Customer Reviews for

A Man Named Dave

Average Rating 4.5
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder th

This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder that there are children in our own neighborhoods who may be in desperate need. It's also a call that no matter how you've suffered, you can still take responsibility for your life and turn suffering into comp...
This is a story which will deeply affect you. It's a reminder that there are children in our own neighborhoods who may be in desperate need. It's also a call that no matter how you've suffered, you can still take responsibility for your life and turn suffering into compassion. Dave Pelzer is a true hero and his story is well worth reading and taking to heart. I would choose to spend a day with David Pelzer, for his wisdom, courage, humanity and ability to forgive. In this third book of David's trilogy, the adult years, he shows us the true meaning of forgiveness. He is living proof that until one can honestly look into their heart and forgive the abuser, one cannot truly begin to heal. With that healing process, comes peace of mind, self-worth and the realization that the world can become as beautiful and fulfilling as you choose to make it. This book is about the compassion and forgiveness the author finds in the face of horrible abuse. In the first two book we all felt the author's natural reactions to his abuse. Now in the third book the author gives us the solution. Not the solution to abuse but the solution for all victims of abuse - compassion and forgiveness.    

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

IT WAS "OK"

This book is the 3rd in a series. It was nice to know what happened to Dave, but it did not hold my interest like the previous books. If you read the first book (A child called "it"), and it grabs your attention, you probably will want to continue on to "The Lost Boy"...
This book is the 3rd in a series. It was nice to know what happened to Dave, but it did not hold my interest like the previous books. If you read the first book (A child called "it"), and it grabs your attention, you probably will want to continue on to "The Lost Boy" and finally onto this book, but I would not recommend this book as a "stand alone"read.

posted by 4213719 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Heartwrenching in the extent of abuse, deplorable situations his

    Heartwrenching in the extent of abuse, deplorable situations his "mother" puts him thru, but he is a fighter and very courageous.  Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    great book

    well writen great end to the incredible story 'the child called it' ps: its a good mood changer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    What a story-

    I didn't like this book as much as I liked the other two (A Child Called It and The Lost Boy). I couldn't stop at just reading the other two books though, I had to know what happened to Dave and I can not believe the life this man lived. I am so glad that he came out ok and was able to over come his struggles because most of these children do not. They become abuse parents or turn to addiction of some sort. I really felt for Dave and all of the millions of children who are not being cared for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    AVID READER

    This book was very heart felt. This man has endured many ups & downs that normal people would have never been able to dream of. Next to sylvia liking's abusive death due to abuse,dave's story is one of the worst i've read. In this book he shows everyone he can beat every nasty aspect of his horrific childhood, all the way to his current life now. He shows anyone can beat he odds, if they truely want it bad enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    One of my favorites...

    Following A Child Called 'It' and The Lost Boy Dave Pelzer's latest book in the trilogy, A Man Named Dave, Dave Pelzer has delivered the fitting conclusion to a monumental series of books about courage and triumph. In this powerful book Pelzer demonstrates, as few have, that it is in the darkest skies that the stars are best seen. ¿All those years you tried your best to break me, and I'm still here. One day you'll see, I'm going to make something of myself.¿ These words were Dave Pelzer's declaration of independence to his mother, and they represented the ultimate act of self-reliance. Dave's father never intervened as his mother abused him with shocking brutality. But even after he was rescued, his life remained haunted by memories of his years as the bruised, cowering 'It' locked in his mother's basement. Desperately trying to make something of his life, Dave was determined to weather every setback and gain strength from adversity. As a child he dreamt of being Superman. How he would fly and be free. Free from ¿The Mother¿ as he called her. As he lay on his cold, hard, army cot, he would dream of a better life. Little did he know at the time, that his dream would come true? At the age of 18 he joined the air force. He wanted to be a fireman to follow in his father¿s footsteps to finally make him proud it did not work out that way. He worked his butt off to better himself. He started off as a cook. But, in the end, he found his own dream of becoming a pilot and it came true. He did the training, and eventually became a pilot. He learnt how to fuel his plane mid-air. What a sense of pride he felt! His marriage to Patsy of 8 years ended in divorce and their son Stephen was the only good thing that resulted from it. His wife did not understand him and he found it very challenging to make her understand. With the childhood he had, you just cannot forget something like that and she did not seem to care. She could not recognize what it meant to him to help other troubled children like himself, whether it paid good money or not. He wanted to feel better inside. However, he had to deal with his past every day and his past was the one thing preventing him from being able to love and trust completely. At times he went to visit his Mother to try and get answers as to why she did what she did. He never got them. It's difficult to understand why she chose him over the rest of her sons. Was it the alcohol? One time when he went to see her, she did tell him she was proud of him. She never said sorry, she never gave him the answers he needed. She said everything she did was an accident. Throughout his adult life he did have confrontations with his mother. One such time was at his father's funeral. He was devastated when his father died and angry that his mother never even went to go see her own husband in the hospital. Although he never tried to free Dave from his mother as a child, Dave still looked up to his father and admired him. He still held on to the slim chance that one day his father would take him away. He dreamt of buying a house by the Russian River 'where he always wanted to live', and having his father live with him. It wasn't meant to be. Throughout the book, there's one passage that really stuck in my mind. It was at his father's funeral. His mother, as usual, was degrading and belittling him.... 'You lose', I smiled. What?¿ Mother asked, ¿All those years you tried your best to break me, and I'm still here. Father's finally free, Ron's 'his brother' in the service, and soon the boys will move out on their own. I'm a good person. I try my best in everything I set out to do. I make mistakes, I screw up, but I learn. I don't blame others for my problems. I stand on my own. And one day you'll see, I'm going to make something of myself. Whether I dig ditches or flip burgers for the air force, I'll be the best, and somehow, some way, I won't waste my life away. If you taught me anything, you taught me that. Stay away from me. E

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    i feel like hurting daves so called 'MOM'

    I feel so sad for richard . I read a child called it. I was crying. How can someone be so patient? If o was dave i would have killed that women by now. you are the best dave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    A Man Named Dave By David Pelzer a review by Katherine The book, A Man Named Dave, is about a young man that has endured horrible physical, mental, and emotional abuse from his unstable alcoholic mother, for most of his early childhood. Throughout the book he talks about how he overcame his past experience during his childhood, and who helped him during this difficult journey to a new life. A Man Named Dave is a very interesting, and emotional book. My favorite character is Dave¿s wife Patsy, because she¿s someone who¿s very carefree about life. She doesn¿t care about herself, and she doesn¿t take anything serious. Compared to David she¿s the total opposite, which I think attracted David to her in the first place. Yet he realized that she¿s someone who will not get him to his goal in life, that he truly desires and deserves more than any other person. I would recommend that people who can handle graphic, violent, emotional pictures in their mind read this book. This book overall, is a book I think you owe yourself to read at least once in your lifetime. His life story is filled with so much emotion and power, that just think if someone can overcome one of the worst cases of child abuse in San Francisco, then anything is possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    A great sequal

    A Man Named Dave is a great compliment to A Child Called 'It' and 'The Lost Boy'. At some points, this books gets boring because he talks about his career a lot, but overall, it's a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    A Man Named Dave, A Story of A Miracle

    I recently have read A Man Named Dave for a project at school. I thought that it was a very well written book, and encourage it to other readers. It was an amazing story of a boy who was physically abused by his mother and how he takes his life step by step and accually makes something of it. He went through many tough situations, but handled them well. And somehow, with the help and grace of God, gets his life in his control. He forms and supports a family, and uses his life experiences to help and support many others. I would definately encourage anyone to read this book. I'm sure everyone would enjoy it. It captivates its readers well, to the point i had a hard time putting it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    This is a great ending to a wonderful series

    This book was definately what I needed to get over the other books that the author wrote. This was a good endng to the author's life and I think it was well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    A true Inspiration

    A Man Named Dave is the third part to the trilogy A Child Called It. This book deals with the life of David after he overcomes a life of abuse and neglect. David was seriously abused as a child and nearly lost his life several times. A Man Named Dave is a story of triumph and glory. The book talks about David when he was a child and all of the things his mother would do to him. David would go for days on end without food. He was to sleep on a hard army cot in the garage with no covers for warmth. Eventually, Social Services stepped in and placed David into a foster family. David had the chance of a new life. He made sure to follow all his dreams and never turn out like any of his family members. I recommend this book to anyone who is opposed to child abuse and neglect. You can definitely feel what little David went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    A Great Story

    This happens more than you can imagine. Bravo to Dave for telling the story without shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2002

    Good and needed to be told

    Quite some time before Pelzer published, Ken Grant, a former child with the New England Home in Boston,Mass., wrote a book about his life growing up as a handicapped abused,abandoned child bouncing around in state care for nearly 2 decades. Grant was punished and harassed for his story where Pelzer has not been. Grant is a Home Depot and former Lockheed and Innolog employee with service to many charities.Grant was driven into homelessness,bankruptcy and had his career meddled with by hostile forces threatened by his story. Pelzer talks about things not often discussed from a man's point of view.The book is worth reading and perhaps someday you can read Grant's also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    A Man Named Dave-BEST BOOK!

    If you haven¿t read and The Lost Boy, then you shouldn¿t read A Man Named Dave, because you will be totally lost. This is the third and final book of the Pelzer series. This book is about how David Pelzer has reached his goals in life and has finally lived the life he has always dreamed of. He has gone through so much to accomplish everything in his life. I highly recommend all three of these books, because it has been my favorite series to read. I don¿t really think students under fifth grade should read this story, just because of the details it talks about. The author uses a few large words that might be hard for younger reader¿s to understand. For those who read it above that grade, the book would be easier to understand and follow along. Dave Pelzer moves smoothly from one topic to another and leaves the audience in anticipation for what he is thinking about doing. These three books are the only books he has written and I think he has done an excellent job and is a great author. Dave Pelzer really knows how to catch the reader¿s attention. I couldn¿t go to sleep knowing that the little boy was in danger. I would always end at a spot where I thought David would be safe. This book is very interesting, and makes you wish you were there when he a young boy so you could help him. I think everyone should read this book, because it makes you think of everything your life has. It also makes you realize that you can change anything around and can always accomplish your dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2002

    Great Book!!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read! I have heard the other two books are even better than this one. But I would suggest this book to anyone. I know understand more about what he and other kids go throught with abused families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    good book

    this book tells us things that could happen to any child. this book has made me aware of child abuse and what it's like to go through it. it made me cry and really think about why someone could do this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3