Customer Reviews for

The Mammoth Hunters (Earth's Children #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(209)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SPECTACULAR SETTINGS AND STORYLINE

Great book for 3rd in Series. Characters rich and well thought out by writer. References to plant life/usage on the mark. Animal descriptions as accurate as I've ever seen. Geographical/topical detail in minutae. Ms Auel is often redundant with prior story backgroun...
Great book for 3rd in Series. Characters rich and well thought out by writer. References to plant life/usage on the mark. Animal descriptions as accurate as I've ever seen. Geographical/topical detail in minutae. Ms Auel is often redundant with prior story background and descriptions of locals and plantlife, but above all the reading is still great. This series of books would make a great collection for a personal library so it could be read again and/or shared with others.

posted by jansquared on August 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So so I guess...

If this the first in the series you read you may like it, but it was the third for me. I found myself literally skipping over multitude of pages. It is like the author was looking for "filler" to 'make' a book. The descriptions of the environment, the animals, the feeli...
If this the first in the series you read you may like it, but it was the third for me. I found myself literally skipping over multitude of pages. It is like the author was looking for "filler" to 'make' a book. The descriptions of the environment, the animals, the feelings, the plants, the flint carving, everything went too far. Drama drama drama. I didn't like it much but had already paid for it, so I skimmed it. Don't spend money on it; go to a library and check it out for free.

posted by Roxie56 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The first two books were better

    I have a strong love/hate relationship with this book. It wasn't nearly as good as the previous two books, and it was dragged on far too long. I felt that I would have enjoyed the novel a lot more if Jean had made it a few hundred pages shorter. The love story was nearly unbearable for me to read as the tension and frustration between the characters could have so easily been fixed yet they couldn't seem to figure it out for the entire book.

    However, this book is addicting. Once you start, you need to know how it's going to end. I definitely recommend reading the series. (Or if you are lazy, at least read the first two books).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Doesn't Auel employ a copy editor?!! There are so many pistakes it is hard to read! I would buy more of her looks, even though the love daking scenes are sophmoric, but every cage has a misspelled word, entences don't make sense, or etc.

    Very dificult to swallow the English written language being so butchered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    Could have been better

    This being the continuation to "The Valley of the Horses" most people expected this book to be good. I have to agree with most of the other readers, the book dragged on and on about how jelouse Jondalar was and how Ayla dind't know what was happening and then falling into Ranecs arms. You have to read about 600 pages before Ayla and Jondalar finally get together. On the other hand I did enjoy learning about these poeple "The Mamutoi/Mammoth Hunter", I do love how Jean Auel explains in such detail their every day life. I just finished "The Plains of passage" and I thought it was amazing, thank god she went to her old way of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    Not as good as the first two

    This is the third book in this series and it simply pales in comparison to the first two. This book really has nothing to sustain the narrative drive. Although meeting the Mamutoi, domesticating wolf and going on Mammoth hunts were moderately entertaining,it can not sustain a 645 page novel. Half of this book is a soap opera romantic triangle with Jondalar, Ayla and Ranec.Please!!! Did anyone think Ayla would leave Jondalar for Ranec? Consequently, you are just marking time until the star crossed lovers get back together again. And when the sex scenes occur more often then every 100 pages, you know the author is floundering. However, with all this I don't blame Ms. Auel for such a contrivance. I was yelling, "Where is her editor?" most of the time.Tell the author that she is dragging out this love triangle to the detriment of advancing the storyline. And for Ayla to tell Mamut that she has something for his "arthritis" was simply too much. Why the editor was not pointing this out is hard to comprehend. Wouldn't "painful bones" gotten the point across and stayed true to the story? I will read the next book in the series because I enjoyed the first two books so much. I think this book shows that you can't hit a home run every time you come to bat. Call this one a single.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Subtract the characters & you've got a Biology Book

    I'm confused. This book is considered a stand-alone novel? Where's the plot? Where are the characters? Ooh, I'm sorry, I almost didn't see them, sandwiched between all the details of flora, fauna, hunting techniques and summaries of all previous happenings. Unless you are fascinated only with objects of pre-historic times, don't waste your time or money on this book. And Jean Auel, don't bother writing the sixth book in the Earth's Children series. Save all the 'fascinating' prehistoric details for a dry, paleontology textbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3