Customer Reviews for

The Man Must Marry

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    After reading all about the highlanders, Midnight Bay, Spellbound Falls I decided to try the Sinclair Brothers. Definitely happy I tried this. There was a bunch of humor, energy between the hero and herione, and heartfelt moments. Truly an unique and wonderful story that is a Chapman book. You will not be disappointed. Be sure to read the second in the series. I hope there will be a third eventually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Janet Chapman is the best

    The first book in the Sinclair brothers series is a wonderful beginning. How Sam has to prove to Willa that he loves her is just heartwarming and melting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    ALWAYS ROMANTIC N FUNNY AND MAKE YOU LAUGH

    I never tell the story but then u know what its about. Shes a gifted writer n ive read all but one book now. Not into smut but like fun n romance her books r it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I loved this book

    This book was hilarious, sweet, and just an overall lovely read. The characters were well developed, likable and had delightful personalities. I laughed out loud and teared up at different points in this book. I strongly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    LOVED IT!

    This is the first Janet Chapman book I have read and I am looking forward to reading more of her books. This book was funny and romantic. There is explicit sex, so if you do not like that in a book, either do not read this book or skip those pages. If you love romantic comedy, you will really enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good!

    I enjoyed this book and can't wait for the sequels to come out. I admit it wasn't as good as the highlander series, but I couldn't put it down nonetheless. Recommend as a good rainy day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOO-WHOOOOOO! Sam Sinclair's so sweet

    Absolutely AMAZING!<BR/><BR/>Janet Chapman thrills again!<BR/><BR/>All of her books are wonderfully thrilling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this!

    I picked up one of Janet Chapman's paranormal romances months ago and was instantly hooked. Janet Chapman is now one of my favorite romance authors. She has an amazing gift for bringing characters to life, and the characters in The Man Must Marry are no exception. I got caught up in this story very quickly and enjoyed every minute of my reading. My housework and other tasks suffered because I couldn't put this book down :), but it was a wonderful escape. I highly recommend this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Man Must Marry by Janet Chapman

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Nov08<BR/><BR/>I just can¿t resist the hero who has to work hard to win the love of his lady. Can you? If not, you won¿t be disappointed with ¿The Man Must Marry¿ by Janet Chapman. I¿m a big fan of her series about time-traveling highlanders, and enjoyed most of the other contemporaries she wrote. But this story rates right up there as my favorite of her contemporaries so far. I think it¿s likely due to the engaging heroine with her many `faults¿ and the sexy man who sets out to win her heart.<BR/><BR/>Willa has come to New York to do a favor for a friend. Bram is dying and he asked her to go to his company¿s shareholder¿s meeting and vote his proxy for the interim CEO, one of his three grandsons. And poor Willa is supposed to `get to know¿ all three and decide which one should take over! While Willa is definitely NOT thrilled about Bram¿s request, she finally gave in and here she is. She may not be a big-city type, but her own firm is successful and she has no intention of letting his three grandsons run roughshod over her!<BR/><BR/>Sam is Bram¿s eldest grandson. At first glance, he can¿t quite believe what his grandfather has sent¿a brown wren. She even looks like a Willamina! Within a few hours, Sam realizes his grandfather is again trying to select a bride for his grandsons and he wants no part of it¿and tells Willa just that. Within 24 hours, Sam begins to see exactly what his grandfather does, and his interest grows. But when Bram dies and his will requires one of his grandsons to marry Willa to keep their company from falling into the hands of their worst enemy, Sam realizes that he¿s the only grandson that can really appreciate Willa. But now he¿ll have to convince her that his offer of marriage isn¿t just a business decision.<BR/><BR/>It¿s hard not to give away too much from Chapman¿s plot, but I was caught up in this story from the first page. Willa is a woman who¿s hiding from her future and Sam quickly becomes the man determined to win her heart. His approach is one that had me either laughing or sighing while I was cheering on his efforts. And their attraction and passion will have you fanning yourself.<BR/><BR/>One of the biggest characters in this story is Bram, even though we never meet him and he dies in the first part of the book, he¿s still larger than life. Through Willa and his grandsons and friends, Chapman paints a vibrant portrait of a man determined to see his friends and relatives settled and happy. Other secondary characters carry a large part of the plot and are crucial to understanding both the main characters. The setting in New England with its own quirky character comes through beautifully.<BR/><BR/>Now that I¿ve read ¿The Man Must Marry¿, I know that I will be heading for the bookstore to buy the stories of the other two brothers when they are released. So far there¿s no word on the title or release date of Janet Chapman¿s next in this series. So I¿ll just visit her website at www.janetchapman.com on occasion and see what other goodies she may offer up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2