Customer Reviews for

A Man Named Dave

Average Rating 4.5
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder th

This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder that there are children in our own neighborhoods who may be in desperate need. It's also a call that no matter how you've suffered, you can still take responsibility for your life and turn suffering into comp...
This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder that there are children in our own neighborhoods who may be in desperate need. It's also a call that no matter how you've suffered, you can still take responsibility for your life and turn suffering into compassion. Dave Pelzer is a true hero and his story is well worth reading and taking to heart. I would choose to spend a day with David Pelzer, for his wisdom, courage, humanity and ability to forgive. In this third book of David's trilogy, the adult years, he shows us the true meaning of forgiveness. He is living proof that until one can honestly look into their heart and forgive the abuser, one cannot truly begin to heal. With that healing process, comes peace of mind, self-worth and the realization that the world can become as beautiful and fulfilling as you choose to make it. This book is about the compassion and forgiveness the author finds in the face of horrible abuse. In the first two book we all felt the author's natural reactions to his abuse. Now in the third book the author gives us the solution. Not the solution to abuse but the solution for all victims of abuse - compassion and forgiveness.    

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

IT WAS "OK"

This book is the 3rd in a series. It was nice to know what happened to Dave, but it did not hold my interest like the previous books. If you read the first book (A child called "it"), and it grabs your attention, you probably will want to continue on to "The Lost Boy"...
This book is the 3rd in a series. It was nice to know what happened to Dave, but it did not hold my interest like the previous books. If you read the first book (A child called "it"), and it grabs your attention, you probably will want to continue on to "The Lost Boy" and finally onto this book, but I would not recommend this book as a "stand alone"read.

posted by 4213719 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder th

    This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder that there are children in our own neighborhoods who may be in desperate need. It's also a call that no matter how you've suffered, you can still take responsibility for your life and turn suffering into compassion. Dave Pelzer is a true hero and his story is well worth reading and taking to heart. I would choose to spend a day with David Pelzer, for his wisdom, courage, humanity and ability to forgive. In this third book of David's trilogy, the adult years, he shows us the true meaning of forgiveness. He is living proof that until one can honestly look into their heart and forgive the abuser, one cannot truly begin to heal. With that healing process, comes peace of mind, self-worth and the realization that the world can become as beautiful and fulfilling as you choose to make it. This book is about the compassion and forgiveness the author finds in the face of horrible abuse. In the first two book we all felt the author's natural reactions to his abuse. Now in the third book the author gives us the solution. Not the solution to abuse but the solution for all victims of abuse - compassion and forgiveness.    

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    IT WAS "OK"

    This book is the 3rd in a series. It was nice to know what happened to Dave, but it did not hold my interest like the previous books. If you read the first book (A child called "it"), and it grabs your attention, you probably will want to continue on to "The Lost Boy" and finally onto this book, but I would not recommend this book as a "stand alone"read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Awsome and sad

    All of daves books are hart breaking but once u start u cant stop if dave reads this i feel so bad for you but just look at what u have acomplished i absolutly love your books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Highly recomended ,is very heartbreaking

    love the two other books , it makes you feel bless on what you have , can't wait to read the third one . These books make you wonder why does GOD give children to this monsters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    nice!

    im only 14 but i fell in love with this book! so good!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    grown up dave

    well dave is grown up and gone to the air force to live the dream he wanted but one tragic day a phone call from his foster mom crying saying thatthe one and only parent he loved was dieing in the hospital so he rushes home to go see his father after their loving kinda talking screaming and crying he goes to his mother and trys to talk her into going to the hospital to see dad but it gets him nowere but in his car going to the hospital alone see what happends next!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lesson To Be Learned

    What a wonderful book that highlights Dave's compassion even after his tortuous childhood. There's a strong lesson to be learned and Dave does it in his quiet and caring way. This book made me smile but it also made me cry. It gives a person a lot of perspective and I think back to parts of it even though it's been a month since I read his story.


    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that "When God Stopped Keeping Score" was just about overcoming forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. The author actually pulls back the curtain to his own life, to offer an intimate look at the true power of forgiveness and reveals the emotional price that you must be willing to pay to live without it.

    All of this, while still offering up interesting and often tear worthy stories that showed you just how you should deal with friends, family and more importantly, yourself when things do go wrong. The author more importantly reveals the key to keeping these relationships strong even in the face of adversity.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe that's because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it for yourself. It is on sale here on BN.com.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    havent read this one yet

    I have not read this book yet I read the other two, I am not very big on reading and being in the army doesn't give me much time to read but i made time to read these books and they are heartbreaking, i wanted to just reach thru the book and snach him out of that horrible live, i would recomend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Dave Pelzer's books are excellent to read and understand. This

    Dave Pelzer's books are excellent to read and understand. This type of
    abuse happens more times than anyone wants to believe. I spoke with a
    victim of child sexual abuse and she said one of the reasons she didn't
    tell is because what he did to her was so horrific that she didn't think
    anyone would believe her! And she was probably right - she is an adult
    now. I applaud Mr. Pelzer for having the courage that it must've taken
    to write and publish these books, and I thank him for helping me to
    learn and understand child abuse a bit better. If we can all start to
    talk about it more openly with our children and create an enviornment in
    which they feel safe (I don't think children who are being abused ever
    feel totally safe) to bring up such topics, maybe some will tell. We
    have to keep learning and we have to pull our heads out ot the sand and
    acknowledge what happens to our children, otherwise we can't help them.
    I just read a book called "Daddy's Hands," by Rita Makela.
    This story is about a little girl who is getting sexually abused. It is
    well written and it takes you into the mind of a little girl who is
    living through that type of trauma. It is so hard to comprehend how
    someone could do such things to children, but they do. Be warned,
    though, "Daddy's Hands" is very realistic, blunt, raw, and has
    several explicitly sexual scenes in them. They are disturbing to read,
    but so helpful to understanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Knj

    Nnfbfh

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    I read it and liked it..... just not enough

    It was not as great as my heart hoped it would be soopo belive me when i say dont read this i mean it was wonderfull but not as heartwarming as a girl like me or you ou you you you you you you you youy oyu you or a guy like you or you or you or you or you or you many will be dissapionted cuz of this book 4 it doesnt grab ur attenrion like r
    The other books iupsetting but all it talks aboutbis his btime in his airforce and the time with his child the one part i wanteed to see waa when he comfronted his mother and father id read it and liked it jst not enough

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Heartwrenching in the extent of abuse, deplorable situations his

    Heartwrenching in the extent of abuse, deplorable situations his "mother" puts him thru, but he is a fighter and very courageous.  Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    :-)

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Sample

    Need to know more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    What

    I love the first two books and i cant wait to read this one but the child called it the first one is the sadest book i ever read i think i threw my nook a couple of times because the mother made me so mad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Sample...

    How many pages is the sample?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    A Man named dave

    This book is really good i think i have cried reading this book this book is really sad all the hurtful things she has said or has done to him if i knew him i would give him all the stuff he didnt get before- destinee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Love it

    OMG! I love it. It is so inspirational. I feel so bad for you. I ws in foster care too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Add me on facebook lolitha rosa young

    This book warms your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14