Customer Reviews for

Mama's Shoes

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Rebecca Elswic's debut novel is one of the best works of fiction

    Rebecca Elswic's debut novel is one of the best works of fiction I have read. She has created a wonderful group of characters focusing on the strength and beauty of the spirit of southern women. I am impressed by her skill in moving the storyline along by using different characters' points of view. Elswick demonstrates masterful storytelling and creates a thoroughly enjoyable read that keeps you engaged until the last page in this coming of age tale for both mother, Syliva and daughter, Sassy. I hope this is the first, of many adventures for Sassy. Hopefully Elswick is working on a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Sylvia Richardson is a widowed mother with a thirteen year old d

    Sylvia Richardson is a widowed mother with a thirteen year old daughter named Sarah Jane who is called Sassy by everyone. Sylvia or Sylvie to her friends works in a beauty shop with her best friend Madge and beauty shop owner. Sylvie gives life lessons to Sassy about shoes and other things. Sylvie tells Sassy that you tell alot about a woman by the shoes she wears. Sassy loves to read and always has book with her. The story weave a tale of past and present beautifully crafted to show a mother's love for her child even with all of her past and present mistakes. Sassy loves her mother but doesn't like the men who are always present in their lives. Sassy worries about her mother yet she cares what happens for both of their sakes. Aunt Hattie Mae Mason comes for her annual month long visit where she gives Sassy information on a boarding school called the Tacoma Ladies Academy for her to think about. Sassy's school assistant principal comes to see Sassy and her mother that Sassy could skip a grade for the upcoming school year. Sassy skips a grade yet becomes isolated from everyone and has no friends to talk with. Sylvie learns how unhappy Sassy is in school and sends a letter to Aunt Hat. Will Sassy ever be happy again? Can Sylvie help Sassy? Will Sassy go to boarding school? Will Sylvie share her past with Sassy? Your answers await you in Mama's Shoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    A week ago, I had three favorite books: Behind the Scenes at the

    A week ago, I had three favorite books: Behind the Scenes at the Museum, The House At Riverton and The House of the Spirits, from my forty years of reading.

    To this list I now add a fourth: Mama's Shoes.

    It just has that special something that really made me fall in love with it. Sylvie and Sassy and Coal Valley are so effortlessly alive that I feel like I've known them all, all my life.

    This is a book I know that if I live to be a hundred, I will never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A Poignant and Engaging Tale “Mama’s Shoes”

    A Poignant and Engaging Tale

    “Mama’s Shoes” is, in many ways, a tender coming of age story. But upon closer inspection, it is really about much more than that. The story, which takes place in a Virginia coal mining town during the 1940’s and 50’s, centers on the lives of a beautiful, charming and somewhat troubled, young widow, Sylvia Richardson and her adolescent daughter, Sassy.

    The story is told through the unique and distinctly different voices of both Sylvia and Sassy. Sylvia is a fast living hairdresser who, despite her special brand of wisdom and insight, never really grew up. Sassy, who is bookish, serious and very mature for her years, clearly loves and admires her mother; but often views Sylvia’s lifestyle through disapproving eyes.

    The multidimensional characters magically come to life within the first few pages. You soon have the feeling that you know them personally. It is hard to believe that they, and the quaint, cozy Appalachian town they inhabit, are works of fiction.

    “Mama’s Shoes” is a beautifully told tale about love, hope, family, harsh realities and the changes, both happy and sad, that life brings. Rebecca Elswick is a very gifted storyteller, who has sensitively crafted a touching and imaginative work of art. “Mama’s Shoes” is a literary journey to be remembered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Sassy and Sylvia Richardson, the mother/daughter duo, are at the

    Sassy and Sylvia Richardson, the mother/daughter duo, are at the heart of this often troubled and depressing, but ultimately heartwarming tale set in the fictitious town of Coal Valley, VA. Being from a small town in Northern West Virginia, I identified with the pride, strength, and character that can only come from an industrial town.

    While the author did capture much of the sense of place in Southwestern Virginia, there were times where it felt as though it was a bit forced. The dialogue proved to be a bit stilted at times, and errors and editing mistakes stood out just enough to pull the reader out of story.

    Too much backstory filled the middle of this tale, and the author pulled us away too soon from what was Sassy’s biggest decision in the novel. Details could have been left on the table, as they were answered later, but to jerk us out in the middle of a piece of dialogue, and then go back in time didn’t seem fair to the reader. The details were pertinent to the story, but there were better ways to do this that wouldn’t have seemed false or forced.

    The story did keep my attention and proved to be a quick read.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great read!

    A story of complications...people doing the best they can with the circumstances they are in. Filled with interesting characters and witty quips about life, the book is a great read for those looking for something with a little depth but no heavy baggage. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Awesome!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great

    Great book, i really enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    For anyone who loves Appalachian literature, this is a must-read! Once I started reading I simply could not put it down! The story is told from the point-of-view of three ladies: a daughter, her mother, and her mother's best friend over a time period of around 20 years. Ms. Elswick has a gift for descriptive writing and her use of Appalachian sayings and dialogue paint a scene so vivid in the mind of reader that you truly feel you are there, watching the story unfold. Brilliantly done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This is a must read for everyone who enjoys a good book! I couldn't put it down once I started reading it! It's just simply a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Awesome!!

    If I never read a book about Appalachian women, that is because when you've read the best, it is hard to read anything else. This is a wonderful story about a woman, a widow, rasing her daughter in a small mountain town. I just hope that this is the first of many stories to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1