Customer Reviews for

The Man in the Brown Suit

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Awesome!!!

    The Man in the Brown Suit is my favorite book written by Agatha Christie--even though I love the other books she has written--this one is completely awesome!The character of Anne is so real that you feel like she is right next to you telling you the story personally. You are able to turn page after page because you don't know what is going to happen next. I also love the romance that is woven into the story--not a huge fan of romance novels but this is done so well by Agatha Christie that I started to like it! For mystery fans, you will love this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Anne and Harry are Charming in this Bit of Escapist Mystery

    The Man in the Brown Suit is a charming little mystery written by Agatha Christie in the 1920s. It does not extol the exploits of Christie's usual protagonists. Neither Poirot nor Miss Marple are anywhere to be found, but Anne Beddingfield is independent, creative, plucky and smart. Though it was written in the 1920s she seems incredibly modern. I'm sorry that Christie did not write a sequel to this story.

    Anne has recently been orphaned by her father, an eminent scholar who studied Early Man. Up Until his death she has lived a rather sheltered and uninteresting life and she longs for adventure. She inadvertently falls into a mystery having to do with diamonds, murder and characters that are engaging, curious and cryptic in so many ways. I love Anne because though she's perhaps a bit naive, she is also shrewd and fearless.

    Anne is drawn to Harry Rayburn, an intense and moody, but oh-so-mesmerizing character, who is very likely a criminal. So many of the characters in this novel are charming, frightening, human, intelligent and sometimes self-interested all at the same time. Even the hero and heroine are sometimes unlikable, though that is usually overcome quite quickly by their earthiness or their humor. Even the villain in the story has his merits and the reader is almost disappointed that the criminal is the criminal. Although it is a murder mystery, I giggled throughout much of it. If you haven't read it, you must, especially if you like Jane Austen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    Brilliantly written!

    The Man in the Brown Suit is a magnificent read. I read the book in two days, and only put it down when I absolutely had to. Most of the book is narrated by Anne Beddingfield, which makes it an especially enjoyable read for women. I recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Good book

    Good read much more detail then the movie but i still love both. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book. I've read it many times. So many that I now kn

    I love this book. I've read it many times. So many that I now know "who-done-it." But I still love it. The characters are fantastic, and the story lines are all woven together so wonderfully. Dame Christie was a mistress of her art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    A favorite

    I am a huge AC fan and while i still love poirot best, this heroine is a close runner up. Like others have said, it's quite modern and a different tone sets it apart from others. I love the romance and adventure and humor in this one. Highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Although this is a really good book, I wouldn't award it five st

    Although this is a really good book, I wouldn't award it five starts; I usually save those for books that really blow me away. This is a very good book though. It's a mix of murder mystery/detective/love story. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Man in the Brown Suit

    This book was the 5th in my journey of Agatha Christie's books and by far the most enjoyable so far. I had read this book years ago, which was enough time for me to forget how like able the main character is.

    Anne Beddingfeld is the type of character you long for in a good mystery. She is fearless in action, quick on the uptake, and a hopeless romantic. She is the daughter of a famous anthropologist who specialized in studying the primitive man and when he passes away she is at an impasse in her life. All she knows is that she wants to have adventures and she feels the place to start is is London. When the opportunity presents itself to move there, she jumps on it without a moments hesitation. That willingness to "just go" is what drives this entire book.

    From the streets of London where she witnesses an untimely death to South Africa where everything comes to a head, Anne's drive to be the thick of things is what makes her so lovable. This is a grand adventure filled with suspense, laughter, love, and even a likable villain. I'm not sure if we will see Anne Beddingfeld again but I sure hope so.

    Synopsis From Back Cover:

    How odd, Ann Beddingfeld thought, that the stranger caught her eye, recoiled in horror, and fell to his death on the rails of Hyde Park Underground Station. Odder still was a doctor in a brown suit who pronounced him dead and vanished into the crowd. But what really aroused Anne's suspicion was when she learned of the doctor's link to the murder of a famous ballerina, a fortune in hidden diamonds, and a crime-lord embroiled in blackmail. And most frightening of all was the attempt made on Anne's own life. But she is unable to resist the lure of an isolated mansion that could hold the solution to a bizarre mystery-eve if she becomes it's next victim.

    Reading this book I came to realize I'm probably not going to get through all of Agatha Christie's books in a year, like I originally planned. I think that will be OK though. I'm having a great time with it and if it lasts longer that I thought it would that just means I get to have fun for that much longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    One of Agatha's Best

    Absolutely wonderful! The characters in this book were particularly vivid, which I certainly like. It's not a Poirot or Miss Marple, so the main characters aren't pros at finding out who killed someone. There's also the mysterious man in the brown suit who the girl writing part of the story saw in a subway terminal who obviously had a fake mustache, and she must (of course) find out who he is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2001

    Brilliant!

    This is absolutely the best book by Agatha Christie I've ever read! Just the way she describes the scenery is magnificant! And the personality of the main character is just perfect!!! You must read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2