Customer Reviews for

Mama's Gun

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Get into the NEO SOOOOOUL!!!!!

    ''mama's gun'' is one of the best R&b CDs that I have ever heard, it is a must-have for the neo-soul lover. Miss Badu changed alot of CD around at the last minute and you can tell because the song list isn't in the same order as the actual songs. ''Bag Lady'' is my favorite, I just hate how they played it so often on the radio, that people couldn't appreciate it for the great song that it is. Her voice is phenomenal, she really does represent the direction that R&B is going in, it has been awhile since we have really seen an artist who solely identifies her genre of music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SO HOT YOU COULD BURN YOURSELF!!!!!!!

    WHAT A GREAT ALBUM, IT IS SO TIGHT!!YOU'LL LOVE ONE SONG AFTER THE OTHER. I ESPECIALLY LOVE KISS ME ON MY NECK AND WAIT UNTIL YOU HEAR GREEN EYES!!!WHAT A FEELING THIS SONG WILL GIVE YOU..YOU WILL LOVE IT!!! ALSO HOT JOINTS ARE DIDN'T YA KNOW, ON AND ON, AND ORANGE MOON IS GREAT TOO!!!!!!DONT MISS THIS IF YOU LIKED BADUIZM...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mama's Gun- Pulled The Trigger

    Erykah Badu's most recent album is an eclectic mix of beats and music from the 70's, 80's, and 90's. The lyrics are fantastic and clear and make the listner think about the song, life, and their self. Erykah's voice is unique and while no Whitney Houston her vocals are at times even stronger because they express the raw emotion of her lyrics and are soft and sweet. Very relaxing. This matches up greatly to Baduizm and at some parts is even better because the lyrics seem so profound and personal. She is my favorite neo-soul artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YOU CAN LISTEN STRAIGHT THROUGH

    This CD is great. There aren't too many CD's that can be listened to from beginning to end and this is one of the few. The very last song ''Green Eyes'' is the best I think. I wish she would've included the words though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    mama's gun is smokin'

    ¿Mama¿s Gun¿ is a must-have for the millennium! the album hits stores on Tuesday november, 21, but i can honestly tell you from the reviews it has already received and the songs that i have heard, this cd is THE BOMB? don¿t believe me? find out for yourself. ¿du¿ the right thing and get the new album by erykah badu. ¿mama¿s gun¿ in stores november 21, 2001.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This lady has done it again.

    this is one of those albums that you don't get right off of the bat. It took me a total of three complete listens in random order to actually ''get it''. The songs on here are so broad that it can hit you at any level. These songs attach themselves to your mood. I was very anxious to hear this cd and I am definitly impressed. Mz. Badu consistently displays the talent that the ''Creator'' blessed her with. I recommend this for the young, old, men, and women. You can learn something about yourself after one listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Warriors Reminder = ''Mama's Gun''

    I enjoyed Ms. Badu's ''Mama's Gun''. It's a very good follow up to her classic Baduizm, which is a musical gem! Although Mama's Gun doesn't truly reach that freshness it come close. I know Erykah must have had the material for a double album, because this album comes in over 70 minutes, plus half the songs on the album are not even featured on the original album song list, so it shows that she did some last minute cutting and adding of songs. Even most of the songs listed on the album cover are out of place, pretty much expressing that at press time she had not completed the sequencing of the music. I later realized that she wanted each song to blend into the other, which is done very well on this album. I must admit that I was a bit disapointed that one of the songs ''Props To The Loney People'' didn't appear on the album, although it was listed on the album cover and lyric sheet. It would have also been very nice to get the remixed version of ''Bag Lady'' which is not included on the album. I thought the album should have at least had the remixed song, because the version on the album is not the one heard on the radio or seen in the video. Otherwise, despite those flaws I believe the album is truly worth the experience! She educates and motivates and the production is done very well. This album was delayed a long time, and I think it should have been delayed a little bit longer to get the song list on the album correct, because you'll have to guess at what song you're listening to because it doesn't correlate to the album song list on the back cover. Plus, the remixed version of ''Bag Lady'' should have been included. This may force people to buy the single version just to hear the song that blew up the charts. Seventy-One minutes of Badu is pretty good despite what they album could have been. I just imagine what happened to all of those songs that were listed on the first version of the album? Erykah should have definitely come out with a double album to satisfy her fans. ''Mama's Gun'' is satisfying, although is lacks the bold spirituality of her first album. The only reference we have to why she called the album ''Mama's Gun'' is from a poem she wrote which is listed on the cd booklet called ''The Warriors Reminder'', I think having a song expressing what the poem conveys would have been better than just a poem one has to read instead of listen to. I've been waiting three years for this album, although a little bit disapointed at what it could have been, I'm very satisfied because hearing 14 new songs by Ms. Badu is truly a treat and motivates one to think! God is Love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1