Customer Reviews for

Man Gave Names to All the Animals

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing illustrations with a classic song/story

This book is beautifully illustrated, but the story/song is also fantastic. It's the Bob Dylan song (that many are familiar with!) and it comes with the CD with the song on it. It's actually a children's CD that I don't go crazy listening to after the 500th time! An...
This book is beautifully illustrated, but the story/song is also fantastic. It's the Bob Dylan song (that many are familiar with!) and it comes with the CD with the song on it. It's actually a children's CD that I don't go crazy listening to after the 500th time! And trust me, we have probably really listened to it 500 times! My kids love it! I put it in and the first time they just dance around. Then the second time they sit and look at the gorgeous pictures in the book. And then, they usually play it about 10 more times before taking a break. They read the book alone as well. Well, they just look at the pictures since they can't read, but soon they will have it all memorized and can at least pretend to read it!
I can say that as a parent this book is perfect. I can read/sing it to them pretty quickly and the illustrations are beautiful and you find new animals every time. Like I said, the CD isn't annoying (who doesn't like Bob Dylan?!) and I don't go crazy listening to it over and over. The book can keep the kids entertained by itself if the CD were to break.
This has been THE BOOK for the past week since it arrived on our front porch. We got other books too but this is the one they are so focused on they haven't even paid attention to the others!
I have the new edition illustrated by Jim Arnosky. I didn't even know about a previous edition but looking through reviews it becomes apparent that there was one!

posted by Candacemom2two on September 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't get this on the Nook

I thought it would come with the soundtrack, but it didn't. The point of the book was to illustrate Dylans song but this is just pictures and words. Without the music it completely misses the point.

posted by dauer on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Don't get this on the Nook

    I thought it would come with the soundtrack, but it didn't. The point of the book was to illustrate Dylans song but this is just pictures and words. Without the music it completely misses the point.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Amazing illustrations with a classic song/story

    This book is beautifully illustrated, but the story/song is also fantastic. It's the Bob Dylan song (that many are familiar with!) and it comes with the CD with the song on it. It's actually a children's CD that I don't go crazy listening to after the 500th time! And trust me, we have probably really listened to it 500 times! My kids love it! I put it in and the first time they just dance around. Then the second time they sit and look at the gorgeous pictures in the book. And then, they usually play it about 10 more times before taking a break. They read the book alone as well. Well, they just look at the pictures since they can't read, but soon they will have it all memorized and can at least pretend to read it!
    I can say that as a parent this book is perfect. I can read/sing it to them pretty quickly and the illustrations are beautiful and you find new animals every time. Like I said, the CD isn't annoying (who doesn't like Bob Dylan?!) and I don't go crazy listening to it over and over. The book can keep the kids entertained by itself if the CD were to break.
    This has been THE BOOK for the past week since it arrived on our front porch. We got other books too but this is the one they are so focused on they haven't even paid attention to the others!
    I have the new edition illustrated by Jim Arnosky. I didn't even know about a previous edition but looking through reviews it becomes apparent that there was one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Love the hard copy

    I love the book and the song and was hoping it was a read to me book so my kids can enjoy such a beautiful song but its just the book. I recommend just buying the book with the cd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gorgeous Picture Book featuring Bob Dylan's Song & Jim Arnosky's artwork

    On August 20, 1979, Bob Dylan dropped "Slow Train Coming" on which there was a song, "Man Gave Names to All the Animals." The song was not an allegory; it had no deep, hidden meaning. It simply told of man walking along, observing animals, and naming them. It's not the only simple song that Dylan ever wrote, but with its island-like beat, it is infectious. This is a Bob Dylan song that can be shared with very young children, requiring little explanation. And it's a great one to get up and jump around to, or -- if you prefer -- dance.

    Award-winning children's illustrator Jim Arnosky has taken Dylan's lyrics and paired them with a beautifully vibrant storybook, "Man Gave Names to All the Animals," that captures the happy, funky sound of the original song.

    Packaged with the book is a CD with the song performed by Bob Dylan. It warms my baby-boomer heart to imagine three-year-olds rocking to classic Dylan. Can "Maggie's Farm" be far behind?

    Arnsoky has populated his book with an astounding variety of animals (yes, even a flamingo) from all parts of the world. There are fish, birds, insects, and mammals that would never see each other in life (except on Animal Planet) gathered together on the pages of "Man Gave Names to All the Animals," and the effect is enchanting.

    While most of the animals are familiar, there are sure to be a few that stump readers. There are more than 170 animals illustrated, and they are listed at the end of the book, alphabetically. Those who need clues so that they, too, can name the animals can go to www.jimarnosky.com.

    "Man Gave Names to All the Animals" is a fun book for adults and children to share, made even better by the inclusion of the CD, making it perfect for a sing-along -- or a silly-along if you prefer. Keep this lovely hardcover book in mind for holiday gift-giving...and don't forget the kazoos!

    Bottom Line: Would I buy "Man Gave Names to All the Animals"? You better believe it! (Hitting the street September 7, it is now available for pre-order.)

    Originally appeared on blogcritics.org

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Beautiful, but . . .

    My grandson loves this on my color Nook, but if you expect the soundtrack to be included, you will be disappointed! Only the hard copy version includes the music CD apparently -- the Nook version is read-only!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great book!!!

    I love this book. I grew up with Dylan as a high school student and though he was just plain wierd. Now I'm an adult and recognise his genius. I'm teaching this song to my children's choir as aperformance piece. Buy this book... great song and stunning art. It's worth every penny of the cost. Take it from a teacher and a musician. Ignore the negative reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    asome. xoxoxo it

    omg omg omg i loveeee this book. asome. stop saying bbad things abouut m book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    This is A BEAUTIFUL book.......but what a RIPOFF for the price!

    No music like the book that can be purchased with discount @ store or Amazon! I want a Refund! RIPOFF.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Not recommended

    Not a read to me book. Would have liked to hear the music the ad referred to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    absolutely beautiful!

    It bothers me that the reviews complain about the book not 'reading to them.' The pount of reading is to actually read. This is a pure form of entertainment and it is gorgeous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    bad

    worst ,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    No read to me!

    This book has no read to me option on my iPad nook app- waste of money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2