BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mammoth Hunters (Earth's Children #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(208)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SPECTACULAR SETTINGS AND STORYLINE

Great book for 3rd in Series. Characters rich and well thought out by writer. References to plant life/usage on the mark. Animal descriptions as accurate as I've ever seen. Geographical/topical detail in minutae. Ms Auel is often redundant with prior story backgroun...
Great book for 3rd in Series. Characters rich and well thought out by writer. References to plant life/usage on the mark. Animal descriptions as accurate as I've ever seen. Geographical/topical detail in minutae. Ms Auel is often redundant with prior story background and descriptions of locals and plantlife, but above all the reading is still great. This series of books would make a great collection for a personal library so it could be read again and/or shared with others.

posted by jansquared on August 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

multiple typos

I cant believe almost EVERY page had typos to include special characters instead of letters... names switched which was confusing... what a mess... i recommend just reading it hard copy its not worth the frustration of reading it on your Nook!

posted by 9560546 on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SPECTACULAR SETTINGS AND STORYLINE

    Great book for 3rd in Series. Characters rich and well thought out by writer. References to plant life/usage on the mark. Animal descriptions as accurate as I've ever seen. Geographical/topical detail in minutae. Ms Auel is often redundant with prior story background and descriptions of locals and plantlife, but above all the reading is still great. This series of books would make a great collection for a personal library so it could be read again and/or shared with others.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Could not put it down

    You definately need to read Clan of the Cave Bear and Valley of the Horses first. They would not be nearly as good out of order. Wonderful insite into how early man developed and lived but written in such an exciting and romantic fashion. Excited to start the next in the series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    So so I guess...

    If this the first in the series you read you may like it, but it was the third for me. I found myself literally skipping over multitude of pages. It is like the author was looking for "filler" to 'make' a book. The descriptions of the environment, the animals, the feelings, the plants, the flint carving, everything went too far. Drama drama drama. I didn't like it much but had already paid for it, so I skimmed it. Don't spend money on it; go to a library and check it out for free.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    multiple typos

    I cant believe almost EVERY page had typos to include special characters instead of letters... names switched which was confusing... what a mess... i recommend just reading it hard copy its not worth the frustration of reading it on your Nook!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Adored this one too. Must get the rest of the series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have been a fan of the Earth's Children series by Jean M. Auel for many years. Always waited impatiently for the next book in the series. Love all the descriptions she gives of plants, animals and landscapes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    eBook errors are plentiful - on entire series!!!

    So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had been - NEVER occurred to me that B&N didn't get access to the electronic files which the printers use when printing up new books, right? - NEVER occurred to me these books were OCRed, which means that many times the words are incorrect or missing. There are formatting issues like italics where it does not belong, a sentence that runs right off the page of the Nook never wrapping around. Punctuation that was incorrect or completely missing. And, unlike the old classics, we have to PAY for this. I actually needed to use my hard copy to be sure of what I was reading - in each edition!
    I wrote a letter of disgust to B&N, and was told - in short, that my issues were being sent on to the publisher and when they made corrections, it would automatically be uploaded to my Nook - BUT, that I was not entitled to any kind of refund per B&N blah, blah, blah.... Very sad. I have many other books on my Nook that are 10 & 20 years old yet there are no "typos" in those books. Be warned!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A worthy addition to the Earth's Children series

    This third book in the series is written just as well as the two before it. The descriptions of the plant and animal life make it easy to picture what these steps and plains must have been like. In this story, Ayla and Jondalar set out of the valley with their horses to explore the surrounding area. They come across the Lion Camp of the Mamutoi (Mammoth Hunters) and are invited to stay the winter with them. I thought it was fascinating to read how these people built an earth lodge complete with a hearth for each family, annexes for food storage and sweat baths and that they constructed it out of mammoth bones, hides, sod and silty mud. The interactions between these people, their social order, customs and beliefs were so vividly described, I felt as if I was there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    The Best Book I Have Ever Read

    The Mammoth Hunters are people that gave Ayla her home and her new friends. The book shows the life of two travellers among the Hunters. Jondalar loves Ayla and he is afraid to lose her. Ayla feels the same towards Jondalar, but she doesn't know if he loves her. The story is breathtaking and I am going to read the 4th book. Please, don't stop writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Finished reading 12/3/11

    Interesting ready to read plains of passage

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Good Book, Terrible EBook Conversion

    Seems like the publisher ran this series through OCR conversion and didn't bother to spellcheck. The name "Brun" ends up being "Bran" until halfway through the book. Vowels are interchanged with predictably confusing results. This ebook is still able to be read and understood, but who wants to pay for a book filled with typos?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The first two books were better

    I have a strong love/hate relationship with this book. It wasn't nearly as good as the previous two books, and it was dragged on far too long. I felt that I would have enjoyed the novel a lot more if Jean had made it a few hundred pages shorter. The love story was nearly unbearable for me to read as the tension and frustration between the characters could have so easily been fixed yet they couldn't seem to figure it out for the entire book.

    However, this book is addicting. Once you start, you need to know how it's going to end. I definitely recommend reading the series. (Or if you are lazy, at least read the first two books).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    AWESOME BOOK!

    This book was one of the best in the series. I cannot put it down and can't wait to finish Ayla and Jondalar's adventures and find out if she stays a Mamutoi or stays with Jondalar - although I think I know which one she's gonna choose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Fantastic reading for learning our past

    It's hard to doubt Darwin as far as his adaptation toughts go once you start reading Ms. Auel's "Mammoth Hunters". She brings a beautiful tale to life with exciting and in depth gimplises of our pre- historic forefathers. I wish we could as a whole live in harmony with nature & each other as they did. I Iove this book tremendously, I've read it several times already and I'm sure I'll read it again & again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Very good book- must get!

    I highly recommend this book and all the other books in this series by Jean M. Auel, even though I'm only in the middle of book 4 right now. I wouldn't recommend starting the series from this book, but it's worth reading if you have read the first two in the series. The problems Jondalar and Ayla get into in this book are resolved in the very last chapter, and I was sad to see them leave the Mamutoi, but all in all it was a very well written book. I'm going to continue the series until the end, even though I'm bogged down doing other things for work. Anyone who is interested in prehistory or the lives of the Cro-Magnon will find this series exceptionally well researched and brings to life the lives of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Amazibg Amazing

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    One Star Only Because There Were No Lesser Options

    Humping and horticulture. Big schwanzes and berries while drying meat for freezing winters. Okay, that's the story. Ms. Auel really betrayed two great characters, Ayla and Jondalar, from the first two wonderful books in this series, Clan of the Cave Bear and Valley of the Horses, and went somewhere I had no desire to go. Books 4-6 are even worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Fantastic!

    A friend loaned me book one "The Clan of the Cave Bear". I am now hooked. "The Mammoth Hunters" is fantastic. Jean Auel really digs into the life of humans of that era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    It was good

    But it was my least favorite of the series. Still a GREAT read tho just not my personal favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    VERY VERY VERY GOOD---"EXCEPT" FOR CERTAIN DETAILS

    ONLY THING I DON'T CARE FOR IS ALL THE "DETAILED" SEX ACTS

    Yes I am going to continue with the series
    Yes I would recommend this series for book club discussions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18