BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Man Within (Breeds Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding series

This is an outstanding series. Tabor and Roni's story is off the hook!!! Roni and Taber is the newest Breed couple hit with the mating frenzy. It makes Tabor all he man and Roni strong and fiesty. One of the most memorable lines for me was when Roni demanded Taber to te...
This is an outstanding series. Tabor and Roni's story is off the hook!!! Roni and Taber is the newest Breed couple hit with the mating frenzy. It makes Tabor all he man and Roni strong and fiesty. One of the most memorable lines for me was when Roni demanded Taber to tell her what gave him the right to allow her to do something. Taber response is truly the tone for the whole book...."When I took you to the floor and mounted you, I took the right to protect you as well, Mate."
Although you can read this book out of the series order, I highly recommend reading Callan's story first in Tempting the Beast and segue into this one.
The erotic scenes involves [...] - so if this makes you blush...
And the romance scenes are so compassionate. I especially appreciate how Leigh brings up other characters from other books in this series which gives you the sense of really being a part of their family and their world... also you are hooked in reading their story as well. Excellent story. I don't mind to blush...

posted by 148253 on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good erotic book

While I was disappointed with the first of this series, I was impressed with Feline Breeds 2. The characterization was tighter and the dialog more believable. These things helped make the erotic parts a lot more enjoyable. I read it in one sitting in fact, and would def...
While I was disappointed with the first of this series, I was impressed with Feline Breeds 2. The characterization was tighter and the dialog more believable. These things helped make the erotic parts a lot more enjoyable. I read it in one sitting in fact, and would definitely recommend this offer from Lora Leigh to fans of saucy paranormal erotica.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding series

    This is an outstanding series. Tabor and Roni's story is off the hook!!! Roni and Taber is the newest Breed couple hit with the mating frenzy. It makes Tabor all he man and Roni strong and fiesty. One of the most memorable lines for me was when Roni demanded Taber to tell her what gave him the right to allow her to do something. Taber response is truly the tone for the whole book...."When I took you to the floor and mounted you, I took the right to protect you as well, Mate." <BR/>Although you can read this book out of the series order, I highly recommend reading Callan's story first in Tempting the Beast and segue into this one. <BR/>The erotic scenes involves [...] - so if this makes you blush...<BR/>And the romance scenes are so compassionate. I especially appreciate how Leigh brings up other characters from other books in this series which gives you the sense of really being a part of their family and their world... also you are hooked in reading their story as well. Excellent story. I don't mind to blush...

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Taber and Roni are Hot, Hot, HOT!!!

    LOVED this book! Although it's only the 2nd installment of the "Breeds" series by Lora Leigh, this book combines, action, suspense, steamy romance, and mystery in its pages, as well as a more well-rounded back-story. Roni comes from a rough childhood, and Taber has always been there to protect her. Even when she was a pre-teen, Roni just knew Taber was "the one." Apparently, Taber thought so, too, but he was afraid he'd scare Roni off, due to his "animalistic" side. Not to spoil your fun, but if you begin reading this series, you will NOT want to put the book down! Start with "Tempting the Beast," which is Callan and Merinus (very cool names, btw). The first book isn't as good as this one, but it introduces you to the Breed series. You'll enjoy the read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OMG!!! Better that the first one.

    The series just gets better and better. In this book you learn more about a the mating frenzy and about the world in which the breeds live and how dangerous it is after making their existence public. In the mist of all these new challenges and dangers, the plot gets more intense and new bits and pieces on information get thrown in the mix by the author to make this a very unforgettable story. Be prepared to get sucked into the breeds world all over gain.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2005

    A good erotic book

    While I was disappointed with the first of this series, I was impressed with Feline Breeds 2. The characterization was tighter and the dialog more believable. These things helped make the erotic parts a lot more enjoyable. I read it in one sitting in fact, and would definitely recommend this offer from Lora Leigh to fans of saucy paranormal erotica.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    206 pages for 8.00

    Too expensive for such a small book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Do Not Recommend

    If you are in this genre, I would recommend Christine Feehan. This book is just sex and little story. Not my cup of tea.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Taber & Roni...

    This is the second book in the Feline Breed by Lora Leigh and it's roarin' hot!

    Roni is in love with Taber, who is one of the genetically altered Feline Breeds. The world has just found out about the "cats" (and other breeds)and Roni realizes the "mark" she carries on her neck, left by Taber 15 months ago, links her to him, she is his Mate. Trouble is, Roni believes Taber left her because she wasn't "woman enough" for him. How can he want her now, when he didn't want her then?

    There are a lot of hurt feelings on both parts, things that each one believes to be the truth, is actually far from it. But love and fate have a way of bringing together those that are destined to be together.

    The kiss that seals Roni to Taber (through the hormones he delivers to her body), leads to Roni going into "Heat", and well.. let the fun begin!

    We see a lot of our favorite characters from the last book all throughout this installment. Which I was really happy about. I get "attached" to characters and hate to "close the book" on them with them never to be heard from again. Lora Leigh makes sure the ones you love are still around, even in "supporting roles".

    This is another HOT installment and as I warned in my previous review: The Man Within contains extremely sexual situations and extremely explicit language which some readers may find offensive.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Great Series!!!!

    I am in love with this series of books. The storyline is very original. Strong men and women. The kind of books you can¿t put down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    WOW!!!

    I have read other books/e-books by Lora Leigh, and this one did not dissapoint! I have read her Wolf breed series and the Feline breed are just as good. I can't wait for the next book of this series to come out. Anyone who likes hot, hot reading with some light paranormal (no, he doesn't actually turn into a cat!) will like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    Ever since she was a little girl, Roni has always been prot






    Ever since she was a little girl, Roni has always been protected by her friend Taber.  He has captured her heart.  They are finally going to get together.  Then he brushes her off and never wants to see her again.  Her heart is shattered.  They spend months apart, then the news of the Breeds gets released.  She finds out that he is one.  Her father finds out as well when he sees the mark on her neck.  Her dad would do anything to sell her out, and he does.  This throws Roni back into Taber's arms, and his kiss seals the deal.  Even after months apart they are drawn to each other.  They are in a mating frenzy, chemically drawn to each other.  Nothing but pregnancy will make it stop.




    This second book of the Breeds series felt a lot like rehashing the same things that happened in the first book.  There was not much of a plot and the mating frenzy had already been the main event of book 1.  There was the story line about Roni's father but even that I found weak.  All that being said, I did find it hard to put the book down.  I really do want to continue to read the series, I just hope that the other books have a bit more of a story to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Not great

    I liked the premise and the two main characters but the story is lacking. Also could be more suspenseful. Plot turns happen in very obvious ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Since I had a hard time with the audio, decided to go back to th

    Since I had a hard time with the audio, decided to go back to those ebooks that I love. This book is set around three months after the ending of Tempting the Beast and we see the Pride struggling to keep save and at the same time leave as normal as possible. We see some moments of dangerous scenes and it’s clear that not everything is smooth. The Council is still after Merinus and the babe and now the also want Rina. Nobody has a clue to why they are so set in those woman, but the only giving point is the fact these are the females mated to those Breeds.




    We have also Tanner finding his lost mate. He had no idea that she was more than a girl he loved, but he marked and now the people know about everthing they do and it’s dangerous for Rina. Her father was a real ass and sold the news to a few newspapers and now she’s being haunted because of her connecting those two “animals”. I loved their problems, because not everything is so simple and we can clearly see that they are meant for each other, but some moments of the past changed their life. I loved this couple and now we have more felines, some dark and other more lethal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Loved it

    Im reading this series for the third time!cant wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Great book

    Strong dominant male...need I say more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    The series is wonderful!! It can be graphic in some parts but i

    The series is wonderful!! It can be graphic in some parts but is still great. The books do start getting better with more action lines and story lines as well but you still have the nookie. Lol!! I nearing the end of my third and can't wait to read the others. I Can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    What can I say about Lora Leigh, she never fails. MMmmmmm yummy.

    What can I say about Lora Leigh, she never fails. MMmmmmm yummy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    AWESOME SERIES

    Loved this one. Taber is so sweet. Mystery just keeps building up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Worst book ever

    Stay away from this book. The heroine is so dumb she endangers everyone around her. Yes trust the dad that sold yiu for profit. I didnt feel sorry for her because she was so dumb she was basically asking to be used and hurt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Very hott

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Not very good

    This book is not up to the standard of the author's other books. I also don't like the explicit book cover either. It seemed as if this book was just banged out and sold on the strength of the author's name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15