Customer Reviews for

Malice

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    My 9-year-old's interpretation

    Some parts were kind of creepy. It's about some kids who have heard about a comic book that the stuff in the comic book really happens and all they have to do is say a couple of words and they will be taken to the world where the comic book stuff takes place. Some friends got into the book and they met a new friend named Justin and he had been in Malice for a long time. One of the friends named Kady had been to Malice before but her mom hypnotized her to make her think that she had been in San Francisco with her cousin Jess. I found the book really interesting because it was creepy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Real Page-Turner

    This book is a lot of fun to read. There's non-stop action inside this attractive looking book. It's part novel/part graphic novel and I think YA fantasy readers can appreciate this combination which works extremely well for this book/series in particular.

    Since almost anything can happen, this story has you on the edge of your seat pretty much the whole time. The narrative is great and the characters are pretty well written. There are nice transitions between the real world and that of Malice. I like how the characters are adventurous; it keeps the story exciting.

    The graphic novel parts of the book really complement the story. They're refreshing. They give an idea of what the author had in mind. The illustrations are stunning. Because of the format of this book, I think it may attract many readers, especially those who are perhaps a little reluctant to read.

    Malice is a dark but fascinating world. There's still lots to learn about the characters and how Malice works and so I'm looking forward to the sequel, Havoc. There's still lots to explore, so I have a feeling there will be more after Havoc, at least that's what I'm hoping for. (bambireads.blogspot.com)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy Good

    This is a edge of your seat creepy good
    Thriller. I have read several of Chris Wooding's works.
    He mixes contemporary settings and the fantastical very
    well. I know this sounds lame but give it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Creepy and Addicting

    My librarian reccomended this book to me and I couldn't thank her enough! This book was scary, but at the same time impossible to put down. I reccomend this book to people 12+ because it can get VERY creepy if you let your imagination run a little too wild. But Malice has made it to my top 10 list!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Cool & Fascinating!

    Malice is one of the best books I have ever read! I would recommend this book to anyone that like a little bit frightening but adventurous story's! I read cover to cover in 4 days! it is a 378 page book! I find it appropriate for children 10 +. Some parts of the story are a little frightening but you get used to it! After a while I realized I couldn't stop reading! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    highly recommened

    Chris Wooding's malice is placed in a horror film like setting,a cause and effect plot, adn unbelievable characters.

    The setting is portrayed as a constant horror film with death at every corner. The setting starts in England, rural london. Black Dice Comics is the base opperations of selling the Malice comics. It is a dark, dull, depressing place.

    The brilliant setting is arranged by cause and effect. For example, luke (a minor character)says the chant "Tall Jake take me away". As a result he dies there.

    In conclusion Chris Wooding's Malice is an all around good book. I recommend the book for teens+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! A comic book exists that no parent knows about. It's fame and location of sale are only known by rumor. After you read it, the words fade within a few days. If you read the chant it holds inside six times with the right objects, Tall Jake will come to get you and suck you into his dangerous world. A world filled with life-drinking robots and things far worse. If you're lucky enough to survive and get a white ticket, you can return home, but there's no guarantee that you'll even remember your home when you get back. Will you be one of the lucky ones to make it home alive? An entertaining horror/adventure story for reluctant readers. The characters are well-developed and the bad guys are wonderfully creepy. The plot moves quickly and holds the reader's interest. Those who like comic books, video games, horror, and adventure will truly enjoy reading MALICE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Malice

    I found this to be a very good book. The words and comics blended nicely. There was a sort of dry humor to it. There characters felt very real, and there were engageing twists. Trust me, it's awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A Great Read for Horror Fans of All Ages

    I found this book on the shelf in the Children's Section of my local B&N. Intrigued by the highly embossed cover, I started reading it and bought it an hour later because I had to leave the store. Chris Wooding has written a thoroughly absorbing story set in England and the world of Malice. The switch between graphic novel and traditional format didn't seem gimmicky within the context of the story and was done very well. The characters are realistic, familiar people, and the plot is exciting. The language is not challenging, and I was tempted to give it to my 7-year-old daughter. Since she was scared by Gaiman's Skeleton Creek books, however, I sent it to my sister instead.

    I was both disappointed and thrilled to find that this is only the first in a series; disappointed because I wanted to know how the story ended, but thrilled because there would be more ventures into this world. Can't wait til the next one comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Anyone else notice the Poison crossover?

    If you read Wooding's earlier novel, Poison, you'll notice Andersen in that one too. He waltzes in and out of every story, it seems.
    The characters here were a bit flat and uninteresting, but the world concept is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Can't Descrbe It *screams*

    Malice rocks hardcore, I wasnt to read Havoc, I want to see what happens to Seth,Kady,Justin, Icarus, Miss. Benjamin, Tall Jake,and Grendal. I wonder if Marlowe is a part of the Queen of Cats? Who/what are the Queen of Cats? What happened to Tatyana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    BEST BOOK EVER!!

    I LOVE MALICE CANT WAIT FOR HAVOK!! KEPT ME ON MY TOES!! I GOT NIGHTMARES, BUT IM A WIMP SO IT WAS AWESOME!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    excellenteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee dat wat i am talkin about...it was marvelous

    great book...kinda freaky if u beleive it...=] but it is awesome and i luv the book...yay woot woot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lots of dead people SAD =[..especially since friends see their friends die in a comic book in the worst way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    rocked my sox off dawg

    hahahahaha it was GGGRRREEERAAEAT DAYWGYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYHJUHIJNHIHIJHLKILOIKJUHYUJHYUHYUYHGTYIK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2