Customer Reviews for

The Maltese Falcon

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Detective fans - pounce!

    Pulp fiction at its best. Not a feel good ending, but the only type of ending that mix of characters could product. Both the detective and a female character in the novel provided some inspiration for two of the characters in my novel. R Hemingway

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    "The Maltese Falcon" Still a Thrilling Read

    This remains one of the best detective thrillers of the genre. Many have copied the style, but no one comes close to Dashiell Hammett. His story is still fresh and original, in spite of the corniness of the dialog. But the reader should remember, if the dialog seems a bit hackneyed it's because it's been copied by hundreds of lesser writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Falconpaw

    Yep. ((Hello? I posted this yesterday...its 9:51 pm pacific...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Another solid noir

    Great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Duskshine

    I pad in silently a hold a paw up, and the walls are repaired. I then disappear into the forest.+Duskshine

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Great!

    The characters are so intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    You can read this again and again

    I read the book after seeing the movie numerous times. The book was good. It held up on it's own. Who need Bogart :-)

    It actually is a good story. Easy read. easy to get into and get lost in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging and fun to read.

    This is the grandfather of all dectective novels. Almost ever line that Sam Spade utters has become the basis for cliche. Any true dective mystery fan needs to have read the Maltese Falcon and to have it in their collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    The Maltese Falcon

    The Maltese Falcon is an intriguing book with many twists and turns. I would have never guessed who the person was that killed Miles Archer. I liked the author¿s style of writing very much. It was very descriptive and it kept you hooked. I would highly recommend this book to people who enjoy the board game ¿Clue¿. My only complaint is that the author¿s style was occasionally hard to understand. I could tell that it was written in the 1920s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    The Maltese Falcon

    The Maltese Falcon is an intricate story of a private detective, a beautiful woman, a perfume grafter, and a person whose name is Gutman. It all revolves around a mysterious solid gold falcon that is worth tons of money. I thought this was a very detailed book with plot twists that just grab the reader¿s attention that just keeps you reading. You want to keep going your brain trying to put together these events. If you love detective stories, or high suspense movies this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed reading Maltese Falcon. The story had a great plot and was easy to follow. The way Hammett described the characters¿ traits made it easy to visualize what the characters looked like. Hammett made it almost feel as if the characters were real. I had trouble keeping up with the characters at times, but I would defiantly read another book authored by Hammett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2