Customer Reviews for

Malcolm X Deluxe: A Life of Reinvention (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended!

I have just started reading this book and it is so enlighting. I have not been able to put this book down. One of the best books I have read so far regarding Malcolm X. It amazes me how this author has put togethor pieces of a crime that police have not be able to do or...
I have just started reading this book and it is so enlighting. I have not been able to put this book down. One of the best books I have read so far regarding Malcolm X. It amazes me how this author has put togethor pieces of a crime that police have not be able to do or cared to do. Sad that the author did not live to see the success of this book, that I am certain it would be.

posted by Curious_Reader79 on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Why now I truly wonder?

This book that claims to be an extensive history of The Autobiography of Malcolm X it is not.Manning Marable wrote a book at first seem to be genuine at provide new detail of Malcolm X, then the slander and malicious statements made places this book possibly as fiction ...
This book that claims to be an extensive history of The Autobiography of Malcolm X it is not.Manning Marable wrote a book at first seem to be genuine at provide new detail of Malcolm X, then the slander and malicious statements made places this book possibly as fiction and why did the author not speak with family or wait so long to publish the book and isn't ironic the book is published after Marable passed away. I would have loved to hear the answers many would have asked him of this book.
To questioned Malcolm sexuality is classless and beneath all the history Manning Marable had made prior to this book. Read this at your own risk,save your money and rent it a library,not waste money on something that does not add, but tries to divide African American community and history.Avoid please

posted by patientyetswift on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    Why now I truly wonder?

    This book that claims to be an extensive history of The Autobiography of Malcolm X it is not.Manning Marable wrote a book at first seem to be genuine at provide new detail of Malcolm X, then the slander and malicious statements made places this book possibly as fiction and why did the author not speak with family or wait so long to publish the book and isn't ironic the book is published after Marable passed away. I would have loved to hear the answers many would have asked him of this book.
    To questioned Malcolm sexuality is classless and beneath all the history Manning Marable had made prior to this book. Read this at your own risk,save your money and rent it a library,not waste money on something that does not add, but tries to divide African American community and history.Avoid please

    18 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I have just started reading this book and it is so enlighting. I have not been able to put this book down. One of the best books I have read so far regarding Malcolm X. It amazes me how this author has put togethor pieces of a crime that police have not be able to do or cared to do. Sad that the author did not live to see the success of this book, that I am certain it would be.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    A Challenge To The Validity Of One's Open Mindedness

    "Malcolm X: A Life Of Reinvention," by Manning Marable is not for the weak minded and those easily shaken about distasteful alleged revelations about their heroes and heroines. Mr. Marable will either elevate a reader's level of appreciation of Malcolm X, or taint it with portrayals of him that may be perceived as unforgivable violations of hero worship. I believe it is a book well worth purchasing and reading in earnest. It will be important to realize that in indulging in the book that at times it is the writer's interpretations of Malcolm X being showcased. Certain statements are not necessarily purported truths that can't be challenged. I see a future where more books about the complex character of Malcolm X will be written and published. However, Manning Marable's latest book is one for the ages. I believe it will ultimately stand the test of time in terms of its relevance to readers being challenged to be honest about their biases while seeking truths. Again, there will probably be more books about Malcolm X, but they will be hard pressed to be as controversial as "Malcolm X: A Life Of Reinvention." Manning Marable's history of scholarly excellence is unquestionable. He has now taken a risk that if successful may enlarge the acceptance of truths and reduce the playing field of what has previously been pawned off as mere gossip, used for the character assassinations of great men and women in the human rights struggle. The best thing is to read this book for yourself.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    No opinion on content yet -- ebook has flaws

    I look forward to learning more about Malcolm X; the book seems well researched and is certainly well written so far.

    I'm writing to continue my complaint about sloppy B&N ebook publishing, which I've observed in several different cases now. In the case of this book, apostrophes are frequently represented as question marks, e.g., "UNIA?s" , "KKK?s", and "Nasser?s" in just the first chapter or two. Does anyone actually read these e-books before publishing them?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    THIS IS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

    A lauded Professor writes another book filled with innuendo. Hasn't he done this before? What is his obsession with pulling back layers that don't effect the legacy of those he researches? I do not believe he uncovered information the government missed. I believe a sick and desperate man wanted a legacy of his own, even if he had to use others to obtain it.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    Felt the author had an ax to grind with Malcolm. Or perhaps it was a ploy by the author to generate controversy to sell his book. The author injects a lot of his own perspective based on hersay and second hand stories. He does come up with some interesting trivia though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Well-researched, but annoying innuendo.  In Malcolm X: A Life o

    Well-researched, but annoying innuendo. 

    In Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention, Manning Marable set out to honestly portray a man and to humanize an icon. Marable intended on filling in holes left by truth-bending and necessary lack-of-future-knowledge in The Autobiography of Malcolm X. Since I am not an expert on the subject, I have to say that Marable's book seemed very thorough and well-researched. It was also an engrossing narrative. I feel it well-deserves its Pulitzer Prize. My only complaint was towards the beginning of the novel, Marable inserted some innuendo about Malcolm X's sexuality - which was unnecessary, and rather rude since he didn't have any hard evidence to support his claims. That innuendo was referenced obliquely a few times in the first quarter of the book. Luckily, those references stopped for the last three quarters of the book, or I would have been left with a very bad taste in my mouth.




    The only reason I bring up that complaint is because I was looking for hints to why there's a controversy about this book. I was wondering if there was anything I, personally, could pick up. I'm not very familiar with what the controversy is about - and I haven't seen any controversial reference to the innuendo that bothered me. Mostly, the controversy seems to be about Marable's lack of respect for the impact Malcolm X had on the Black Liberation Movement. If you're interested in exploring the controversy, there's a book entitled A Lie of Reinvention: Correcting Manning Marable's Malcolm X, if you really want to delve into the issue. However, I am satisfied that Marable did a lot of really good research, and wrote an interesting and informative book. The issue of exactly what long-term impact Malcolm X had on the Civil Rights Movement and the country as a whole is an opinion, in my opinion. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    What a waste

    Is this the legacy Marable Manning wants to leave tasteless garbage.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    The Book we should have read in high school

    Please read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Malcolm X Reinvented by a book written in marvel

    Provocative book by an excellent black intellectual. The frankness in TRULY portraying the fullness of Malcolm's life does not lessen my picture of Malcolm, but only enhances his humanity. His portrayal of how others around Malcolm felt around him is also inspiring. Fair and impartial work not as inspirational as THe autobiography but inspiring. This will go down as a towering work of a true revolutionary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Mindless Behavior

    Keep her on the low subscribe and follow on keek please and thanku

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    A Good Soul Revealed

    I appreciated the opportunity this book provided for me to read about the man - not the myth, the teacher - not the zealot, the human - not the enemy -- "the real Malcolm". His youth, adulthood, conversion, advocacy, loves, dreams, efforts, adversaries, struggles, vacations, philosophies, and determination are explored openly and faithfully.
    A well told story of turbulent, violent times and the struggle for the respect of a people; and the tragic end for Malcolm X.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Like

    Like

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Knowing Malcolm X better. At Malcolm X’s funeral, Ossie Da

    Knowing Malcolm X better.
    At Malcolm X’s funeral, Ossie Davis said “if you knew him you would know why we must honor him.” Marable’s biography makes that more possible. He states that “Malcolm X should become a representative for hope and human dignity.” Everyone can take that from this superbly written biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Well Done!

    A compelling analysis of the life and legacy of this complex talent. This book is a must read.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    haijia

    this is a very good © written by a famous writer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Excellent and well researched

    This book is one history book for the ages. Its well researched and challenges us to think critically about the life and times of Malcolm X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5