Customer Reviews for

The Man from Beijing

Average Rating 3
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Story Well Told

I cannot believe that, at my age, it took me so long to read a book by Henning Mankell.I am glad that The Man From Beijing was the first.
I love to read books with mystery and suspense. More than anything, though, I like a story whose plot and characters keep me intere...
I cannot believe that, at my age, it took me so long to read a book by Henning Mankell.I am glad that The Man From Beijing was the first.
I love to read books with mystery and suspense. More than anything, though, I like a story whose plot and characters keep me interested. I would not call this book a mystery. We know early on who is behind the mass murder in a small Swedish village. The story's suspense, though, did not keep me on the edge of my seat. It kept my nose in the book.
In all, I found the characters interesting and the storytelling outstanding. Like me, you will be happy you read this book.

posted by lakesinger2591 on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disjointed plot

I have been disapointed in Mr. Mankell's last two books - SHADOW OF THE LEOPARD - and THE MAN FROM BEIJING. I had a hard time pulling this split story together. Interesting enough, but it took him way too long to connect the plot.

posted by 1038630 on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    disappointing outing from Mankell

    I have loved other titles by this author but was sorely disappointed with this one. Starts off well, and the early sections are vintage Mankell. Unfortunately, the book loses its way in Beijing and Africa. Big let-down, overall - Id stick with others from Mankell, especially the Kurt Wallander series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a bit slow & disjointed @ 1st, but pulls together quite nicely

    Having read the mixed reviews on this book, I wasn't quite sure what to expect--but I definitely wanted to like this book, given how much I enjoyed the Millennium Trilogy from Steig Larsson. Mankell takes a while to pull all of the different pieces of his plot together, and it isn't until 1/2 to 2/3 of the way through the book that everything starts falling into place. During that time, it's hard to know what is the main plot of the book and what's secondary. (This is not a book for the impatient!) The prose is a bit stiff--maybe due to translation issues--so it was hard for me to lose myself in this, book the way I can with others.

    But I'm glad that I stuck with it, as I found Mankell's views on China's politics today quite interesting. Not sure that I agree with it, but definitely a new way of looking at things that I had not considered before. I like that he tried to present both sides, although it seems he favors one. The fact that the protagonist has a "red" background is also interesting way to introduce history and views into the novel.

    In the end, I recommend this book for those who like a good thriller with nice plot twists and/or have an interest in China. Just make sure you give yourself time with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a very long and drawn out story

    I had great expectations for this book. Unfortunately, I found the story to be long, sometimes boring, and not very believable. It was well written and provided a great history lesson, but overall it was lacking. I'm not sure if the story seemed long because of the translation into English, or if it just wasn't that interesting. The story spans three continents and several countries; it begins as a mystery but then turns into a revelation of background for characters/plot and then a lesson in history of China and Africa. A brutal murder takes place in Sweden, and the police are baffled as to who committed the heinous crime. A distant relative of two of the murder victims somehow figures out (much too easily, at that) that the murderer is from China. This is where the story gets to be unbelievable. The way the main character (in Sweden, because there are several main characters) solves the mystery just does not make sense. And it just gets more incredible thereafter. The ending was summed up quite nicely, but - again - it was not a believable tale. Because it was well-written and interesting enough, I give this book 3 stars. I would recommend this for a rainy day or if you are out of reading material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Kind of Basic to Me

    I picked this up from an advertisement on your Web. I had not read him before. I thought it was somewhat slow to start but after I got into it I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    The Man From Beijing

    Starts strong, ends weak. This book seems to have two separate plot lines that don't quite mesh. The historical, sociological and cultural information is successfully presented and is often quite powerful and thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    The characters are great!

    I have not finished reading this book yet, but I am enjoyinmg it so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just So-So

    I have not read anything by this author before so I didn't know what to expect. I am having a lot of trouble just getting through it, which is not like me at all. The plot seems far-fetched, the characters are not believable and this books seems mired in politics that I find hard to understand or care about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Satisfying thriller

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3