Customer Reviews for

The Man Who Loved Jane Austen

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    I enjoyed it, ending was ok (don't worry I don't tell)

    I thought the premise was a great idea, and Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book of all time, so that's why I was immediately attracted to this book. The writing was not what I would call great writing, but I enjoyed the book. Was a quick read. Ending was satisfactory, but I really felt the book ended abruptly. Like the author either ran out of ideas or was rushing to end it. A little bit of a disappointment compared to how much I enjoyed the rest of the book, but still overall it was a great idea and story. No worries about explicit content, which was nice. Would recommend it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    This novel is a skillfully written fantasy of time travel. Throu

    This novel is a skillfully written fantasy of time travel. Through the accidental passage of a time portal, an injured Fitz Darcy of Pemberley Farms, Virginia, awakens to find himself in the care of Jane Austen, year 1810. Recovering from his injuries and confused over what has transpired Mr. Darcy struggles to adapt to a possible life threatening situation. His fascination with the author and her diligent care of the handsome young stranger create a bond of friendship and closeness that will change the lives of both forever.

    Present Day:  Eliza Knight, a young artist from New York falls in love with an antique vanity and mirror. After bringing the purchase home, she works to restore its natural beauty. In doing so, a rare find sets her on a path of discovery for truth. 

    It has been three years since Fitz Darcy’s unexplained disappearance and return. He is obsessed with Jane Austen, her life and memorabilia. Through all his research and studies he has become somewhat of a Jane Austen scholar.  

    This sets the course for the meeting of Eliza and Fitz, both in search of answers. For Fitz Darcy…was his encounter with Jane Austen real? For Eliza Knight…was Fitzwilliam Darcy of Pride and Prejudice real?  The story that unfolds answers both questions in a magical and fulfilling tale!

    As the author wrote of Jane Austen’s life and dialog, it seemed so real. I felt that I knew her and understood her feelings, often experiencing them with her. A little history, tender romance and pure fantasy all combine to make this book well worth reading for any Jane Austen fan.  

    Ms. O’Rourke acknowledges that this book was co-written with her husband. On the dedication page she says, “This is our dream, the ultimate valentine. As you said, it came out of the love we had for each other and will live in my heart forever…” I, for one, am thankful that you decided to share your ultimate valentine.  It has touched me deeply.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    wonderful easy read

    easy read very exciting and intresting I dont have time to read alot so I really enjoyed this book it drew you in and was hard to set down. After I read this book I purchased the complete collection written by Jane Austen and I am now reading Pride and Prejudice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    delightful modern day romantic mystery

    In New York antiques furniture collector Eliza Knight purchases a two century old vanity. However, as she looks over and gently cleans her treasure, she finds an incredible cache, if authenticated, behind the mirror. She has found two letters between Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy and Miss Jane Austen. The correspondence from Fitz to Jane is open and dated 1810, but the return note remains sealed. A Jane Austen expert not only verifies the find as authentic, she learns that a Darcy living in Virginia possesses a similar letter written by Jane to Fitz. --- Eliza travels to the Shenandoah Valley to meet Fitz and show what she has and see what he possesses. He invites her to attend his family¿s annual Rose Ball honoring a nineteenth century ancestor, Rose Darcy. Though she enjoys the gala especially the costumes, she finally asks her host whether one of his ancestors was in deed Jane¿s lover and the model for her renowned lead male in Pride and Prejudice. --- This novel combines the awe of whether Jane Austen¿s Fitz was real with a delightful modern day romantic mystery containing a fascinating twist that if revealed here would give away too much of the plot. The story line is character driven by Eliza, Fitz and Jane. Eliza seeks the truth which she believes Fitz has while Jane serves as the focus of her inquiry. Fans will appreciate this contemporary tale that looks closely at the life of Jane Austen while determining based on historical facts whether her Fitz truly lived. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Love it!!

    I'm intrigued by the whole idea of time travel and loved this book. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Hehe

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Fun, different for Austen

    Fun, different for Austen follow-ups. This could be scripted as a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story!

    I loved this story! This is a great story that will maintain your interest and keep you reading until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It could've been better

    I thought this book was good. It would've been even better if it was all about Jane in her times, than about Eliza and the present day. I thought that the first part of this book went slow and was a bit dull. It was all about Eliza's journey to discover the authenticity of letters, an email to search for the truth of Mr. Darcy, a Jane Austen exhibit at a library and an auction that never happened.
    I absolutely loved the back story of Jane and how she encounters this F. Darcy. How they showed affection for each other and what F. Darcy shared with her in these few days. If Sally Smith O'Rourke had stuck with these ideas for the entire book, it would've been perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick, light read

    You'll enjoy this light read if you can accept the time-travel aspect without skepticism. I struggled with that part but did find the present day story met my rainy day reading needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    ITs a wonderful book, well written. It feld like a reverse of "Lost In Austen"... I did like the storyline and the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A 20th Century Mr. Darcy who Time Travels back to Jane Austin's time, but find romance and love with a 20th century woman.

    A time travel twist with Mr. Darcy leaving the present day to mysteriously appear in Jane Austin's time. In flash backs, the suthor shows how he influenced Jane Austin's writing.

    The author has a very interesting way to bring together the present day Mr. Darcy and present day Jane Autin fan.

    The book is a good read for all Mr. Darcy / Jane Austin fans who want to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Did Jane Austen love Mr. Darcy?

    Was fictional hero Fitzwilliam Darcy in Pride and Prejudice based on a real person who author Jane Austen met and fell in love with in 1810? In this reissue of her 2006 novel, author Sally Smith O'Rourke cleverly re-engages our fascination with Austen's ultimate romantic hero Mr. Darcy and presents readers with a contemporary heroine pursuing the question if Darcy's character was inspired by Austen's personal experience? <BR/><BR/>New York City artist Eliza Knight is a 21st-century Austen fan who discovers two old letters tucked behind the mirror of her new antique vanity table addressed to "Dearest Jane" from F. Darcy, and the second unopened letter to Fitzwilliam Darcy, Chawton Great House. Puzzled, Eliza knows that Mr. Darcy is Jane Austen's fictional creation and not a real person, or is he? Determined to find out if the letters are real or a crafty hoax, she presents them to an Austen scholar and Head of the Rare Document Department at the New York Public Library who skeptically examines them. When the scientific testing and hand writing analysis prove they are authentic, Eliza is shocked. In addition, she learns that another similar letter has recently surfaced leading her to its owner, a wealthy horse breeder in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Determined to meet him, she travels to his estate Pemberley Farms to learn about his interest in Jane Austen and why he shares Fitzwilliam Darcy's name. When Eliza reveals to him that she has discovered additional letters similar to his, he is anxious to know at any price the content of the sealed letter and is very keen to purchase them. When she refuses to sell the two hundred year old letters, his intense reaction and admission that the message in the unopened letter was meant for him is unbelievable. Eliza knows that the notion is absurd, until he begins to tell her the entire amazing story. <BR/><BR/>This is not your typical Jane Austen sequel; in fact, it is not a sequel at all; falling into a uniquely new Austen book category - Austen paranormal mystery romance! To say more would spoil the multi-dimensional plot, but just imagine a blending of a Jane Austen biography, a contemporary romance novel and the movie Somewhere in Time and you might begin to understand my meaning. This is a 'what if' story that asks the reader to imagine another possibility of how Jane Austen was inspired to create her most alluring and romantic hero, Mr. Darcy. Austen purist will have to turn a blind eye to the historical and biographical flubs, (and there are more than a few), and disarm the 'breach of etiquette' alarm in their heads in order to just let go and enjoy the ride. Romance readers will take pleasure in Ms. O'Rourke's breezy modern style which at times was dryly witty and at others hampered by contrite clichés. The possibility that Fitzwilliam Darcy was actually a real person is an intriguing notion that many Austen scholars have researched and enthusiasts have speculated upon for years. I commend her creativity in trying to fictionally answer the riddle but felt that the story could have been more convincing if she had taken her audience and herself more seriously. None-the-less, The Man Who Loved Jane Austen is a pure bit of escapist muslin that will in turns miff and amuse you.<BR/><BR/>Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good beach read, a mild Jane Austen fan fiction.

    I came across this book because I have been on a Jane Austen binge lately¿Rather than a use of her characters this book uses Jane as a character herself in a bit of time travel twist. It is an easy read that holds your attention without straining any mental muscle. A ¿beach read¿ (that really should be a category under detailed ratings) I do agree with the reviewer who says the book rushes to an abrupt ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    ridiculous

    I hate to write a negative review, but I hope to spare as many readers as possible. Simply put, this book was the most ridiculous thing I have ever read. The writing was amateurish, using the sort of overly-descriptive language one would expect of a 9th grade creative writing student. The premise was just plain silly. And the author obviously did not have the benefit of an editor. If the writer thought she was writing an homage to Jane Austen, she either has a fundamental misconception of Austen's style or lacks the technical skills to honor that style. Either way, I cannot imagine Austen approving. Please save your money. This was truly a painful read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Yawn

    I was intrigued by this book's premise a guy from the 21st century travells backwards in time and falls in love with Jane Austen. Subsequently, he supplies the model for her most famous hero, Mr. Darcy. Unfortunately, the whole thing reads like a long piece of fan fiction. The prose isn't spectacular by any means. There are cliches aplenty, and worst of all nothing really happens at all that's particularly exciting. The modern-day Miss Bingley equivalent is at one point described as gazing out her window at the modern Mr. Darcy with her arms folded across her naked chest. Why? Is she in the habit of sleeping in the nude? There isn't much gratuitous sex, much to this reader's relief, but there are moments like the above that make you go, 'Huh?'. It was a nice try, but rent this from the library before buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2