Customer Reviews for

Mammoth

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    I have read most if not all of john varleys stories, and as usual I found this one to be one of my favorites...RADAR...

    I would like to see John Varleys "GAEAN TRILOGY" on my "NOOK", I READ THEM EVERY FOUR OR FIVE YEARS. The story keeps getting better...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    It has it all

    This book is amazing, I do not read allot of sci-fi, but this takes the cake, crazy Billionare, time travel, mammoths, LAZERS! What more does one need? Nothing this is perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    Time travel gone awry

    I love a good time travel book and this one has all the ingredients for one. It does get a little bogged down and side tracked about mid way through the book, but overall it is a good read. Howard Christian is a very rich man who buys whatever he wants, and at the moment he wants to breed a Woolly Mammoth, so he hires a team to find and excavate a frozen Mammoth, so that he can have the DNA extracted to create a elephant/mammoth hybrid. When the crew discovers a caveman's body frozen next to the carcass wearing a very modern wristwatch, Howard's obsession takes a turn. A metal briefcase lying next to the caveman has to be a time machine, so Howard goes about hiring the best of the best to figure out how to make it work, which is Matt Wright, the smartest mathematician around. In the meantime, Howard continues his quest to breed the Mammoth by hiring Susan Morgan, an elephant trainer, to help care for the elephant that has been artificially inseminated with the elephant/mammoth embryo. Working next door to each other in a warehouse on their separate projects, Susan and Matt meet and fall in love. When an accident sends the two of them back in time, to the Ice Age, and then home again, with half a dozen living, breathing Mammoths accidentally transported forward in time, their lives change forever. Who was the caveman found next to the Woolly Mammoth and how does it relate to Matt & Susan's jaunt back in time? This really is a good story, with a fantastic, ending that brings the whole thing together and makes you wonder? Is time travel possible?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Great Book

    Great book to read by the pool. Enjoyed thoroughly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Pure entertainment

    Like most of Varley's work, this novel has a crisp style and interesting story. It kept me entertained throughout and I devoured it quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Herein Lies the Future?

    John Varley is good science fiction writer but this book, which I could hardly wait to get and read, was disappointing. The beginning and the end were up to Varley's standards. It was the middle of the book that made you turn pages one after the other without reading them. A lot of information that was not relevent to anything and when it was relevent, it was boring. The concept is great but it needed more creative development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific science fiction thriller

    Multibillionaire Howard Christian is known for a lack of patience and obsession when he sets a stretch goal. Currently, he has his team searching Nunavent Territory, Canada in a quest to find a wooly mammoth, which they do thanks to the Inuit. Howard wants to clone one with his plan to use the bull¿s testicles to provide DNA to have expert Dr. Susan Morgan in vitro fertilize an elephant.................... However, a corpse by the frozen mammoth reveals two startling developments, a body with a wristwatch on and a brief case with words in English etched on it. Meanwhile Howard hires the world¿s leading mathematical physicist on time theories Professor Matthew Wright to lead a team repairing a time machine that Howard possesses. As Matthew and Susan wonders what is gong on and who is the corpse with the watch, they ponder what Howard¿s true agenda actually is.......................... MAMMOTH is a terrific science fiction thriller with a fabulous final twist that will shock the audience. The story line grips the audience who will wonder along with the two leading scientists why Howard is pushing both paths and how the briefcase and watch got to the prehistoric epoch mindful of a classic EC comic involving modern day scientists and the first creature trying to leave the sea. The cast is a delight as the prime players seem real, but it is the science in which John Varley has HG Wells meets Jurassic Park that hooks the audience....................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Not up to the writers mark

    I tried several times to continue reading the story but could not get interested in such a tar pit plot so I decided that fate should take a hand and I left it on a subway seat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    King of Misdirection ...What a Great Twist

    This was an outstanding book that used the native lanscape. I thought I knew where he was going only to be sent for a spin.Bravo! John Varley built great characters with everday flaws and needs. How many kinds of Mammoths are there? Did early man eat them? What is the gestation of an elephant? Read and learn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1