Customer Reviews for

A Man Named Dave

Average Rating 4.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder th

This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder that there are children in our own neighborhoods who may be in desperate need. It's also a call that no matter how you've suffered, you can still take responsibility for your life and turn suffering into comp...
This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder that there are children in our own neighborhoods who may be in desperate need. It's also a call that no matter how you've suffered, you can still take responsibility for your life and turn suffering into compassion. Dave Pelzer is a true hero and his story is well worth reading and taking to heart. I would choose to spend a day with David Pelzer, for his wisdom, courage, humanity and ability to forgive. In this third book of David's trilogy, the adult years, he shows us the true meaning of forgiveness. He is living proof that until one can honestly look into their heart and forgive the abuser, one cannot truly begin to heal. With that healing process, comes peace of mind, self-worth and the realization that the world can become as beautiful and fulfilling as you choose to make it. This book is about the compassion and forgiveness the author finds in the face of horrible abuse. In the first two book we all felt the author's natural reactions to his abuse. Now in the third book the author gives us the solution. Not the solution to abuse but the solution for all victims of abuse - compassion and forgiveness.    

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

IT WAS "OK"

This book is the 3rd in a series. It was nice to know what happened to Dave, but it did not hold my interest like the previous books. If you read the first book (A child called "it"), and it grabs your attention, you probably will want to continue on to "The Lost Boy"...
This book is the 3rd in a series. It was nice to know what happened to Dave, but it did not hold my interest like the previous books. If you read the first book (A child called "it"), and it grabs your attention, you probably will want to continue on to "The Lost Boy" and finally onto this book, but I would not recommend this book as a "stand alone"read.

posted by 4213719 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    IT WAS "OK"

    This book is the 3rd in a series. It was nice to know what happened to Dave, but it did not hold my interest like the previous books. If you read the first book (A child called "it"), and it grabs your attention, you probably will want to continue on to "The Lost Boy" and finally onto this book, but I would not recommend this book as a "stand alone"read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Highly recomended ,is very heartbreaking

    love the two other books , it makes you feel bless on what you have , can't wait to read the third one . These books make you wonder why does GOD give children to this monsters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Mr

    Yy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Love the first few books can't wait to read this one

    Love the books of dave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    A Man Named Dave This book has a mother abusing a boy t

    A Man Named Dave


    This book has a mother abusing a boy that the mother calls him it when his name is Dave. This book should not be for children because it has bad language that kids should not read. This book doesn’t have any room to breathe because of the “Mother” abuses him so much like putting him in a cold garage to sleep on the cot. But when he got out and went to school and went to the nurse he was taken away for his mother and he is determined to get him back from the foster home, When she has two other kids that she already abuses but one of them runs away from her and she wants Dave back and she wants and she goes to the judge and wants him back so she can abuse him more. When he goes to the army so he can get away from his mother and his foster parents.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Definitely not 'A Child Called It' or 'The Lost Boy'

    A Man Named Dave is a continuing story of David Pelzers search for acceptance and love. At the beginning of the story he still searched for it in his mother where he will probably never find it. So the story goes and for the majority of the beginning he is in the air force trying to fight through the struggles he has had in his past. One big crisis in his life happened while he was, serving his time in the air force, one that would really affect his life from that point on (I can't really tell you because that would give the book away). So his time in air force ends and he moves into his own apartment and still tries to find love and acceptance in his immediate family, he will only find it in some of his brothers. By the end of the book, he has a family of his own and now realizes where he can look to find some lovin'. This book, in the three book series is probably the worse of the three. It kept me interested at the beginning but it just lost my attention after that. This book is definitely not 'A Child Called It', or, 'The Lost Boy'. I say this because with the other two books, I was constantly reading them and couldnt take my eyes off of the pages. However, 'A Man Named Dave', i could barely even finish it. After thinking about what was different with this book compared to the other two, i have figured that this book his life seems to be getting better. When you read a book you want to read about something you dont know too much about or something you want to know more about. With this book, his life is turning more 'normal' and who wants to read about a 'normal life'? A 'normal life' is what we see everyday. So why read about one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Life Changing

    After reading all three of Dave Pelzer's books, I have realized what a change he has made in my life. The last of the trilogy, A Man Named Dave, was a wonderful ending to Dave's struggle in life. I almost feel as if I have grown up with him and seen his life change from life-threatning to life-saving. Dave has a very powerful story and I recommed this book to anyone who has read his first two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2