Customer Reviews for

The Man Who Flew the Memphis Belle: Memoir of a WWII Bomber Pilot

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    FANTASTIC READ!!!!

    This is the best book I have read in a couple of years and I read constantly. I can't begin to give it enough praise to do it justice!!!! A must read!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Outstanding!

    A TRULY INSPIRING AND FASCINATING ACCOUNT OF HEROISM FROM A MAN WHO WAS THERE. tHIS BOOK IS A MUST READ FOR WWII BUFFS AS WELL AS ANYONE WHO APPRECIATES WHAT OUR MEN AND WOMEN IN UNIFORM DID FOR US DURING THOSE TURBULENT YEARS. HIGHLY RECCOMMEND.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Man Who Flew The Memphis Belle

    I only read non-fiction and this is one of my favorite books of all time. This tells the story of the late Col. Robert Morgan and the B-17 Memphis Belle. From his days of training to be an aviator to Memphis Belle's 25th mission, this book covers it all and includes a lot of great pictures. This is a very well written book written by the only man who COULD write it. Whether your an aviation buff, a WWII buff, or an action fan, this book is a must have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Excellent doesn't say enough about this book.

    This book is the best book I have ever read, and I have read many books. It is amazing how much detail Mr. Morgan goes into and recalls about these missions. I have a hard enough time trying to remember what I had for dinner last night. He puts this book together in a beautiful fashion. You get the feeling that your sitting in the cockpit right next to him and he's telling you what to do. I cannot think of any words good enough to describe this book, it is a must if you love the history of WWII.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    A Portion of WW II History at it's BEST

    I have read many, many books of WW II history and this one ranks right near the top. Personal accounts almost always add to the depth and this book is no exception. This book may even bring tears to your eyes at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    A truly exceptional memoir

    I have read scores of memoirs, almost all of them interesting in their own right. This one, however, is nothing short of exceptional. The topic matter is riveting enough, and both the honesty and style are gripping. It's an amazing testament to Col. Bob Morgan and the men of his crew, and anyone reading his memoir gets a great idea of the stresses and coping mechanisms of our bomber crews in England. The book is also a testimony to the importance of his family (despite the troubled relationships that rarely surface in most memoirs) and to the unique contribution of the country he and his comrades fought to keep free. I highly recommend this title to anyone interested in WWII aerial combat, especially the bomber campaigns over Europe and Japan. Additionally, anyone interested in America at war or the psychology of men in combat will get some real food for thought. Finally, the natural exuberance of Morgan and his fellow airmen resounds clearly across six decades, and some of the laughs are as hearty as they are unexpected. Find another bomber that took 'flak' hits from an outraged Maine fisherman!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    RJ

    *wonders how you can shrug loudly...* Ya uhm okay. I guess i'l find somewhere else to be ditched at. *mock-salutes, then turns and heads out* I wonder where, exactly, Hunter IS? Some officer. Hopefully he'll come tonight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Sinon

    She leans against the wall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Comander Dawsons office

    Please knock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1