hero and heroine likeable and the villians boo-worthy. After reading this, I realized it's my first virgin hero book. What a difference in the storytelling when it comes to The Sexiness.

    ***I won 3 copies of this book from giveaways***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Great Story

    Yes, read this , I'm looking forward the the third book, book 1 and 2 did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was really looking forward to this one

    The story begins with Armand, the hero of the story, acting as a savage...unable to express himself with words, he's angry, frustrated and has problems interacting with his family let alone the London society befitting his rank as a Duc's brother. His heroine, Felicity is hired to be his governess/tutor in hopes that she can make progress where others have failed. She's desperate for employment after her father's death leaves her in dire straits. With nowhere else to turn, and a fiancee who blackmails her for money she doesn't possess she agrees to take on the role even after she learns she is not to tutor a young boy, but a man.

    I couldn't wait to read The Making of a Gentleman after reading The Making of a Duchess...it promised to have a tortured hero to die for, however the hero, Armand, didn't live up to my expectations. Many times in the story Armand refers to the unspeakable horrors that he endured during his time in prison...and unfortunately that's what they were unspeakable...as in they weren't really discussed or revealed to the reader to give more insight into his emotional healing. The reason for his silence and refusal to speak was explained, but it was hard for me to find his reasons believable as an adult, living a continent away from the danger he feared. It also seemed that his fear of speaking, as well as his avoidance of touch from anyone other than Felicity, and need for open spaces, were the only long term effects of his imprisonment that were satisfactorily resolved.....like his preference for sleeping on the floor. Did this affect his relationship with Felicity at all? I felt that many of his emotional hindrances were only briefly touched upon and in very little depth which kept me from feeling what he went through while in prison, and how he struggled to overcome what twelve years in solitary confinement can do to a person.

    While I had a hard time understanding Armand, I felt that Felicity, his heroine, was a wonderful character. She is truly in a rock and a hard place, and the twists and turns that the story takes, makes it harder and harder for her to find a way to have love and happiness, mostly due to Ms. Galen's well written villain who is a devious, deceitful person that is so vile that you love to hate him...but never fear this story does have a happily ever after and the villains get their due...even if I did feel that they got off a bit easy :) Not quite sure what the says about me that I wanted their punishments to be harsher...

    In the end I felt that while The Making of a Gentleman was a good story, it had the potential to be a great story...one that would stand out among a crowd of similar plots because of it's hero Armand, but his character wasn't explored in the depth that I wish he would have been. I could have very easily done without the treasure seeking plot (although I do have to say that this part of the book was well written, with some nail biting scenes), reduce the villains to just the fiancee, and focus more on Armand and his healing process...his integration with his family and society. Is it worth your time to read? I would say yes...there was enough of the book that was good that you will enjoy reading, but it probably won't end up a "keeper".

    Ratings:
    Overall: 3.25 stars
    Sensuality level: 3.0

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gentleman is engaging, enchanting and full of adventure

    Galen crafts a tale full of rich emotion, adventure, and discovery with "The Making of a Gentleman." Armand Harcourt, comte de Valère, has escaped his French prison, but life in London isn't easy until he meets Felicity Bennett, a talented pianist who is also hired to be his tutor. The novel opens with Armand struggling to fit into society. He's smart and educated, yet his time in prison has compromised his speech and he doesn't care to be touched. His brother shows patience, but the family hires a tutor in hopes of drawing Armand out of his inner prison. Enter Felicity Bennett. This is her first job as a tutor. She plays pianoforte very well and Armand is undeniably attracted to her. Very quickly, Felicity breaks through his barriers and awakens his heart. Armand, however, has been followed from France. The mysterious prowlers make their presence known using sabotage and vandalism. Felicity, also, has her own worries. Her father signed a betrothment between her and a scoundrel named Charles St. John. Charles tries to blackmail Felicity, but she's got no money to buy her freedom. Armand's family takes him to a dinner party to test his newfound speech and skills without Felicity. Soon, though, she's summoned to play the piano. Armand brashly throws her over his shoulder and departs. The couple make love, but will Armand's pursuers and Felicity's blackmailer derail their burgeoning happiness? Galen snares the reader on the first page. Her writing is sharp, and her style is easy to read. Galen's distinctive, lighthearted wit shines through. She paints a delightful and vivid setting without lingering. Her dialogue is crisp and charming, easily capturing the essence of the time period. There's a wonderful blend of discovery, suspense, and adventure that makes for a strong plot and fast paced action. Galen's characters are engaging, strong willed, and lively. Armand has lived through incredible hardship. Felicity allows him to see another side of life - a kinder, gentler side, but to embrace it, he'll have to find his inner courage. Armand has looked fear in its cold, ugly eyes. He's honorable and fiercely loyal. Felicity is a delightful heroine, talented, patient, and full of vigor. Charles's blackmail of her is ugly business and she shows true character when she refuses to get the money he demands from Armand's family. Galen's love scenes are tasteful and sensual, full of rich emotion and compliment the story well. "The Making of a Gentleman" enchants, entertains, and will leave you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Salvation Through Love

    Shana Galen's THE MAKING OF A GENTLEMAN, the second book in her SONS OF THE REVOLUTION series, is the riveting tale of a brutalized man and his salvation through love. This tale of three brothers separated by the atrocities of the French Revolution continues with the story of second brother, Armand. After rotting for twelve years in a French prison, Armand must relearn how to live a normal life. Although his body has healed, his demons so terrify him he can no longer speak--until he meets Miss Felicity Bennett. His desperate family has hired her as a tutor to guide Armand on his tortuous journey back into the world. The lovely Felicity reaches him through her music, her tolerance and also with her touch. After the abuse Armand has endured, even a kind touch pains him--but not Felicity's. Unfortunately, deadly mystery surrounds them. Two men stalk Armand and he cannot remember why. Felicity harbors secrets of her own, ones that can separate her and Armand even as their growing attraction draws them closer. Armand is my favorite type of hero--a good man whose suffering has made him a better man. Ms. Galen does a masterful job of showing the world from the viewpoint of a man stripped of his humanity and how his perception changes as he heals. I enjoyed this book even more than THE MAKING OF A DUCHESS, which I liked very much. When does the next book come out? ARC provided by Sourcebooks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    AN AMAZING HISTORICAL REGENCY ROMANCE!

    THE MAKING OF A GENTLEMAN by Shana Galen is an amazing historical romance set in 1801 London, England and France. It is well written with depth, details,fast paced, and a page turner. It is the second in the Sons of the Revolution Regency romance but can be read as a stand alone. It has a unique but interesting plot, romance, sensuality, betrayal, secrets,trust, mystery, intrigue, wit, getting past scars and healing both physically and mentally. The hero, Armand, is husband, lost interest in polite society, was in prisoned for twelve years in France, been beaten both physically and mentally. He doesn't speak due to his fear of being beaten. He loves music, has forgotten how to be polite, acts animal like at times and his feared by those other than his family who meet him. This family hires a beautiful tutor, Felicity, who has secrets of her own, loves music, needs money, betrothed to someone she loathes. Felicity is drawn to Armand from the beginning as Armand is drawn to her.Armand must face his past to save his future. Together they break through the secrets, betrayal and find trust and true love.This is a delightful, witty, emotional story of true love, trust and healing. I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy emotionally charged romance. I would also recommend getting the first in this series The Making of A Duchess.This book was received from the publisher for review and details can be found at Sourcebooks Casablanca and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4