BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Man Who Loved Clowns

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    the man who loced clowns

    This book is an inspirational story about a young girl and her uncle 'Punky' who has downs syndrome. This story can happen in real life you never know whats going to happen in this world we live in. This book is kinda sad i mean I cried a little when i read this book I hope you read this book and pass on the word about this amazing book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I remember reading this in elementary, and I loved it. I had for

    I remember reading this in elementary, and I loved it. I had forgotten
    the name of the book so for 9 years I had been looking for it and I
    finally found it. I really recommend this book for young kids,
    preferably in elementary.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Amazing

    One of the best books ive ever read!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Good

    An amazing tale of how a teenage girl copes with the loss of her parents and as if that isnt enough, her beloved uncle punky who has downs syndrome. If you want more, the sequels called turtle on a fence post.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    :)

    I cried a whole bunch ( not bcuz its sad... bcuz theyre such good characters and u get to 'know'them so well)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Amazing

    I read this book with my class and teacher all together and we always beg for more!!!! I suggest you read this book and NEVER put it down!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!

    This book I can not put down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    To #12

    I looked it up and ther is NO sequal

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great heart-warming book that is meant to be cherished

    I love this book i will never forget it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Great book

    This book has a wonderful (and depressing) story inside and you have to get into the book to really understand this book well. The only thing that I don't like about this story is wherever you stop, it's a cliff hanger and it leaves me begging for more. This book is about this girl who feels invisible and is okay with that, mainly because she is trying to hide Punky, who has down syndrome, and doesn't understand. She is happy with her life until there is a major accident at Silver Doller City, that turns her life upside down. I hope you decide to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Highly recommended with a box of tissues!

    Wonderful book and a must read for anyone knowing a special needs person. Just make sure you have a box of tissues nearby. Warms the soul!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    great book

    i love this book. couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    The best book ever

    I first read this book in middle school and today as an adult i still love it i have read over 80 times and even when i know what is going to happen it still touches my heart. friends of mine and i are thinking of writing a script for it and making it in to a movie because it would be great as a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    The Man Who Loved Clowns

    Delrita is a thirteen year old girl who loves her Uncle Punky. She feels sorry for him and his behavior because Uncle Punky is different. He has Down syndrome. One tragic thing happens and she thinks nothing can get any worse. Then BOOOOM!!! They do. This book can make you seem bipolar. It will make you happy one second then the next thing you know you're bawling your eyes out. This book is a very sad one, and makes you have a different point of view on things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I just finished "The Man Who Loved Clowns" and I loved it! It's basicaly the story of a girl who finds herself and steps out of her invisible shield after a series of tragedies like the death of both her parents and her favorite uncle(not at the same time). She learns to live with her mistakes and go on with life trying to adapt to situations while not hiding in the shadows of someone else's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This about a 13 year girl named delrita who suffers many things in life lives with her uncle Bert and Aunt Queenie and her uncle but more like brother who has Down's Syndrome. Also Punky who is Delrita's Uncle also known as richard Howally has a childs mind Punky is the person who makees the story come true and also try the sequale Turtle on fence post.-Anonoymously

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Young Adult Book that Touches Your Heart

    This book was incredible yet emotional. A thirty-five year old man named Punky has Down Syndrome and lives with his sister, brother-in-law, and niece. His niece, Delrita, a young teenager, tries to hide him away from people because she thinks they'll make fun of his disability, stare and make comments. Delrita's friend Avanelle his a secret she's trying to hide also, her father is a way in prison. Delrita makes a mistake in which the entire school finds out about Avanelle¿s father and she feels terrible. When Delrita, her parents, and Punky are out of town, Delrita¿s parents are in a fatal accident and die instantly. She and Punky move into her aunt and uncle¿s house. A couple weeks later Punky is sent to work at a factory where disabled people work. Punky¿s heart starts to fail and he is put into the hospital. Days later Punky passes away , and Delrita and are family move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    A 5 star in its self

    The man who loved Clowns is a touching book that talks about how it is to live with a person with down-syndrom. This is one of the best books that I have read. It talks about sadness, courage, anger, and the feeling of togetherness. This book is a tear wrencher and is one of those books that make you feel like you are one of the characters in the story. I would recomend this book to anyone that is not afraid of shedding a few tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    the girl who loved this book

    i loved this book so much i would recomend this book to all ages boy and girl. you will simply adore this heart warming story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2004

    My opioion

    I loved this book. It was kinda of sad, but it was worth reading it. I was glued to it. If you love to read then I would sugges that you read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3