Customer Reviews for

The Man From St. Petersburg

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding as usual!

I've read 'Pillars' and the subsequent follow up and enjoyed them both greatly. 'The Man from St. Petersburg' is an excellent book! The characters, background, politics, and plot are outstanding. It engaged me all the way through and I was sad that it came to an end!...
I've read 'Pillars' and the subsequent follow up and enjoyed them both greatly. 'The Man from St. Petersburg' is an excellent book! The characters, background, politics, and plot are outstanding. It engaged me all the way through and I was sad that it came to an end! Follett is a master storyteller and is exceptional when it comes to intimate scenes. Highly recommended by this book addict!

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not one of Follets best

I love Ken Follet and I did not love this book. I thought it was just average

posted by LisaDeeCO on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Not one of Follets best

    I love Ken Follet and I did not love this book. I thought it was just average

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    a ken follet is always worth to be read

    but this one is - for me - not the best one.....but it is still worth to be read...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Outstanding as usual!

    I've read 'Pillars' and the subsequent follow up and enjoyed them both greatly. 'The Man from St. Petersburg' is an excellent book! The characters, background, politics, and plot are outstanding. It engaged me all the way through and I was sad that it came to an end! Follett is a master storyteller and is exceptional when it comes to intimate scenes. Highly recommended by this book addict!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    A good book

    I read this book for my Honors Geography 9 class. This book takes place in the early 1900's and follows critical men through their struggle to nagotiate a way for alliances in war. Meanwhile a Russian anarchist is trying to assanate one of them. In this book, I learned about about the way the social classes were in England. How some are filthy rich and others are dirt poor. I liked the way the author (Ken Follett) depicted Feliks, and the way he did things as an anarchist. I feel this book was written within my reading level, although my reading level is well above my age. I would recommend this book to almost anybody, it has a little of everything.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    GREAT READ!

    As expected from Ken Follett, this is another in a long line of very good books. Interesting, keep me guessing until the end... Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ken Follett Another amazing story

    Ken Follett never ceases to amaze me with his stories and his characters. I love reading his books. I can't put them down. In fact I put another book down to read this one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    More of a love story.

    Too much time spent on a spoiled teenage girl and her mothers youthful romance. does not offer much more than that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Lovely story

    I enjoyed every moment of it the first time I read it and enjoyed it still all the five times I reread it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Great

    Insightful

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    The book was interesting from beginning to end. Enjoyed the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Well written

    A really good book. The plot is elegantly laid out,but what I really liked was the background - giving a window into early 19th century England and the mind of the idealist Russian anarchists.The attention to detail is amazing,even with passages from 'The Times'. The strong female character here is done just right,not too much like in Follet's later books. (P.S. there's even a reference to Joseph Stalin-try to find it.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Anarchist in London

    This book is about a Russian anarchist who goes to London to assasisnate a Russian prince. The anarchist, Feliks, does this to keep the Russian prince from signing a treaty with England that would enter Russia into World War I. Feliks is brilliant, and Follet does a good job of stating Feliks' point of view as well as stating the point of view of the Russian Prince. This historical action novel is fast paced and a joy to read. Ken Follet is an excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4