Customer Reviews for

The Man She Loves to Hate

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Excellent

    What a wonderful story. It's so different from other Harlequin books I've read to date. No alpha male BS, no wimpy heroine. They cut to the chase, they don't dance around. The story reflects modern day relationships... how it flows and all. None of that "ohhh I must resist you..." It made me curious to look up the author's profile ( which I will do after writing this review) to see if she's perhaps younger and more in tune to how dating goes these days. It's great to see romance unfolds earlier rather than in Chapter 13, which most HQ authors do. What's even better is when 2 people are direct to the point instead of hiding their feeling until the end. Thing is that's how it is today, well generally I supposed. Kudos to the author! I will read your other materials again.

    The story is sad, funny and relateable! A must read! It will make you laugh and you'll find yourself saying "That's what I'll say to Cole too if I was Jolie!"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Great romance

    So much heart to this story made me laugh and cry and sigh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    STRONG FEMALE

    Its always hard for me to see people that are so inocent suffering for no good reason. Jolie when she was 12 was hurrying to catch up with Hannah but Hannah was not waiting for her as usual. Hannah and her big brother Cole would not look at her or talk to her, infact Hannah got all their friends to dump Jolie too because her mother was having an affair with Hannah's father.
    Now thier dad was dead 12 years later and Jolie was up to their ski lodge and cleaned out all her mother's stuff from the cabin on a day of funneral so she would not run into Cole or Hannah.
    The Gondal ride last of the day was only Jolie and Cole was up their she was warned. So Jolie borrowed someones goggles,hats scarf she was already in borrowed man's coat.
    Jolie answered Cole in short answers in deep voice and always looked away from him and it was short ride but all of a sudden the ride stopped and they could not get answer from emergency phone and no cell service. They saw one avalanch but missed them but the second caused the gondola to fall. Cole had head injury so Jolie got him mad so he would keep going till they climbed back up and broke in kiosk.
    Cole finally realized who she was after she saved his life. Cole for years had fought wanting her. He asked for one kiss and ended up too close. Finally they were rescued.
    Cole realized how unfair he had been to Jolie and saw a lot of that he liked. Cole was now head of his dad's many businesses and trying to keep ski resort to reopen. Cole wanted to keep seeing Jolie and went and flew up to visit every weekend for a month. Cole wanted more. Jolie was afraid that their family and town would not let them.
    I enjoyed this romance they had. Jolie was a strong woman and would not give up on herself or Cole. Jolie did not want any thing from Cole's dad will in fact she gave it back to him.
    Would love to see Hannah story someday. I was given this ebook in exchange for honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    I have tears in my eyes as I write this because the ending of this story was so beautiful, romantic and it made me feel like I needed to hug somebody. I simply had to write this review right away. If a reader is looking for a book with characters they can believe in, then The Man She Loves to Hate is a winner.

    The title can be a bit misleading, making a reader think it's going to be full of angst, darkness and over the top conflict. It's not. In fact, it's about hope, redemption, determination and a celebration of life. Oh don't get me wrong, there is a deep emotional conflict that colors and influences some of the actions in the book but what I found gratifying is the hero and heroine not succumbing to its poison. I am thrilled that Ms. Hunter wrote a story that is focused on two people falling in love in spite of and despite the past, the community perception of the heroine and the legacy of the hero's father.

    I loved how the author set up Jolie and Cole to meet again later in life in a situation that stripped away all of those nasty lies and gave them an almost clean slate to work with. It was the first time either saw each other for who they really were or who they could be, if they could only break the shackles of their mutual painful past. And what I liked was their willingness to try. That took guts, courage and of course, a healthy dose of lust and passion didn't exactly hurt.

    I liked Jolie a lot. I got the biggest kick out of her job. What a fun profession, although it's clear from the book that she worked hard at it and it's not without challenges as well as triumphs. She got there on her own through sheer determination and grit. The heroine is a strong character despite her internal doubts and insecurity. Jolie hides them well but the reader will see so much more. I enjoyed the creative outlet that the author gave the heroine when emotions were at a fevered pitch. It was insightful, fascinating and actually entertaining. And I adored (and I know I wore a loopy grin) when Cole made his comment about how he wanted one of the pictures to look.

    As for Cole, I have to give the guy credit. Okay, more like Ms. Hunter, because she created a character worth rooting for, and worth admiring. Cole knows the score. So much is at stake and it's not just his heart. And yet, the blinders come off throughout the course of the story and his worth as a hero grew before my eyes. He used to be just as cynical and condemning as the rest of his family and peers until that fateful day. His whole world turned on its axis when he figured out that the situation wasn't exactly what he was told. Since he was a kid, he'd been hurting inside - bleeding for what he thought was lost. As an adult, Cole found out some truths and I was so proud of him when he stood up for what he knew was right and for what he wanted. It was such a powerful moment in the book and Ms. Hunter did it justice.

    The ending and wrap up is what bowled me over. Everything that happened before fed into that ending making it one of the most poignant and beautiful reunions of two lovers ever. The dialogue, the passion, and the vibrant feelings - the author brought them all to life, and it left me blubbering into a tissue with happy tears misting my eyes.

    Read the full review at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Best story ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Really loved this

    The author was not afraid to stray off the totally romantic mold, and made it. Both the main characters have forgone the bed of roses. The story is truly sweet and tart but I totally got into the web. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Great story!

    I really love this book! Worth every cent.... great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Amazing story

    Absolutely loved this book! I wish the word count would have allowed for more. What you get is a tightly written story that moves you. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    What a beautiful story...a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2