BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Man Who Listens to Horses

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    WOW!

    If you own a horse or work with them- READ THIS BOOK!!! This guy can read your horse like a book! I'm not a book worm and this book was the longest book I have ever read.I never got bored reading this book and believe me when it comes to books my tension spand is not very long unless its a really good book.This books tells Monty Robert's story of his life, how he learned to listen to horses and he also gives a few pointers when you are trying to do Join-UP with your horse!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    Can't Close It!

    The Man who Listens to Horses is an Awesome book! I still have 3 chapters left, but it is a very good book that is about life and earning a horse's trust. It even has a Step-By-Step Giude in the back on how to start horses, Monty's way. It really opens your eyes and shows you how cruel people are to these wonderful creatures. An amazing book. I reccomend to all ages! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    Great Book, Im going to meet Monty in person tomorrow!!! Can't wait!!!

    OH MY GOSH...Great Book...Can not wait to read the 2nd 'Shy Boy' This book has not only helped me with my horses but every day life....Thanks!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    One of my very favorite books of all time!

    I loved this book! Opened my eyes to the intelligence and feelings of horses. One of the BEST books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    The Man Who Listens to Horses

    The Man Who Listens to Horses is a very well written book. It made me cry at some points in the book. It is very eye opening. When you read it, you won't want it to end. It is one of those books that changed my life forever. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Listen up, horses do talk

    Monty Roberts has revolutionized the way we see our horses. I've had the privilege of seeing him work and highly recommend all of his books .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For the horse lover, required. For the animal lover, suggested. For the human-interest-story fan, perhaps.

    This book humbly and joyfully details the journey of an exceptional human being. Monty's life--from his childhood, characterized by both parental abuse and the joy of horses, to his current life at Flag Is Up Farms--is one that will inspire even the most unemotional soul. The book is one of gentleness and wisdom, and any horseman or horsewoman--or person--will better him- or herself by reading it.<BR/>I will add that I ordinarily detest stories about animals, but that this book, rather than reeking of the usual B-grade sentimentality common to the genre, is full of grace and quiet dignity. Two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    You don't need to be a horselover to love the book

    I am and loved the book, but my husband is not. He picked up the book and in 2 days finished it! He loved it, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    One who loves them all

    This book really pulled me in. I started off reading the first chapter and before i knew it i was continuing on to the sixth chapter. I love horses a lot and that's why i chose to read this book. Monty Roberts is a horse lover also and he knows how to 'Talk' to them. Monty Roberts doesn't really understand what the horses say by neighing to him, he undertands their body language. Like when a horses ears go back, that's when you know that they're irritated and impatiant. I learned a lot from this book, and if you read it... I know that you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    An excellent book

    This book is a must for horse lovers. I, personally, gained a lot from this book. It is one of my favorites of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    A BOOK THAT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE -- IT DID TO MINE

    one of my absolutely favorite books by my favorite horse trainer, monty roberts. this bok describes his life and how he learned the language of equus...might sound crazy, talking to horses, but it is just the best book ever. i am only 13. as u can see, this book is really easy, but it will AFFECT YOUR LIFE. IT DID TO MINE. monty roberts helps u understand the real communication of horses. his life is a true miracle. he has discovered something no one has ever discovered befored. it is sooooooo amazing u just wonder how he does it. if u r scared of horses or dont like them, i really recommend this book because it teaches the real meaning and that horses are more scared of u than u r of them. u will understand horses a lot better. it is also a guide of training. it is also a bible for horse lovers. the man who listens to horses is just too good to describe in words

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    beautiful man

    monty roberts is no fake this man can really communicate with horses he's a wonderful man and i hope to meet him some day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    My Bible

    This book is my bible!!! It is the most incredible and enlightening book I have read. It helped me communicate with my horse better, and even helped me communicate with people better. I wish I could meet Monty Roberts!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Yes humans had been cruel

    The idea of join up is excellent as this will give us a better world and loving atmosphere between human,and animals. Human beings had been cruel while breaking animals and also youngsters. I experienced this and was very upset and lost my confidence in human beings. The feelings of hatredness filled my heart but just cant' do anything to the higher authorities. Then I had a fall during riding and broke my ankle. While resting at home my instructor lend me this book and I realised that the only thing I can do is to change myself and learn to achieve join up with human beings and animals.And I am happy since then. I learnt to admit what people had done were wrong and will never want to repeat this in future, so hope that we can make this world a more loving one,to all living creatures forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2000

    Awesome!

    I read this book & I'm still reading it. I've tried some of his methods on my own horse & they really work! The horse understands what you are trying to do & starts communicating w/ you. If you want to become closer to your horse this book is for you! Definetly! If you love reading about real life horse whisperers this book is also for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    A Horselovers Bible

    Raised in the world of traditional English Horse Riding, this book was a revelation for me in understanding my horse and made him my friend and ally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    highly entertaining and educating

    I myself am a dedicated equin lover. I have fond that not only has this book entertained me but has also helped me with my equin friends. I highly recommend reading this book. I also think it brings up a very good point that the equin world has been ignoreing since the time of the coyboys. Horses have a social order too and they also thrive on friendship as much as we do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Outstanding Learning Experiance

    This book was recomended to me by a fellow hoses lover and I thank her everyday. I have used the tactics of Monty Roberts at my own barn and found that it is less stressful for the horse and myself. His meathods provide an effective result and a better bond of trust between the horse and rider. I thank Monty Roberts for this extrodonary piece of literature that I have benifited from and hope that others will as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1