Customer Reviews for

Mama Ruby

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended-You must check it out!!!!!

    Great Great Read on Mama Ruby. I was so happy that I have not read "Upper Room" because now I am so anxious to begin just wanting to know. Mary Monroe has done it again. She has lead us in to ruby's life and got me to compare growing up.
    Ruby is a typical preacher's daughters. She was a strong mined individual who knew what she wanted but at the same time, was very inexperience of the everyday things of life. She was young and due to ruby being sheltered by her parents and being a black Negros was very challenging to make something out of her life. Othello was so different from Ruby and I expected more from her. I was hoping that she would have done better base on her past life living with her prostitute mother with many sibling. I don't see any change was done in her life base on how she was living back home and she ending living the same way from what she was running away from.
    I believe that Ruby and Othello endured a lot of hardship and bad encounters but somewhat made them took life more serious but was expected more from them. Ruby was a self determined individual and was disappointed in her when she began making the same mistake. With being a mother, I knew how ruby felt about giving her baby up and was sadden to know that she was not over the baby (Maureen).
    Ruby got a lot of chances in life and got away every time, just curious on reading upper room and knowing what became of Ruby's future.
    I would recommend this book to all; it is a page turner and will be enjoyed from chapter. 1 -59....
    Congratulation Mary Monroe.



    Heather Williams
    Reviewed for the Sankofa Literary Society. Book provided by publisher for review purposes

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Prequel to the Upper Room

    If you have already read the Upper Room, you can still read this one and it ties together well. If not, read Mama Ruby first. Monroe does a wonderful job of evolving the character (Ruby) into what she becomes later in life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Justice was done!

    I am such a fan of Mary Monroe. All her books are page burners that keep you laughing and up all night reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    I hope ever has read any of this series-get this book. You need it to understand Ruby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Awsome Read

    This book is awesome !! Well worth the time and money ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Loved it!

    I read Upper Room first and had quite a few questions. This book answered the questions I had. It also gave me a different view on her best frend Othello.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Love this book

    Mama Ruby is wild!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Love it

    I could nnot put this book down i reaally enjoy her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Ok third sex

    O.o

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The story was fantastic from beginning to end. I could relate to

    The story was fantastic from beginning to end. I could relate to the characters. It was Breathtaking! I will definitely read author's next book. This book is heartily recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Good book

    I've been a fan of Mrs Monroe since I was about thirteen years of age. This novel was a definite page turner and I'd definitively recommend it to anyone that needs a good book to read.

    The main character (Ruby) Is definitively a wild one! she was defiant, promiscuous and bad to the bone lol. I wasn't to surprised when ruby found her father having relations with othellas mother due to the many clues throughout the reading. Overall this book held my interest. I loved the frank way that the characters talked and even found myself laughing at some of the things said. The only part of the book that I found myself rather annoyed was the entire baby situation with ruby, I know that there wouldnt be a sequel if she dint run off with othellas baby but I viewed the baby as a consequence of her promiscuous behavior and othella and her mom were only trying to help. So this entire grudge that Ruby had for all those years was somewhat ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    One of my reads from last summer! This book was great from the beginning to the end! I didnt want it to end! AMAZING BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Love Mama Ruby

    If u read The Upper Room...this is the prequel and it gave me a better understanding of why she was so crazy....lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    A good read, Ruby is one CRAZY little girl at the age of 8
    but, the apple do'nt fall to far from the tree cause her dad "the good Rev Upshaw" is just as bad!! started off very good but went down hill with all the sexin at such a young age!!(OMG Ruby)!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Mama Ruby

    This book was so good I could barely put it down even at work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!!

    A wonderful and powerful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Wonderful Book

    I absolutely enjoyed this book from the beginning to end. I always enjoy reading Mary Monroe's books and this one didn't let me down. Thanks MM for being an awesome novelist......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Loved it

    I wish it had been out before the upper room, but it was still good. It explained how and why she got the way she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Fantsstic

    Miss monroe you have done it again. This book was so funny, with mama ruby just doing her thing half the time not caring about anyone but herself. Also read the upper room. Hope the next one comes out soon . A much devoted reader thanks you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Fantastic read!!!

    This book had me reading all night and could not put it down. I loved the begining till the end. Well worth the time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6