Customer Reviews for

The Mammoth Hunters (Earth's Children #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(208)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SPECTACULAR SETTINGS AND STORYLINE

Great book for 3rd in Series. Characters rich and well thought out by writer. References to plant life/usage on the mark. Animal descriptions as accurate as I've ever seen. Geographical/topical detail in minutae. Ms Auel is often redundant with prior story backgroun...
Great book for 3rd in Series. Characters rich and well thought out by writer. References to plant life/usage on the mark. Animal descriptions as accurate as I've ever seen. Geographical/topical detail in minutae. Ms Auel is often redundant with prior story background and descriptions of locals and plantlife, but above all the reading is still great. This series of books would make a great collection for a personal library so it could be read again and/or shared with others.

posted by jansquared on August 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So so I guess...

If this the first in the series you read you may like it, but it was the third for me. I found myself literally skipping over multitude of pages. It is like the author was looking for "filler" to 'make' a book. The descriptions of the environment, the animals, the feeli...
If this the first in the series you read you may like it, but it was the third for me. I found myself literally skipping over multitude of pages. It is like the author was looking for "filler" to 'make' a book. The descriptions of the environment, the animals, the feelings, the plants, the flint carving, everything went too far. Drama drama drama. I didn't like it much but had already paid for it, so I skimmed it. Don't spend money on it; go to a library and check it out for free.

posted by Roxie56 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Snowpaw to wolfheart

    U lied to me u said everyone had left ur so mean jk

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Stormtail to Greenstar and Nashclaw

    Sorry i havent been on, ill be on friday because im working on a project. Blazingstar is trying to find territory for Clawclan... Any help for her?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Lost

    Hi I'm snowsuit my mom left her camp and took me with her then a twoleg killed her can I join earthclan

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    My name is chris sanchez and i love the book.

    I live in new joysey. The book greatly depicts mikes chubby chasing habits even though he tells bebo and i that he doesnt do fat chicks. In the end hus last gf turns out to be a trany then melvin gets touched in jail by various male soldiers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's taken me a while but I love this book.

    I've been working on this series off and on for about 12 years. I bought them right after I graduated high school and didn't realize at the time the mental fortitude this series takes to read. At 18 I just didn't have the patience to read 700 pages. But now that I'm a bit older I can really appreciate this series.

    Since I did start the series 12 years ago I feel like Ayla's been a part of my life for quite a while. She pops in to say hello every few years. So I've really become attached to her. It's hard for me to criticize this book at all because I do love Ayla and Jondalar so much. But it took me forever to read The Mammoth Hunters. I started this book in the summer of 09 and had to put it down about half-way through. Partly because I had just finished reading The Valley of the Horses and partly because the romance scenes were becoming a bit too much for me. Don't get me wrong, I'm far from a prude (believe me) but it just felt like all Ayla and Jondalar did was make love.

    I'm glad I picked it back up. As it really is a great story. Again, I do seem to have a bit of an attachment to Ayla and Jondalar so I may be a bit biased here, but I really do like this series. There are times when I think the descriptions go a bit more into detail than necessary, but they also create such a vivid picture as to where the characters are and what is going on. The Mammoth Hunters introduces us to so many new characters I didn't think I'd ever get them all straightened out, but as the story goes on I really didn't have any problems keeping track of everyone.

    I obviously like the main characters but I really liked the Mammoth Hearth. Tulie, Talut, and Frebec are probably my favorite new characters. Frebec comes off as being a bit of a jerk at first but he's really loyal and protective. He also seems to have a bit of a soft side that, like most men, he was trying to hide. Tulie and Talut are great characters. They are strong, wise, serious, playful, and humorous all at the same time. They just seemed so real to me.

    While I don't think I'll be reading Plains of Passage anytime in the near future, knowing it's sitting on my bookshelf is a bit of a comfort too me. When I decide I need to see what Ayla and Jondalar are up to I can just pick it up and start reading it. It's like a having one of those great friends that even if you don't talk for awhile you can sit down and have a conversation and it feels like no time has passed at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Great book!

    I really love this series, and this book is not only a great entertaininhg story, you learn a lot about the Ice Age and what it may have been like. Auel's books are different from anything else I've ever read, creative fiction combined with an education in prehistoric history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Recommended

    I would read other books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing Dumbo

    OK, you meet a group of people who hunt mammoth. They have tools you haven't seen before and offer to adopt you....oh, and by the way, there is a child who is from the Clan and a man of color that proves to be intriguing. How much stuff can happen to one woman. I read it because it was part of a series, but would not read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Great book!

    I cried with this book and I don't think I ever have, it is another great book in this series, and I am hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Typo magnificent

    Even tjough it has the occasional typo (suck it up and read through it you wouses!) It was the most incredible sereis i have ever read in my life. 8 buck gave me a whole new (better) outlook on my life. Read this book. It will change you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a favorite

    The whole Jean Auel series is incredible. From the first book to the highly anticipated last coming out later this month once you start reading you want MORE MORE MORE. But be careful... you may learn something along the way.

    I highly recommend these books. The characters pull you in and it feels like you personally know each and every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Doesn't Auel employ a copy editor?!! There are so many pistakes it is hard to read! I would buy more of her looks, even though the love daking scenes are sophmoric, but every cage has a misspelled word, entences don't make sense, or etc.

    Very dificult to swallow the English written language being so butchered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    I loved it and the best way to read it is as an ebook on my nook!!!!!!

    The story is great and much better appreciated as I didn't have to hold a big book or one with tiny print. The continukation of tkhe story of Ayla and Jondalar has me anticipating reading the next 2 in print and the new one coming (it can't come too soon). I know Jean Auel does extensive research but I hate waiting so long between each new book.

    Sally B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    soooooooo good!

    i cant even begin to tell you how hooked i was to this book. i read in the car in the tub @ work i couldnt get enough the charaters are great. the story is just timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Love The Story - Sound quality issues

    I actually had this on an older release that was damaged and I don't remember the issues with the sound quality changing like it does on this.

    The story is wonderful and the sound issues are minimal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    well reviewed and interestingly written book

    This Book is one of 4 written on earth children by this Author. I found this Book as the other 3 very informative, good reading and memorable. I read a lot of Books, and have found this series to be one of the best, it sticks in my mind. A lot of things she writes about, natural herbs etc, are still used in Europe. I am WAITING for book 5, did the woman in the Book ever meet the son she was forced to leave behind with the people of the Cave, or was she re-united??? I wish this writer would finish this series, my friend who got me hooked reading this series died prior to the final chapter, she was waiting for the conclusion, as am I. This is a must read, I was facinated with each Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    Oh the Eternal Triangle

    I thought this book was very good and enjoyed reading it, except for the excessive drawn-out, how-long-is-this-going-to-go-on love triangle. I got to the point where I skipped over those parts--Jondalar thought this about Alya and that about Ranec, Ranec thought this about Alya and that about Jondalar, and finally Alya thought this and that about one or the other. Chapter after chapter I kept hoping it would be resolved. Finally in the last chapter it was! Like I mentioned, other than that a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Gotta read this book!

    I think that Ms. Auel is a very good author and she has a great imagination. They way that she talks to ur in her books is outstanding! It takes us back to the begining of man kind and explains their way of life as if she had been there for herself. I am only 12 and i read this book with lots of enjoyment. I can't wait to read what's next! Great book! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Great Read

    Ayla leaves the valley where she has spent her time hunting, tanning skins and taming animals. She takes her wolf and her two horses and goes with Jondalar, the first person she has met who is one of her own kind. She finds among `the others¿, the Mammoth Hunters, admiration from men and friendship from women. She accepts a proposal of marriage and agrees to be adopted by the tribes leaders. After a lifetime of believing she is ugly by the clan she is surprised to find that the others find her beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    Could have been better

    This being the continuation to "The Valley of the Horses" most people expected this book to be good. I have to agree with most of the other readers, the book dragged on and on about how jelouse Jondalar was and how Ayla dind't know what was happening and then falling into Ranecs arms. You have to read about 600 pages before Ayla and Jondalar finally get together. On the other hand I did enjoy learning about these poeple "The Mamutoi/Mammoth Hunter", I do love how Jean Auel explains in such detail their every day life. I just finished "The Plains of passage" and I thought it was amazing, thank god she went to her old way of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18