Customer Reviews for

The Malacca Conspiracy

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Malacca Conspiracy

Don Brown has the uncanny ability to tell a story which, even though it is fiction, is filled with facts about real geography, real politics, real governments, war, weapons, science, human nature and world religions woven together with such finesse that one learns perti...
Don Brown has the uncanny ability to tell a story which, even though it is fiction, is filled with facts about real geography, real politics, real governments, war, weapons, science, human nature and world religions woven together with such finesse that one learns pertinent details about these varied areas while just reading an awesomely exciting mystery novel. The daring travels of Navy JAG officers, Zack Brewer and Diane Colcernian, continue throughout the US and the world. The gripping and spell-binding adventures have you turning the pages faster than a speed reader because you want to get to the next ship, the next embassy, the next action or reaction of the US President, or another Rambo-type exploit by the Navy SEALS. It is explosive action from page one to page 349.
One must surmise that Don Brown during his five years as a young Navy JAG Officer had a pressing desire to run away with a squad of Navy SEALS for a two-month action packed summer vacation on a group of tropical islands in the South Pacific. What an imagination!
The book is educational in another important area. Learn about Jesus and our relationship with Him as you attempt to guess the next twist this tale will take. Even if the next twist is not the way you wanted it to be you will see that God can cause good to come from even very bad situations.
Bravo! Great job with the Malacca Conspiracy, Don!

posted by HenryMorris on August 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Malacca Malarkey

PLEASE KNOW that this book is a thinly veiled (and poorly written) piece of extremest propaganda. If you are a narrow minded reader, extreme born again Christian, or a 13 year old boy you MAY like this book. Being none of those I was bored by its characters, embarrass...
PLEASE KNOW that this book is a thinly veiled (and poorly written) piece of extremest propaganda. If you are a narrow minded reader, extreme born again Christian, or a 13 year old boy you MAY like this book. Being none of those I was bored by its characters, embarrassed by its portrayal of Christianity (my religion,) surprised at its sexism, and shocked at its casual use of mass violence and destruction. That's all.

(Thought I'd save some of you from making the same mistake of believing the 5 star "reviews" before me that I did.)

posted by 4625288 on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is loaded with goodies!

    The plot was believable and rather scary and there is a good balance of military details and character development without overplaying it. The not overly complicated plot was suspenseful and complex but easy to follow. Terrorists blow up oil tankers and have access to nuclear weapons which they unleash on the City of Brotherly Love. Navy Jags, Zack and Diane, are enjoying a hot romance and their relationship is a fantastic double storyline with the backdrop that is going on in Indonesia. The plot is thrilling with twists and turns and surprises. The characters and settings are all well-defined and without vulgarity. Just wonderful! This book is loaded with goodies! You won't be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    The Malacca Conspiracy

    Don Brown has the uncanny ability to tell a story which, even though it is fiction, is filled with facts about real geography, real politics, real governments, war, weapons, science, human nature and world religions woven together with such finesse that one learns pertinent details about these varied areas while just reading an awesomely exciting mystery novel. The daring travels of Navy JAG officers, Zack Brewer and Diane Colcernian, continue throughout the US and the world. The gripping and spell-binding adventures have you turning the pages faster than a speed reader because you want to get to the next ship, the next embassy, the next action or reaction of the US President, or another Rambo-type exploit by the Navy SEALS. It is explosive action from page one to page 349.
    One must surmise that Don Brown during his five years as a young Navy JAG Officer had a pressing desire to run away with a squad of Navy SEALS for a two-month action packed summer vacation on a group of tropical islands in the South Pacific. What an imagination!
    The book is educational in another important area. Learn about Jesus and our relationship with Him as you attempt to guess the next twist this tale will take. Even if the next twist is not the way you wanted it to be you will see that God can cause good to come from even very bad situations.
    Bravo! Great job with the Malacca Conspiracy, Don!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Malacca Conspiracy: It Could Happen!

    The back flap of the book misleads you to think the story will focus on Zack Brewer and Diane Colcernian-two JAG officers from Don Browns' Previous Navy Justice Series. I almost believed this book would come from two points of view, possibly three if you count the enemy, but the book is unique in that it focuses almost totally on The Malacca Conspiracy and less on the personal lives of Zack and Diane. It does not follow along the lines of some formula type stories and the book is well researched.

    Don Brown served five years in the U.S. Navy as an officer in the Judge Advocate General's (JAG) Corps. He served as an action officer to the Pentagon and left active duty in 1992 to pursue private practice. He remained on inactive status through 1999 and rose to the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He wrote The Navy Justice Series (Treason, Hostage, Defiance, and Black Sea Affair; the last book apparently predicted the 2008 shooting war between Russia and Georgia).

    The book is broken up by chapter and written in a time line. Several points of view might confuse some, but the time line makes it easy to transition from one point of view to another character's point of view without causing a pause in the action. This book keeps your heart pumping and at times you hold your breath in anticipation or fear. It is believable and possibly conceivable. You fear you might actually see this happen in our time. There are maps, and the conspiracy itself is well thought out. Zack and Diane's story is peppered in between as a subplot. You don't mind that their story is only a subplot because the action does not disappoint. I sat back after reading the last page and could only mutter, "Wow."

    Book Provided by Zondervan For Review

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The U.S. Could be Destroyed in The Malacca Conspiracy

    I had the privilege of interviewing Don Brown, on our radio show "Kingdom Highlights", for his new book, "The Malacca Conspiracy" published by Zondervan.

    In between Indonesia and Malaysia there is the Strait of Malacca with the idea being that this very important shipping lane is a choke point and if it is bottled up then the repercussions would be disastrous. Don Brown works from the idea that, in the future, there is a general in Indonesia, which is a Muslim country, that feels that the then president of Indonesia is dealing too much with The United States and needs to be removed. The only way, of course, is by assassination and this general also feels that the U.S. needs to be taught a lesson so he goes and gets a few nuclear suitcase bombs to explode in certain cities in America.

    While this book is not a part of the Naval Justice series that introduced Zack Brewer and Diane Cocernian this book does have them playing a large role in the development and outcome of the story. Don Brown has written a perfect thriller, all the characters are in deadly danger from the first word and continue to be so until the last few pages.

    "The Malacca Conspiracy" is a work of fiction set in the near future yet it also has the potential of becoming true as terrorism will increase across the planet with those that aid Israel the target of their anger. The Bible clearly states that nations will rise against nations so the events depicted here could become future headlines. We need to read this book for enjoyment purposes, and it is enjoyable, but we also need to have a Biblical mindset and pray for our nations to keep disaster to a minimum. I never had the chance to read the other four books written by Don Brown I will make up for this oversight very quickly, and I look forward to the next book with enthusiasm. I recommend it highly.

    If you missed the interview for "The Malacca Conspiracy" and would like to listen to it please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where it is available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    Great read!

    This review is from: The Malacca Conspiracy
    I've just finished reading the MALACCA CONSPIRACY - a page turner! Right from the start you are on the edge of your seat with all the twists and turns...you are transported to a world - one that we have all become all too familiar with since 9/11...one that shows the US military in a positive light, which is a nice aspect...one that puts you right in the middle of the action, following Zack and Diane through another action packed story!

    The MALACCA CONSPIRACY will appeal to men and women. The men will enjoy the military aspects of the novel and the women will enjoy the sexual tension between Zack and Diane.

    A great read can't wait for the next book by Don Brown!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling to the End!

    I did love this book! It is packed full of action, faith, mystery and once you start it, you do not want to put it down. Don brings back the beloved charactors, Zack and Diane from his former books, "Treason", "Hostage" and "Defiance"! Everything Mr Brown writes will keep yours attention and each chapter draws you to the next chapter. The end brought tears to my eyes and chills at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Sharkman

    Da da da da da da da da *bites everyones head off*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    I have read all of Don's books so far. This was my absolute favorite. Could not put it down. Fast paced and interesting and always close to what is going on in the world today. Not only is he a great author, I know him and I love to brag about him and his many talents. A must read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    A story of good vs. evil...imagine that!

    The Malacca Conspiracy is my first book I have read by Don Brown. Politics and religion aside, I enjoyed getting lost in the story with the characters. The flow of the story was good enough to keep me running back to the book to read before bed. I also realized that there are other books with the main characters in which I would like to read in the near future.

    I would highly recommend this book as a great weekend or vacation read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1