BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mama Does Time (Mace Bauer Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Mama did what?

Deborah Sharp's latest book Mama Does Time is a thrilling book about a local murder. A mom of three kids is caught with a body in the trunk of her car. Her car was parked at dairy queen when a by passer saw a hand sticking out of the trunk. This story takes you on a wil...
Deborah Sharp's latest book Mama Does Time is a thrilling book about a local murder. A mom of three kids is caught with a body in the trunk of her car. Her car was parked at dairy queen when a by passer saw a hand sticking out of the trunk. This story takes you on a wild ride as you try to figure this crime out. Is she guilty or was she framed? If you read this I guarantee you will enjoy this suspenseful novel as the truth unfolds.

posted by mysterybooks on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good story line

The characters are different & extremely interesting. The "Who Done it" part does holds your attention from the beginning, but it is a little slow going during the 1st quarter of the story. If you can reach the half way point it improves greatly. It does become hard to ...
The characters are different & extremely interesting. The "Who Done it" part does holds your attention from the beginning, but it is a little slow going during the 1st quarter of the story. If you can reach the half way point it improves greatly. It does become hard to put down from the middle to the end. I do look forward to seeing if the 2nd book of this series is as good or better.

posted by Roososs on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Mama did what?

    Deborah Sharp's latest book Mama Does Time is a thrilling book about a local murder. A mom of three kids is caught with a body in the trunk of her car. Her car was parked at dairy queen when a by passer saw a hand sticking out of the trunk. This story takes you on a wild ride as you try to figure this crime out. Is she guilty or was she framed? If you read this I guarantee you will enjoy this suspenseful novel as the truth unfolds.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mama Does Everything...

    And Mace is Everyman's idea of their favorite girl next door. Actually, Mace reminds me of some of my wife's best qualities. How could I not love a story based on my best thoughts of my favorite gal, my wife? Besides Mama's daughter, Mace, Mama also has two more neat daughters, Maddie and Marty, who add more depth. I hope to see more stories with Mama and her three gals. ----- Best wishes, Dave Wile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Delightful read!

    This book is a Hoot! I loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!

    I loved this book! The characters were original and the storyline fun...made me laugh out loud! I can't wait for the next one...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mama Does Time

    "Mama Does Time" by Deborah Sharp is faced paced novel has quite a few colorful and quirky characters. Set in Florida, Mama gets arrested because a dead body is found in the trunk of her car and her three daughters including Mace Bauer come to her rescue. It is a mystery so there are a few twists; but it is also an entertaining look at small town Florida. It is a quick read to snuggle up on your couch and finish in one weekend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Funny

    Very entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Good story line

    The characters are different & extremely interesting. The "Who Done it" part does holds your attention from the beginning, but it is a little slow going during the 1st quarter of the story. If you can reach the half way point it improves greatly. It does become hard to put down from the middle to the end. I do look forward to seeing if the 2nd book of this series is as good or better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out loud!

    I haven't laughed out loud since I read Janet Evanovich's last book. The main character, Mama, is your typical deep south, head of the family, pant suit wearing, married 4 times lady. Even Carl Hiaasen couldn't think up this character. When she finds a body in her blue convertible trunk, it is up to her girls to get her out of this mess, and as they say "Hilarity ensues".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    E

    Not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Enjoyed it!

    A fun read for mystery buffs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    A fast, fun read!

    Quirky characters, a twisty turny plot line... the result is a fun read! Looking forward to another book about Mace and her adventures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great story

    This was a great mystery novel with humor. I recommend this for anyone that loves mysteries as much as I do. I am 15 years old by the way but this book is for adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Very Good

    This book is well written and humorous. I highly recommend. The only downfall is that a couple parts dragged or repeated- otherwise it is enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Mama Dooes Time

    Very easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Great fun!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this, great vacation read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Steady page turner

    Good read, & will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Fun book

    A fun and quick read. In the same vein as the stephanie plum books...a more lucky then skilled Mace finds herself hunting down a murderer to prove her mama innocent. I ' d read her other books but they are too expensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Quick Read

    Fairly enjoyable. Wasn't overly predictable. I woul read this one again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    It's OK. This has a very promising premise, but it unfortunately

    It's OK.
    This has a very promising premise, but it unfortunately just didn't click for me. The mystery was a decent one, but the plot seemed forced. I did find myself laughing occasionally, but I also got seriously annoyed by the author's overuse of simile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Good mystery

    This book keeps you entertained and guessing who did it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17