Customer Reviews for

Man and Boy: A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME book!

I recently picked this book up just because I needed something to read. I bought it because it was the cheapest there, and boy am I glad. I couldn't put it down! I just finished reading it, and just ordered man and wife. I can't wait to read it...with how good this boo...
I recently picked this book up just because I needed something to read. I bought it because it was the cheapest there, and boy am I glad. I couldn't put it down! I just finished reading it, and just ordered man and wife. I can't wait to read it...with how good this book was, I can only imagine how great the next one will be. I guarantee anyone who reads this book, will LOVE it!

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It must be me,  I just do not see this as a 4 or 5 star book.  I

It must be me,  I just do not see this as a 4 or 5 star book.  It was like a Lifetime movie and I did not enjoy it at all.  I would not recommend it.

posted by 10928525 on July 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    It must be me,  I just do not see this as a 4 or 5 star book.  I

    It must be me,  I just do not see this as a 4 or 5 star book.  It was like a Lifetime movie and I did not enjoy it at all.  I would not recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    AWESOME book!

    I recently picked this book up just because I needed something to read. I bought it because it was the cheapest there, and boy am I glad. I couldn't put it down! I just finished reading it, and just ordered man and wife. I can't wait to read it...with how good this book was, I can only imagine how great the next one will be. I guarantee anyone who reads this book, will LOVE it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Loved Man and Boy

    I read this book for a book club that I belong to with 8 other friends. A friend of mine introduced this book to me, and at first I was a bit hesitant. After reading the first two pages, I immediately became hooked! This story will make you laugh and cry. I definately recommend this book to anyone looking for a nice, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    absolutely beautiful

    i picked up this book thinking I would just give it a try and see what it was about. surprisingly enough, this book was hilarious and at the same time, very touching. i laughed out loud and was in tears at various times while reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Good Book to read

    This book makes you actually believe that men can be decent, honest fathers. It makes you look at things from a different perspective. Tony Parsons is a very talented writer and I was very impressed with this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Sorry

    Men can be decent and good fathers, i agree. But as husbands, not a chance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Man and Boy

    Wise, heart tugging story that offers a lesson on love not soon to be forgotten. Excellant and I urge you to share this families love story. You won't be let down. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    For Father's Day

    A book I would recommend for single fathers everywhere is 'Man and Boy' by Tony Parsons. Parsons brings to life Harry Silver, a married man with a young son and a good paying job in the media. He throws it all away, after a one night affair with a co-worker. The intriguing part of 'Man and Boy,' was how Tony Parsons brought to light the issues a single father must face when raising a child alone. Single fathers could relate to this huge issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Excellent Read

    Just finished this book. I couldn't put it down. All the funny, tragicomic antics that Harry goes through learning what it means to be a single parent, and the heart wrenching scenes between Harry and his father made me reach for the Kleenex. I can't recommend this one enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Incredible!

    I accidentally bought this book thinking it was "About a Boy" (also a good read) And what a pleasant mistake! Sounds cliche but I really did laugh and cry outloud. What an incredible find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    Great Story

    This book was incredible. I found myself laughing out loud and crying to the point that I had to stop to pick up on my reading later on. His next book will come out next year and I can't wait to read it. Be on the look out for 'Man and Wife'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2002

    outstanding

    a very well written and easy to read book. James Brown said he cried five times and laughed out loud four and i have to agree with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    Great first Novel

    I picked this book up while grocery shopping, just because I wanted a summer read, I am so glad I did. This book is really good and strikes me as a reality book. So much of this book happens everyday in real life. This book is great for woman because it is from a guys point of view on things, And also the high school age readers would enjoy this book, and possibly learn from it Without being lectured. I won't tell the total story line, but the main character finds himself becoming a father and husband earlier than he could prepare himself for?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2002

    the best

    i just picked this book up and just started reading this book and i just cant put it down i wanted to stay up all night and just read it i love it and i know you will too its just the best and i cant wait to read more from him when he makes more wow it was the best i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2002

    Couldn't Put It Down

    Excellently written! I couldn't wait to finish the book. Parsons managed to write the way we think - the way thoughts run through our head. I was skeptical at first about reviews saying 'you'll laugh and you'll cry' but that's exactly what I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    A must read

    A wonderful combination of hard reality, humour and heartwarming human simplicity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2001

    Great Real Life Story.

    Great book! Just because this guy came from the daily Mirror does not mean that he can't write a sophisticated book. It was tough to read those last 50 pages without a tear in the eye. Watch out for 'One for my baby' which is even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    Modern day Dickens

    Wow! Gripping, poignant stuff! Right up there with the likes of Nick Hornby and Irvine Welsh, Tony Parsons has joined that group of British authors who are able to portray everyday life with the pathos, sentiment and universal appeal that will have everyone waiting desperately for his next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2001

    A MUST READ!!

    I rarely read novels for pleasure, but this novel has gotten me interested in reading again. This book is so good you won't be able to put it down. I can't wait for Parsons second novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    Read Or Miss Out on a Great Book

    It is great how this book talks about people. The characters seem really real. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2