Customer Reviews for

The Man Who Never Returned

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Simply unputdownable

When a book has praise on its jacket with sources as varied as James Patterson and William Kennedy it's hard to know just where the book is going to fall. I was enraptured by this book from the second I picked it up. The writing is incredible as is the story- a fascinat...
When a book has praise on its jacket with sources as varied as James Patterson and William Kennedy it's hard to know just where the book is going to fall. I was enraptured by this book from the second I picked it up. The writing is incredible as is the story- a fascinating history I learned about without even noticing it as I was so pulled into the plot. Despite being written so well one could call it "literary" it was exceptionally accessible. The author really writes New York well- hard to do- and has a gift for dialogue and humor. It has it all. HOUR OF THE CAT is shipping to me as I write this. Can't wait for another outing with Fintan Dunne.

posted by Michael-Lechter on September 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Faction Becomes the Truth

My students read Ragtime and believed all that was written about real people. The problem with faction is that it becomes the truth in the popular culture. Quinn should have made this a novel and eliminated Judge Crater and his poor wife. Even so it is cumbersome to ...
My students read Ragtime and believed all that was written about real people. The problem with faction is that it becomes the truth in the popular culture. Quinn should have made this a novel and eliminated Judge Crater and his poor wife. Even so it is cumbersome to read and I would not recommend it.

posted by 4565474 on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    Faction Becomes the Truth

    My students read Ragtime and believed all that was written about real people. The problem with faction is that it becomes the truth in the popular culture. Quinn should have made this a novel and eliminated Judge Crater and his poor wife. Even so it is cumbersome to read and I would not recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Simply unputdownable

    When a book has praise on its jacket with sources as varied as James Patterson and William Kennedy it's hard to know just where the book is going to fall. I was enraptured by this book from the second I picked it up. The writing is incredible as is the story- a fascinating history I learned about without even noticing it as I was so pulled into the plot. Despite being written so well one could call it "literary" it was exceptionally accessible. The author really writes New York well- hard to do- and has a gift for dialogue and humor. It has it all. HOUR OF THE CAT is shipping to me as I write this. Can't wait for another outing with Fintan Dunne.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Masterful Job

    I read Quinn's Hour of the Cat which was a very entertaining historical detective novel set in NYC in the 30s and was really looking forward to his take on the old Judge Crater disappearance. I was not disappointed. Quinn really evokes New York like no other writer. I won't spoil the ending but he does pull it all together in the end. It's a page turner!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    The best New York mystery ever

    Really... ever- does for New York what Chandler did for LA.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still Unanswered

    The mysterious disappearance of Judge Joseph Crater fascinates to this date. You won't find any answers in Peter Quinn's novel, but you will find a rather sloppy story encumbered by numerous mistakes. Even the cover jacket gets the date of the disappearance wrong. Quinn invents a story that is not without interest, but his tangents and lack of writing skills make it a bit of a slog. I liked it better than some of the other reviewers, as old New York interests me and Quinn gets a lot of that right. So take your chances, it may interest you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    Interesting mixture of fact/fiction however the many spelling errors, typos and omitted words were a major distraction for me

    I wouldn't recommend this book. One dimensional characters, some scenes, it seems, were unnecessarily drawn out, which made the story drag. For me the distraction of the misspelled words and the omission of other words spoiled the story..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    But is it true?

    Peter Quinn is a terrific novelist. But is this the true story? To find out, read my book Vanishing Point: The Disappearance of Judge Crater and the Man He Left Behind

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lacks a compelling story flow...

    A chore in its first hundred pages, disappointing in its conclusion, with far too many asides and didactic statements throughout, the story flickers occasionally with sporadic turns of phrase as well as some interesting clue placement. This reasonably noir-y mystery is worth one read-through, but not a return visit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Thriller Based Around the Case of Judge Crater

    I absolutely loved this book, and read about the author's life-long interest in the disappearance of Judge Crater in The New York Times.
    Great atmosphere - New York in 1930 and 1955 - and wonderful writing. The last 100 pages are totally riveting - could not put this book down! Highly recommended!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Pretty damn good

    I've read Quinn before (HOUR OF THE CAT & BANISHED CHILDREN OF EVE), but this is his best book yet. Fintan Dunne is back and better than ever. The book actually uses real sources of information to solve the disappearance of Judge Crater. Amazing and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1