Customer Reviews for

The Male Brain

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    A Must Read

    For Women, this book provides insight into why Men appear to be "crazy". We're not. We're just not Women.

    For Men, the explanations of brain structures and biochemical activity, coupled with the anecdotal stories from counseling sessions, provide insight and awareness into why we're ready to go after that idiot in traffic, push back against opposition, and fight for our perceived turf.

    We may not be able to stop our immediate reactions, but we can learn to get on top of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Applicable to everyone!

    If you interact with other humans, this book is very useful. It may help ease the tension in a relationship as the reader figures out some of the reasons men and women are different. Doesn't offer men excuses, but does proffer some reasons :) Easy to read, lighthearted, and relevant.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like this, you might like...

    A good read. Made me think of another book I read, When All Reason Fails, where the author has inserted journal entries of his main character (a male) and in each journal section this character speaks directly to women (from a male perspective) about men and rejection, trust and acceptance, love and lust, insecurities, vanity, aging, cheating and more. When I read The Male Brain the reason I thought of When All Reason Fails is that in it the author starts by saying, "It's all about sex (for men)" and then talks about when men are looking that they have an option 1 and option 2 mindset. Option one is that they've got one eye wide open that's always looking for their type, that special girl to fall in love with, while the other eye, option 2, is always on the prowl for their second option, looking to get laid, and they switch gears from option 1 to option 2 with great speed. He also talks about how option 1 and 2 is no longer just what men do, but what women are doing as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great and easy read

    In depth without being full of techno babble. Definitely in crease your understanding of self and others with this book. All while providing great insight and some laughs as you think back to your own personal experiences in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    This book is a must read for husbands and wives, fathers and mothers. If you have anything to do with the male of the species, this well researched and presented material will help you sleep better. It ranks right up there with The Female Brain. Thank you Dr. Brizendine! I've read both of them to my wife, and we only wish we could have had this better understanding when we started our marriage 45 years ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great book of teenagers to read in school

    I think that this is a good book for females to read because before i read this book i never trusted guys because i was always getting dumped so i only thought of them as cold hearted males who only wanted sex. but now that i am reading this book my whole perspective on guys has changed.

    I also think that guys should read the book The Female Brain that way they can understand us better to.

    I also think that (since i am a female teenager) they should have kids in high school read this so that we will understand eachother better.

    Cause i thiught that if we all understood eachother that there wouldnt be so much drama.

    - Dawn Funk

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Not as good as her other book

    The female brain was one of the most interesting books ever and this one just doesnt do it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Not as captivating as the female brain....

    This book had more of a textbook feel than the female brain. Found it a bit boring in comparison.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2